We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tipical Indonesian restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oasis Restaurant

Oasis Restaurant
Ranked #188 of 7,648 Restaurants in Jakarta
Price range: US$30 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pecetto Torinese, Italy
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tipical Indonesian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

A dinner in this restaurant is suggested if you stay in Jakarta. Atmosphere is very colonial, personnel is very professional and in the entrance you can see picture of VIP stayed here. A must is the Rijsttafel (meaning something as rice on the table) where you have 12 waitress serving you in a row and wishing you a good dinner after serving. Then why not 5 stars? Wine list is too expensive, force you to have this very good dinner with beer!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alessio315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    40
    8
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Classic surroundings, shame about the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our tour operator had organised a lunch at Oasis, with the plan being that we were be able to have something of a tasting of a number of Indonesian dishes. On the plus side, Oasis is set in a lovely old Dutch built building and the interior is classic colonial. The staff were very efficient and friendly. All was going fine till the food arrived. We had ordered selection of Indonesian dishes. And we were sadly disappointed. The slow cooked beef was incredibly tough, the satay was so dried up it might have been made the day before, and the other dishes were nothing special. Which it a real shame as this restaurant sets itself up as providing a taste of real Indonesia - which it didn't. Maybe we just got there on an off day, but in the front reception area, they proudly display a Best Restaurant award.....from about 1980. Which kind of sums it up. Needs a bit of a re-think in the kitchen as the staff, service and surroundings are up to scratch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrynOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unique experience with incredibly attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I ate here with my wife on our honeymoon and came for the famous Rijstaffel - we were impressed by the surroundings and the whole spectacle of being served by over a dozen ladies in traditional dress! The food was delicious and a great introduction to Indonesian cuisine, and they offered extra helpings which we couldn't manage but was still appreciated. The standout feature though was the service - staff were incredibly attentive and knew our names on arrival. The online booking system was a bonus, saving expensive overseas phone calls. Overall much recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank farradam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not the real thing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I am sorry but this is not the real thing - yes the girls are lovely, yes the place is great, yes the food is nice (not great) but it is not the real thing. You have a bevy of lovely ladies serve a variety of food on one plate, they sing to you and leave.

I expected the single small dishes with a wide variety of food but got a stage performance.

Go there to be pampered but do not go there for the true experience - and the prices are high compared to other places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick11002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Tourist Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our business group went to the Oasis after several colleagues recommended it. The décor of the restaurant is quite unique and beautiful, and the service was fantastic. We ordered the Rijsttafel, which is a feast of many dishes brought for communal sharing by the entire table. Its quite a show when the waitstaff shows up in traditional costumes to serve the food!

They also have live music that serenades the tables. Depending on your mood, this can be either enchanting or annoying. I found it a little of both.

The food varied from REALLY good to "good enough". However the food service ceremony, the restaurant's beauty, and the very reasonable prices (for an upscale dining/dinner show) make me recommend this as a place for tourists or celebratory groups to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oasis Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oasis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing