We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owsome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Ranked #98 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Owsome”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed 5 days in this hotel. It's a great value for the money. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Jakarta.
I have been upgraded to a higher room upon arrival. On my 4th day I have been asked to move to higher floor because the current room maintenance was due.
All taxi drivers knew the hotel. They are available all the time .
It's strategically situated in Jakarta.
The biggest plus is the stuff. They are very accommodating and helpful.
If there is anything unpleasant is the surrounding, not the best. You can not walk in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossegnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mr. Rossegnole
We are pleased to note that you had a wonderful time at the Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar recently.
Based on many comments received to date, the hotel had amplified its effort in providing high standard of service especially the front-liners' competency level.
We are pleased that all of them are bearing good results based on your sincere comments given herein.
We look forward to having you with us once again soon.
Most Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    214
    76
    25
    13
See reviews for
75
72
29
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala lampur
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here for my two nights stay in Jakarta during Chinese new year on my first ever visit of Indonesia. I have booked online through Agoda.com.

I traveled from Kuala Lumpur and reached Jakarta by Garuda airline in morning. While coming towards hotel I realized that English speaking ability of locals was not better than mine in Mandarin Chinese. I reached hotel around mid-day after struggling really hard on a very chaotic traffic and flooded streets of Jakarta. I was told that flooding is routine life style of that great city and I was amazed about the people’s stubborn patience and endurance. Staff at hotel reception could speak immaculate English that took me by surprise. I was told that since I came earlier than my check-in time (2 pm) and room was not yet prepared I got to wait. This was an amazing and very disturbing situation for me as I had never experienced before this kind of attitude before. I wanted to be checked-in in my room drop my luggage and after freshening up I may start my day in Jakarta. Usually, there is always a welcoming drink to the guest and as expected they had offered me too. However, the choice of the drink was limited to some fruit drink of not of my liking and I requested for a coffee which was promptly declined. That was the rude start from this hotel.

Hotel interior and main entrance are excellent but the problem was that nothing could be done to change the outside atmosphere My room was nice and had everything which one needs in a hotel. I have no complaint whatsoever about quality of room amenities, bathrooms and comfort of bed. Hotel location is indeed a factor of contention as it was close to a dirty and nearly flooded canal with too much noisy and smoke puffing vehicular traffic. Outside impression of the hotel was disgusting.

Those who don’t care about the hotel location may stay here.

Room Tip: Take room facing city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tariq_Hasany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mr. Tariq Hasani,
We regret to note your concern over incidents that happened during your recent stay with us. Do be informed nonetheless that it has always been our intention to ensure that our hotel provides the highest level of service standard to all our guests.
Therefore, we have taken the initiative to highlight your comments about the welcome drinks to the Team Members concerned to enable remedial actions be taken immediately.
In addition, we sincerely appreciate your rating of 4/5 for our Cleanliness and Sleep quality given in your overall evaluation which clearly indicates that the staff training being implemented to date is on the right track and has significantly increased their competency at work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I choose this hotel to stay last year, and now with the interesting offer from their website i decided to come back, and it turns out to be a wise choice. The food was great, the staff were special!! Will recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leonard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mr. Leonard,
Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your kind review. We are truly happy that our hard work has resulted in you having a good time here at the Swiss-belhotel Mangga Besar. Come back for more soon...we look forward of having you here once again!
Most cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights here and i would say it was good experience. The check in was quick and easy. We went up to our room and it was big, cozy and very cold. My kids love the room especially in the hot weather you can go back to yout room to chill. The kids love the hotel too. The staffs all very helpfull and friendly. I remember one night i got back to the hotel carrying my kid sleep with so many bags and the door staff went down the stairs to help me get out from the car. It was very nice of him. The in room service was also good when i ordered some foods for the kids. The bed is big and nice for 4 of us to sleep. The sofa was my favorite for watching tv. My kids also love the swimming pool. The only problem i had was the wifi didnt work. I didnt have chance to try the breakfast but will try it next visit
I would recommend this hotel and i would come back again for next time

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fennylimbono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvain C, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Fenny Limbono
We are pleased that you and family have enjoyed your stay here with us recently.
We are aware that our Wifi system needs some improvement, do rest assured that our IT engineer is working in out to ensure that our guests get the most out of their time spent here.
Do come back to visit us soon as it has been a pleasure to have you around at the Swiss-belhotel Mangga Besar..
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Jakarta is huge and the traffic is even "bigger". What you want to do and where you want to go is important as to where you're going to put up in Jakarta. Having said that the hotel did not disappoint as it met most of our expectations. Friendly staff, clean and large rooms and good value. The spa and gym facilities are ok. Yes the taxi service was a little disappointing and also the lifts are slow during peak hours. For the rates, one can't complain much.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors or even the executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdul Razak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsbmb, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Mr. Abdul Razak,
We are honoured to read your review and hereby express our highest gratitude to you. Please be informed that we have taken note on all the positive comments given as well as the 'less-than-good' ones regarding the lift and the taxi service to enable immediate remedial action plans be made to overcome them.
We hope to see you here sometime soon. Meanwhile, thank you once again and have a great day ahead!
Most Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The rooms are good and clean. The breakfast is the best in this hotel. The view from the restaurant is excellent. The swimming pool needs maintenance, the pool towels are not good. The pool change room and toilets are badly maintained. The SPA closes too early for a business hotel.
Over all a good choice in the heart of a congested and traffic jammed city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_is_lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsbmb, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thank you very much for staying at the Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar recently.
We acknowledged your concerns regarding the spa & swimming pool facilities shortcomings and have advised them accordingly with a stern reminder to maintain the highest level of service standard at all times.
Thank you once more for taking your time to share with us your experience; and, rest assured we will act accordingly to ensure the highest standard of hospitality for all our distinguished guests.
Have a wonderful day ahead and take care!
Warmest Regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, good environment, good location, nice staff, good breakfast, hotel restaurant provide excellent food, clean indoor swimming pool, minus only no regular taxi you have to take premium taxi which available in hotel

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsbmb, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Yudi,
Our appreciation for your kind and constructive comments given with regards to our taxi service during your stay here at the Swiss-belhotel Mangga Besar earlier. We are looking into each and every concerns you mentioned and will go the extra mile to ensure that they will be remedied amicably and at the soonest possible. Have a pleasant day ahead and thank you.
Most Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Pademangan
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence
Swiss-Belinn Kemayoran
#135 of 465 in Jakarta
86 reviews
Sawah Besar
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
#80 of 465 in Jakarta
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar

Property: Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Address: Jln. Kartini Raya no. 57, Jakarta 10750, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#71 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar is a 4-star international business hotel, we cater to the needs of business travelers and holidaymakers alike. 246 guestrooms that are furnished with all the modern amenities needs to make your stay with us a memorable and comfortable one. Strategically located on the doorstep of the prominent Mangga Besar and Mangga Dua area, we are close to both business districts and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing