We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spacious and sun-lit rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morrissey Hotel Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Morrissey Hotel Residences
Ranked #52 of 450 Hotels in Jakarta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious and sun-lit rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night in this hotel. Just like other hotels along Wahid Hasyim Street, the location is very strategic, close to almost everywhere and especially not much traffic on the street like other streets in Jakarta. What i enjoyed the most is the spacious and sun-lit room. The morning sun light brings new and fresh life to the guests. It also provides good city view of other tall building along Thamrin Sreet. Staffs are friendly, strong and easy to set up internet connection. I highly recommend this hotel and looking forward to staying in this hotel in the future with my wife.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jermi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    297
    57
    15
    15
See reviews for
82
141
65
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Came back here after a year. Some changes has been made.

Pros:
Location is very central. Near to restaurants, shops, bank, etc.
Room size (studio) is big enough.
Perfect for family
Easy access with public transport
friendly staff

Cons
Breakfast area had been changed to ocha bella restaurant.
Quality of the food at breakfast isnt too fresh. Grilled veggies for examples i think they were made early morning or left over from last night. Thus tasted to damp and yucky.
I was in studio room 530. Beware that room has aircon that didnt work very well i have to called a technician to repaired it and still didnt work well.
Ocha bella restaurant is now having live music. So if u are after a quiet evening to rest then consider another hotel to stay.

If i have a better option i would go somewhere else. The quality is decreasing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IAmGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy T, General Manager at Morrissey Hotel Residences, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs. I am Glow,

Thanking you for your recent feedback, we are pleased to hear on your compliment towards our team.
However, we regret to hear on your unconvenience experienced during breakfast. Every customer is very important to us.
In the same time thank you for your feedback on the Air Condition which have been rectified.

Mr./Mrs. I am Glow, once again thank you for your constructive feedback, through you we are able to improve our daily operations.

You are very much welcome to write to me through my email address at ivy.thema@iammorrissey.com

Sincerely,
Ivy Thema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very friendly and welcoming staff, well located hotel in Central Jakarta. I got an upgrade to a room with living room downstairs and an en-suite bedroom upstairs. Also had one of the cute little dog statuettes that are dotted all over the hotel. Pretty good place if you want to cook for yourself or do your own laundry. Nice pool on the 6th floor. Overall a pretty goof hotel for the money. No complaints though I wouldn't go as far as describing it as totally hip n trendy. Nice place and I would consider using it again depending on what part of Jakarta I was interested in seeing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecosse_Unique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy T, General Manager at Morrissey Hotel Residences, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs. Ecosse,

Thanking you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the warm greetings of our team, the atmosphere, and the facilities.

I had personally extended your compliments to our colleagues and am certain that it will encourage all of us to do even better.

Looking forward to welcome you back , our new family member 'ED' will be excited to explore and show you the surrounding. For more information, visit us at iammorrissey.com

Sincerely,
Ivy Thema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed there last week (21 - 22 March, room number 514 under name Ayu Kartika Sari) with my friends. I like the atmosphere at the time I entered the lobby. Clean, minimalist and not too much. When I checked in, the staff name fita assist me to register and so on and she asked me to put a deposit Rp 500,000. I dont want to put a deposit so I asked her to close the minibar. She said it is impossible. She refused. Okay, so I gave her my friend's credit card detail with its cvv code but she said they need the physical card. She insisted me to wait untill I get the deposit. What makes me dissapointed was when I stayed at Pullman Jakarta (which is 5 stars) they do not insist me to put a deposit. And, finally i gave her the deposit. I paid by my atm card, but SADLY and what ASHAME they cannot accept debit via BCA atm card. And soooo I have to walk by foot approximately about 50 meters out of the hotel to find ATM centre and back again to the hotel and paid by cash. I should have give them 5 stars because of the good breakfast and nice spacious room if only they had the check in procedure change. As I work in hotel industries too, I understand it was a standard procedure but I hope they could get more easy with it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AyuKartikaSari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangladesh
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

An interesting hotel with excellent rooms where you can cook your own food. I would suggest you do so as the 'restaurant' where you have breakfast and can have dinner is a joke. They would be better putting a breakfast in the fridge.
The staff were excellent in the hotel, dreadful in the restaurant. The design of the hotel is unusual and pleasing with old and new motorcycles around along with various interesting articles. Getting a cab in the morning can be a challenge. I would suggest ordering one in advance.
All in worth a visit but you have been warned about the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy T, General Manager at Morrissey Hotel Residences, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Mr. Miles,

Thanking you for your recent review. We are glad to learn that you are overall pleased with the look and feel of our property, especially the service from our team.
However it is unfortunate to hear on your disappointment towards breakfast at the Restaurant.
We have taken note and shared it with our partner.
With a great pleasure we are looking forward to welcome you back and serve you even better.

Sincerely,
Ivy Thema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

From the moment you enter until the time you check-out, you'll be mesmerized with the design and attention to details.... definitely a super hip & cool place to be when your in jakarta.... the service was awesome and the rooms are superb. will definitely come back here again!!!

Room Tip: a must place to try whenever your in Jakarta!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianHRHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax west yorkshire England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in March 2014 as part of a bigger holiday around South East Asia.

We booked their shuttle through golden bird to collect us from hotel at £15 which was a bit steep once we realised the cost of living in Jakarta but otherwise we had an enjoyable stay in the Morrissey apartments.

The rooms are clean smart and the staff friendly and helpful. It feels like a hotel really with reception and breakfast as you would expect. The lobby is modern with vintage 1900 era pieces of furniture and electricals such as gramaphones and radios on display. There are some interesting old books to browse away the hours.

The location is near other tourist hotels and felt safe though there isn't much on the tourist trail to do in Jakarta. The accommodation reception which is always open provided us with a map which has all the routes of local buses on so relatively easy to get around. The price is fixed at 18p so it's a cheap if congested way to get around.

We could recommend a stay at the Morrissey serviced apartments.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Markfennelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#16 of 450 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#38 of 450 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Aston at Kuningan Suites
#44 of 450 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Mercure Jakarta Sabang
#33 of 450 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Menteng
Fraser Residence Menteng Jakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrissey Hotel Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrissey Hotel Residences

Property: Morrissey Hotel Residences
Address: Jl. KH Wahid Hasyim no. 70 | Menteng, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia (Formerly Citadines Quartier Jakarta)
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#49 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrissey Hotel Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MORRISSEY is your partner in crime for your Jakarta adventure - we like to keep things simple - we offer you the freedom of self-contained, hotel residences, with the efficiency of hotel services and facilities. We like to do things differently at Morrissey - our spaces are designed with eclectic touches with a blend of traditional Indonesian, Dutch colonial and industrial accents. Stay connected with our free high speed wifi and cabled internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Morrissey Hotel Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrissey Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing