We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, with further improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence
Ranked #131 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
1 review
“Great, with further improvement”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from Oct 13th to 15th. The add on the website isn't correct so our driver had difficulty looking for it. Anyway we called the hotel and was told that it was formerly known as Hotel Dusit.

The room is comfortable but the service could be improved. On the first day, we didn't get any towels in the room and had to ask for it. On the following day, when we asked for additional bottles of mineral water, we didn't get it. Also, we were told that it's chargeable even though the hotel guide book in the room indicates that it's free.

There's 2-way shuttle service to nearby malls which operates every hour so it helps save some money getting taxi.

Breakfast was acceptable but there's a lot of mosquitoes in the restaurant. We informed the waiter but it seems that there's nothing that they can do about

Overall it was a pleasant stay and could be better if the service is improved.

Helpful?
Thank Adelene C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    126
    63
    21
    20
See reviews for
67
55
17
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was in the month of September for two nights
the hotel is old but well maintained
breakfast excellent
rooms very clean
good staff
My room was on the 30th floor with a balcony where I saw all jakarta
good location, just 300 meters from shoppings ITC and Pasar Pagi,
excellent for shopping

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Bay, FL
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

OK, let me start from positives: I had a double room on 31st floor- it was beautiful, modern with balcony overlooking Jakarta and two queen size beds and a sofa! Business oriented room with a desk, wired Internet and premium TV channels. Everyday the room was cleaned and towels changed. Yep, the hand towels had to be requested! Breakfast buffet was not the best I have seen but still way much better than any Best Western in the USA with plenty of food to choose from! Waitresses were pleasing and very nice. Lobby is that of 5-star hotel.

Things to improve: elevators! Sometimes I had to wait 10 minutes for an elevator but if you're on vacation, who cares about time?

The hotel is in rather "challenging" neighborhod, just like many other hotels in Jakarta, so talking a walk after 10pm might not be a good idea. Yet, I was impressed by the staff, their kidness and desire to go above and beyond to make you happy! If my business takes me again to Jakarta, Best Western will be the hotel I would like to stay again there!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_srq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

On the positive front first. Good value for money. Large rooms with a balcony and comfortable large beds. From 27th level, I could view the city and the area.
Fairly decent and tasty breakfast included in the room cost, which makes it worth the value we pay at this hotel which is also situated in this Mangaa Dua commercial district. Shopping malls are also in the closer vacinity though one has to walk through crowded, narrow and not so easy lanes.
The hotel guest rooms are situated on the higher floors- the lower floors are residences /apartments. The other residents in the tower also use same elevators and if someone going to 30th floor has pressed the command first then other guests at lower floors must travel upto 30th floor and then come back to their respective floors. During rush hours, it can really take long time to come down or go up. Perhaps due to this very reason, even any kind of room service works slow. I had requested for butler service and dine in room service, all was too slow. A proper training towards a change in attitude of employees should be imparted
to improve the overall standard of this property. They initially refused to accept Amex card under some lousy pretext - eventually the same machine accepted when I insisted. Since, the room was reserved by using booking.com, they refused to recognize the Best Western loyalty program. On Saturday morning, the weekend mood was clearly evident. No news paper was delivered at room on that morning, the Concierge desk was apologetic though. The crowd for breakfast on Saturday morning was much thinner when compared with the previous two days but the same, otherwise-efficient restaurant staff did not even bother to come for coffee/ tea service and had to be requested for the service. Aparantly, they had removed the room refrigerator while allocating the same room to a group on the night(s) prior to my check-in and assured to place back the same next day morning- but it never happened until my departure after 3 nights. It was not possible to adjust the room temparature- even at 26 degree celsius it was freezing cold.
I was upset while checking out, for a half minute local mobile phone call they charged 5000 Rupiah (roughly 5 Dollars)..…which was certainly not in a good taste. It was never possible to make any local phone calls directly from the room, one has to go through the operator only and all that is time consuming, complicated and expensive.

Room Tip: Do not use the hotel telephone even for making local phone calls. Keep enough time on hand to go do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Good staff best I have had after twenty of indo older but better for price than haytt location is two minutes from location itc shopping great for bags dresses jeans computers kids clothes and more lockasari twenty thousands two bucks by taxi

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevekgtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

My stay bet. 7th June to 9th June has its own fair share of ups and downs. Firstly, I love the view from 31st flr of my hotel. Awesome I can see mangga dua n view of central Jakarta and breathe in awesome fresh air around me. I love this hotel bcos of vuew n location.


But bad thing, is service from staff is slow here. Esp when I came back tk my room and found out it is locked. After my call to the hotel staff, it took us like 30 mins plus for a svc staff to finally cme up and brg us a new room card. At least he apologised but this prob needs to be fixed. 3 other rooms blong to my tour grp had de same prob.


The room was clean but I saw a many small ants near the chiller compartment in my room. Theres not even a single drink in the chiller! Dunno where it came from.

Other than that breakfast comfy bed location view cable channels universal adaptor are all good here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myzi_miz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in a superior room. The room was good, the bed was comfortable and everything worked ok. The food at breakfast was varied and tasty and the lounge provided free wi fi. But the staff were not attentive enough and you had to go and find them when you needed something. I had to complain to the manager about one member of staff in the business centre who tried to charge me £35 for a 7 min call back to the UK! I refused to pay it as I had already checked the call rate with reception that morning. The manager agreed to refund my money and the staff member was dealt with with. Other than that I would recommend this hotel But it is difficult to find and there is lots of trash outside on the street nearby.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
#94 of 464 in Jakarta
278 reviews
Sawah Besar
Hotel Zuri Express Mangga Dua
Hotel Zuri Express Mangga Dua
#109 of 464 in Jakarta
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pademangan
Hotel Neo Mangga Dua Square
Hotel Neo Mangga Dua Square
#165 of 464 in Jakarta
340 reviews
Sawah Besar
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Sawah Besar
Ibis Jakarta Mangga Dua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence

Property: Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence
Address: Jl. Mangga Dua Abad no. 111, Jakarta 10730, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 Metres from shopping centre ITC Mangga Dua, Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence features modern air-conditioned rooms. It also has an outdoor pool, a 24-hour front desk and a free shuttle service to popular shopping areas. Rooms at the Mangga Dua Best Western offer cable TV, a fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. A personal safe is included. The en suite bathroom comes with a hairdryer. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi at the lobby. The Best Western Hotel and Residence provides a concierge, baby-sitting services and car rentals. International dishes are served at Batavia Coffee Shop, while snacks and beverages can be enjoyed at the Bar-Lounge. Room service is available 24 hours. Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence is less than 5 minutes' drive from amusement parks Sea World and Dunia Fantasy. Soekarno Hatta International Airport is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing