We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, functional executive appartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Morrissey Hotel Residences
Ranked #61 of 468 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Excellent price, location, quietness and personal space - all with a funky vibe. The 1-bedroom executive apartments are duplex and the upstairs part is a self-contained bedroom & bathroom sealed off from the main living area, which puts yet another layer between you and the traffic outside - in bed, it's genuinely quiet, which is something any long-term resident of Jakarta will find astonishing. There's lots of space to spread out, and everything is functional, though not luxurious. You get a fridge-freezer, simple hob, downstairs and upstairs bathrooms, two tellys, kitchen table, sofa - IKEA-type lamps. It's all pretty tasteful, in a bare-concrete and wooden-floor type way. It's got a European feel to it; there's no pointless hotel-art on the walls or anything that isn't actually functional.

Downsides are that the rooms smell a bit (is it aircon? drains?) and the room service a bit perfunctory (looks like they do the minimum and in a hurry) but the bits that matter are kept clean. Staff on the doors keep it safe & friendly. Taxis out the front.

There's laundry half the price of a big hotel (cheapskates can do their own on the 3rd floor), and a nice pool (not for lengths) on the roof, with a club room up there that has nothing but windows and a simple food service counter (for break-fast in Ramadan, no idea the rest of the time). As others have noted, the breakfast is pretty basic (and under-staffed).

Good mix of people, with a very tolerant air, nobody seems bothered by alcohol/gay/straight/religion etc. The downstairs restaurant Ocha & Bella is very popular and good.

A word on the location - it's super-close to the main Sudirman thoroughfare & the Monas Sq yet you can walk to things. You can walk up to the Grand Indonesia Mall through quiet backstreets, or to Monas in about 15 mins - you can even walk through a car-free kampung to get to Monas. The streets around are actually quiet, something I'd not seen in months of living in Jakarata.

I stayed a few weeks here Jul-Aug 2013 and recommend it to business travellers and families would be fine here too for a few days.

Room Tip: Duplex 1-bed executive rooms are great because they are efectively a sealed internal room inside you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MugsVern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Went to stay in the studio room during Eid holiday. I really like the minimalistic and urban design of the hotel and my studio room which is very unique compared to other hotels in Jakarta.

However the materials used for the building must have been of a lower grade because it has already showing signs of aging.

The tables look worn and flakey on certain spots, the wood floor looks dull and full of scratches. The walls in the hall are full of obvious patchwork with some moldy parts due to maybe leaky pipes.

Other than these aging signs, I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Again, love the design ! And the noise is not so bad, it is tolerable as it IS located in the center of everything Jakarta.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelleria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

This is a very nicely designed hotel. Lobby, roof pool and rooms are all really very nice. Breakfast was poor. Food selections were not cohesive, chef at egg station was always missing and food in heaters was stone cold. I was told this was because breakfast had been served at 3am for those observing Ramadan fasting. I'm ok with that but think they could have refreshed the buffet. Service is generally poor. When I arrived at CGK I had booked a transfer as my flight arrived late. Unfortunately when I arrived no driver to be found. Upon arrival at the hotel was told that it was my fault and that I should have checked with the non-existent transfer desk. Receptionist insisted that I pay for the transfer whic was not offered. I then received a phone call from reception at 1:30am to discuss the issue further. This went on for a few days until I spoke to the manager who offered to use the value of transfer for my trip back to the airport. Overall the hotel is nice but service very poor. I won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 87tris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

What shall I say, I loved it! It was exactly what I was expecting when I booked (pictures on the website are real not those pictures taken to trick you) and I was very pleased as I walked in to have booked an additional night!
I stayed there with friends this past July, we decided to visit Jakarta at the end of our trip, after Jogjakarta and Pandagaran where we had been staying in small/cheap backpackers hotel. I wanted to reward myself and picked the Morrissey (it is not that expensive though) and it was a great decision, very good value for money and would definetely stay there again if back in Jakarta.
Gorgeous lobby, which smells very nice and it is something you will appreciate after being in Jakarta's traffic basically holding your breath! The rooms are super cool, I am a fan of exposed bricks. A big plus for us was the laundry room on the 3rd floor, free of charge.
The pool area is beautiful, actually it was the pool who sold the hotel to me, stilish, lovely view and mostly empty!
The restaurant on the ground floor is also very nice, it is managed by Italians so you can be sure the Pizza is edible! What else? if anything maybe something could be done for the noise, I was on the 3rd floor and you could hear the traffic, but after a while you get used to it, plus I guess it would be impossible to get rid of that!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelAmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Began a trip through the Asia Pacific in Jakarta. It was a busier location than we expected, abnd quite uncomfortable weather.After a small issue with our taxi and the language barrier; my friend and I made it to this hotel. Prices are quite affordable, and made up for the ok room standards. Would maybe stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

What will follow is A 'NEWBIE GUIDE' TO SURVIVING JAKARTA ON YOUR FIRST TRIP, which according to my experience, will necessarily involve THE MORRISSEY BOUTIQUE.

I don't know why I would even need to state this prior to this review, but I feel obliged to in response to those people who like to visit Mid-Range hotels such as the Morrissey and then compare them unfavourably to an experience they had months earlier at say a hotel like the Grand Hyatt Jakarta. It is about as ridiculous as being unhappy with a Saab 9-5 Aero at $49,565, because it doesn't corner like a Porsche 911 GT3 at $150,000+.

OK I am digressing; suffice to say when and if I get excited about the Morrissey, that doesn't mean cancel your booking at the grand Hyatt Jakarta, it just means you might want to reconsider bookings at other hotels in MORRISSEY's price range.

OK LET”S DO THIS REVIEW!!

1) CITY BACKDROP: JAKARTA. Like its fruit namesake THE BIG DURIAN, is a shock at first sight and smell: a sweltering, steaming, heaving mass of 10 million bodies packed into an urban jungle.....and that is before any interaction of sorts.

The city, its relentless traffic, relentless pollution and let's not forget relentless heat will sap the energy out of most long haul travelers within hours of arrival, so it is very important to have a plan as soon as you arrive at the airport and stick to it, no matter what other deals are being solicited.

On leaving the terminal at the airport you REALLY NEED TO MAKE YOUR WAY TO ONE of THESE TWO TAXIS OPERATORS:
BLUEBIRD (Blue) 110,000-130,000 IDR
EXPRESS (white) 90,000 -110,000 IDR
I am MORRISSEY will offer airport transfer BUT IT WILL cost 385,000 IDR

WARNING: IF YOU MESS AROUND WITH OTHER OPERATORS OR TRY TO CUT CORNERS OUTSIDE OF THE TERMINAL THE ODDS ARE AGAINST YOU.
IF YOU WANT TO BE ADVENTUROUS, WAIT UNTIL YOU ARE AWAY FROM THE AIRPORT, YOU WILL HAVE A MUCH BETTER CHANCE A GOOD AND ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE THAT WAY.

Bluebird taxis usually have good AC, so if you arrive during the midday heat, there is a fairly decent chance that you will arrive at the MORRISSEY BOUTIQUE in comfort and with your clothes in tack and not soaked from perspiration.

SO REMEMBER, THE KEY IS TO SPEND AS LITTLE TIME OUTSIDE THE TERMINAL AS YOU CAN ON ARRIVAL...........Stage 1 complete:


STAGE 2: THE HOTEL
The first time I stayed here the hotel was part of the Citadines group. I have since stayed under the new management ‘ I am Morrissey’ and being a new hotel, there isn’t really much difference.

So why MORRISSEY?

1) Morrissey is a cool collection of Manhattan style serviced apartments set within and adjacent to a very chic lobby offering comfortable accommodation to relax with a coffee, read a book or sit up in the mezzanine area and use your computer. Essentially, as hard as ‘The Big Durian’outside works to remind you of where you are, Morrissey , this chic boutique works to make you forget where you are. It is ‘in’ Jakarta but not ‘of’ Jakarta. And that , if you are trying Jakarta for the first time is what will keep you sane and allow you to leave this City having had a good experience.

2) The apartments themselves are an interesting design with brick work and exposed concrete ceilings. The feeling is minimalistic, but the apartments general are well equipped.
The studios at around £54 are great value given the generous breakfast and access to other parts of the hotel this affords you.

My personal favourite are the LOFT STYLE executive apartments on two floors for roughly £110. These apartments are straight out of a Manhattan Property Catalogue and they are both fun and immensely affordable, with two bathrooms and gargantuan 20 ft double pane windows.

3) YOU STAY HERE BECAUSE OF THE CRAZY 6th floor ROOFTOP SWIMMING POOL. After a day of being bashed around by the city heat, fumes and traffic there is nothing better than to have the final say by enjoying a setting sun over the city skyline whilst dangling your feet in the rooftop pool. IT REALLY IS A COMFORTABLE SPACE AND KING’S VIEW OVER THE CITY. AND ALL FOR £54, AMASING !!!


OK now for a few CAUTION FACTS about staying at MORRISSEY.
Basically the hotel is sound, the entire desk speaks English so it is not too hard to sort out any problems if they arise. They have an in-house tech guy if your internet doesn’t work inside your apartment. Where you have to be careful:

1) Extras: Make sure you check the final bill on checkout very carefully. On my first visit, I later found that they had charged me extra for my room above the web quoted figure. I didn’t make this mistake the second time and made sure I paid my deposit with CASH so that there wasn’t any confusion over card refunds etc.

2) Serviced apartments don’t work exactly like a hotel. One night I called down for a blanket. If it was a hotel, they would probably have had this item or extra pillows and it would not have been too much to ask for. In a serviced apartment, where costs per unit are all factored in, they can’t go pandering to your ever wish and they probably don’t have the inventory to do that anyway. The apartments pretty much have everything from microwave down to iron and hairdryer, but unlike a high end hotel, house-keeping is limited to shampoo, soaps and towels.

3) Breakfast technically finishes at 10am, but if you get down there anytime after 9 am you are not going to get the best of the cooked food
.
4) This is a difficult one: Yes you want to stay in one of the LOFT EXECUTIVE APARTMENTS, why wouldn’t you they are super cool, but you have to take a few things into consideration with that decision:

4a.If you look at one of the professional photos of the property you will see that the hotel is made up of a front section with glass fronted apartments, a restaurant below and the swimming pool above. The tower to the rear housing most of the other studio, standard 1 bed and and 2 bed rooms. What you might also be able to see is that the loft apartments are staggered, some nearer the restaurant and some closer to the top where the pool is, look for the large windows in the picture.

4b.Here is the thing, if you stay in the apartments at the top, the proximity to the swimming pool can create on occasions (usually in the morning) smells in the upstairs bathroom. Now you might be thinking, OK no problem I’ll just take one on the stagger closer to the restaurant. Well despite the bedroom being on the second floor, I can tell you that if you try this at the weekend you better like music as the restaurant below will put it out quite willingly until ooow about 2am in the morning. My personal Solution to this is :…….

4c. FOR A MONDAY TO THURSDAY STAY. Take a loft apartment on the lower stagger, because the restaurant doesn’t play loud music during the week.

4d. FOR A WEEKEND STAY. Take an apartment on the higher stagger, to avoid the loud music. You will still feel the base a little in the sitting room, but not really much on the second floor. And as I said the smells from the pool above are only occasional annoyances and who knows may have been addressed as issues by now.

4e.To completely circumvent this problem, simply take a 1 bedroom (single floor) deluxe apartment with almost identical floor space and specifications at the rear of the hotel away from both pool and restaurant.

APART FROM THIS AND FOR SOME OF THE REASONS GIVEN ABOVE AND FOR MORE THAT YOU WILL DISCOVER FOR YOURSELF ‘I AM MORRISSEY’ IS MY No1 ‘NEWBIE STAY’ IN JAKARTA

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas_hopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

A refreshing change to the usual bulge brackets 5 star international hotels in jakarta. The ambience is cool, modern and clean without the snobby over the top modern feel which hotel chains like "the w " have. Restaurant attached Serves a good pizza and a good starting point for a night out. Rooms are studio like with nice bathroom, fridge, wifi and plasma tv.

Where it needs refinement is a black out curtain instead of a pathetic blind which lets light in and forces you to wake up at sun rise or resort to wearing eye shade. Also breakfast finishes early which. Also management is not flexible on reservations changes / cancels.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank calum a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#19 of 468 in Jakarta
566 reviews
Ascott Jakarta
#44 of 468 in Jakarta
332 reviews
Menteng
Fraser Residence Menteng Jakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#46 of 468 in Jakarta
838 reviews
The Grove Suites
#38 of 468 in Jakarta
604 reviews
Tanah Abang
Four Points by Sheraton Jakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrissey Hotel Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrissey Hotel Residences

Address: Jl. KH Wahid Hasyim no. 70, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia (Formerly Citadines Quartier Jakarta)
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#52 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: £56 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrissey Hotel Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORRISSEY is your partner in crime for your Jakarta adventure - we like to keep things simple - we offer you the freedom of self-contained, hotel residences, with the efficiency of hotel services and facilities. We like to do things differently at Morrissey - our spaces are designed with eclectic touches with a blend of traditional Indonesian, Dutch colonial and industrial accents. Stay connected with our free high speed wifi and cabled internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morrissey Hotel Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrissey Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing