We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best guest house in South East Asia!!!”
Review of Sindoro

Sindoro
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sindoro
Ranked #19 of 161 Speciality Lodging in Jakarta
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about this guest house.
I arrived very late at night as my flight from Singapore was delayed and Elizabeth (the owner) had waited for me and greeted me with the warmest welcome, a glass of lemon tea and a cake. She gave me maps and info on the local area and places of interest before I went to bed.
The room was spotless, clean and cool (air con) with a fridge, tv & wifi. The bathroom was also spotless with a powerful and hot shower. In the morning, there was a lovely breakfast waiting and I was allowed to keep my room til I left at
6pm.
This is an absolute must stay if you are visiting Jakarta...having stayed in a lot of hostels/guest houses all over Asia I can say with confidence that this was one of the best!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elphie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed at wisma tujuh for one night with my boyfriend and another couple.

Elizabeth, the host, was incredibly friendly and helpful, she offered a welcome drink and kindly explained what you can do and see in Jakarta. I never experiences such a warm welcome in a guest house! She explained us that the guesthouse used to be a place for indonesian students and then she changed it to host tourists!

The rooms are big, clean and well furnished.The rooms have a private bathroom with cold water, but if you want warm water there is a common bathroom (clean)

The place is very quiet (in that area of jakarta it seems like a miracle!) The only small bad point is that the rooms are facing a courtyard where there were other guests screaming without a break until 3 a.m. and, with the jet lag, it was hard to fall asleep. This, however, depends on the politeness of the people, not on the guest house (even though quiet hours could be set)

I would reccomend to stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silviola86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Wisma Tuju is a simple guesthouse with clean rooms, a sweet garden and lovely friendly staff. The manager Elisa was particularly welcoming and helpful with information about what to do, how to get around and where to eat. It felt like a homestay without being a homestay. The breakfast was basic but good and the location was convenient, close to one of the main bus corridors. It was good value for money and we would recommend to travellers who would like a cosy personal place to stay in Jakarta.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The highlight of Wisma Tujuh is the wonderful, welcoming staff. From arrival until departure, we were treated like royalty and even were given a leaving present! The hostel is a clean, calm remedy to the surrounding chaos of Jakarta, although it is quite a distance from the centre of town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The arrival at the hostel was fine. Unfortunately the lady uses a far too high exchange rate, which is not negotiable. It is an oasis of calm (if the school next door is closed). The lady takes the time to bus services and tourist attractions on a map to show. Welcome drink and every time we came back from an excursion also a drink for free. Class service. Plenty of eate

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica1969Hilversum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is the most welcoming place I have stayed in my six months of travel. The rooms are fairly basic but very comfortable and clean. The common areas are great and the owners go above and beyond to make their guests comfortable and pleased with their stay. Welcome snacks, helpful advice about the city, and cold drinks on wisma tijuh's patio to escape the Jakarta heat made our stay in Jakarta a success. Terima Kasih!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

From the reception to my exit, I was treated like a welcomed family member -- the room was exceptionally clean, the service was outstanding and the hospitality was remarkable. I would recommend this guesthouse to a solo traveller, a couple or a family!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinaB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Wonderloft Hostel
#3 of 161 in Jakarta
30 reviews
Teduh Hostel
#4 of 161 in Jakarta
117 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#15 of 468 in Jakarta
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sindoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sindoro

Address: Jln. Salemba Tengah No. 7, Jakarta 10440, Indonesia (Formerly Wisma Tujuh)
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Senen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 161 Speciality Lodging in Jakarta
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing