We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm hotel with great staf”
Review of Cemara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cemara Hotel
Ranked #181 of 462 Hotels in Jakarta
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Warm hotel with great staf”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I belive u rate a hotel base on
what you pay and what you were oferde
My stay here was 14 days
I book in for 4 nights then re booked again.
the staf are just amasing
The hotel is in a good area
and the securety boys are very polite.
the only reason i did not give this hotel 5 out of 5
was for the reason they switch one of the lifts off and u do have a wait for the lift
it seems like a silly thing to do to save or cut costs

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fattyboy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cemarahotel, General Manager at Cemara Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2015
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality, we strive to deliver at great value. We are also glad to announce that we have a new FREE SHUTTLE service from hotel to nearby shopping centre ( Grand indonesia, Plaza Indonesia, Thamrin City, Tanah Abang, Sarinah ) everyday. Looking forward for you next arrival.

Thank you


Regards


General Manager
Cemara Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    21
    26
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
8
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lliber, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very cost effective for a longer stay. Smiling staff and speedy service. Wifi (a bit slow) but no charge facilities for printing. Good breakfast. large room with confortable desk to spread your papers. well located with plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: Request backside room as frontrooms are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cemarahotel, General Manager at Cemara Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Dear Value Guest:

Thank you for choosing our Hotel as your accomodation in Jakarta, Indonesia
We appreciate you comment.
Just to update you that we just finished renovating our Rooms and upgraded our Wifi Bandwidth to ensure that every guest feels comfy staying with us. Also we have shuttle service to surrounding Shopping district such as Sarinah, Jalan Sabang, Tanah Abang, Grand Indonesia Shopping Center and Plaza Indonesia. Our Location is in the Central that you can easily go anywhere with less traffic.

Thank you and Hope to see you soon in the future.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Cemara Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel as I'm catching my flight the next morning. Superior room is good, equipped with bathtub, nice view of Jakarta, very clean but there's a funny, slightly pungent smell coming from the bathroom probably due to the tiles. Since it was the last day of my trip in Jakarta, I opted for the in-room spa (about Rp 350.000 for the spa). It's a 3 hour divine spa consisting of facial, body scrub, full body massage and milk bath all in the comfort of my room. The spa itself is very relaxing and soothe my tired muscles. I'm a happy girl!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missytrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cemarahotel, General Manager at Cemara Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Dear Value Guest:

Thank you for choosing our Hotel as your accomodation in Jakarta, Indonesia
We appreciate you comment.
Just to update you that we just finished renovating our Rooms and upgraded our Wifi Bandwidth to ensure that every guest feels comfy staying with us. Also we have shuttle service to surrounding Shopping district such as Sarinah, Jalan Sabang, Tanah Abang, Grand Indonesia Shopping Center and Plaza Indonesia. Our Location is in the Central that you can easily go anywhere with less traffic.

Thank you and Hope to see you soon in the future.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Cemara Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed here after other lodging choices were full and I needed a room without further delay. The cost was 680,000 rupiah for one night, including breakfast (the buffet-style breakfast is superb). The hotel is fine, but very overpriced. Staff is exceptionally friendly and nice. Accepts credit cards. Has a restaurant that is ludicrously overpriced: a Sprite is 25,000 rupiah (you can get five Sprites for that price at the 7-11 located a hundred feet away from the hotel). Room was rather small, but comfortable for one person. The kicker: no hot water in the morning. If you can get this on Agoda for no more than $40, it's acceptable...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Lonely Planet guided us to the Jalan Jaksa area where we started to explore the neighbourhood in search of a hotel for one night only. All hotels and guesthouses on Jaksa were terrible. Just down the road however, on Jalan Wahid Hasyim, you can find a good choice of hotels several standards higher en not necessarily more expensive. We chose Cemara (not Grand Cemara on the same road) and were pleasantly suprised. Nice design, very clean rooms and well equipped. Great bathtub! There is even a small spa. With a suprisingly low roomprice this seems to be a good deal in Jakarta. No free WIFI however. We didn't take breakfast since we had to leave very early. The neighbourhood is quite lively at night, lots of lovely nightstalls selling sate, good restaurants and shops. This will be our spot the next time in Jakarta.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bets76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cemarahotel, General Manager at Cemara Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Dear Value Guest:

Thank you for choosing our Hotel as your accomodation in Jakarta, Indonesia
We appreciate you comment.
Just to update you that we just finished renovating our Rooms and upgraded our Wifi Bandwidth and it is free, to ensure that every guest feels comfy staying with us. Also we have shuttle service to surrounding Shopping district such as Sarinah, Jalan Sabang, Tanah Abang, Grand Indonesia Shopping Center and Plaza Indonesia. Our Location is in the Central that you can easily go anywhere with less traffic.

Thank you and Hope to see you soon in the future.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Grand Cemara Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel located at town area called "Wahid Hasyim". From airport, you can take "Damri" local bus (Rp 20k/pax) to Gambir station and take taxi to the hotel. I've booked 2 family suite (5th floor) for 3 nites in this hotel. The highest floor is 6th floor. I requested a connecting room which they told me that there is none in their hotel when check-in. They requested a deposit of Rp300k for each room. One of the awesome part is they serve cold welcoming drinks at the lobby which is delicious. The room is spacious and comfortable with 2 queen-sized beds for 4 pax. The room is clean and neat. There are actually 4 power plugs in the room, 1 is 3-pin and the rest are 2 rounded-pins. The hotel staff is nice and the housekeeping guys are very polite. The only con for this hotel is they don't offer free wifi. There is a 7-11 just few blocks away from the hotel and a food stall located just opposite the hotel which open at night. The food is nice and reasonable price range around 7k-25k. From hotel, you can get a Blue Bird taxi (Rp 10k) to the nearest shopping complexes such as Plaza Indonesia, Grand Indonesia and also the lower range shopping called Thamrin City.

Room Tip: Try to get higher floor room to avoid traffic noise late night and early morning, room not facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mae T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mui Ne, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Me and my wife took the executive deluxe room and it was really good and quite large. Very well situated in the heart of Jakarta. We book through Agoda and later found out it is without breakfast.
Wifi cost 10 USD. It should be free. Service is good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chi-Thien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Grand Cemara Hotel
Grand Cemara Hotel
#198 of 462 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Cipta
Hotel Cipta
#252 of 462 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Oria Hotel
#174 of 462 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
ASHLEY Hotel Jakarta
ASHLEY Hotel Jakarta
#83 of 462 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Menteng
Akmani Hotel
Akmani Hotel
#160 of 462 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Menteng
AOne Hotel
AOne Hotel
#127 of 462 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cemara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cemara Hotel

Property: Cemara Hotel
Address: Jln. KH Wahid Hasyim No 69, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 462 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cemara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cemara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing