We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence
Ranked #148 of 471 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My family of 2 adults & 2 children stayed at Best Western MD during the 2013 Dec school holidays. While we are not that keen on the area surrounding the hotel, we found the hotel rooms & service to be good. It provided free hourly shuttle service to and fro the hotel to the surrounding shopping malls like Mangga Dua Centre, Mangga Dua Mall, ITC. The service was prompt and the staff driving were very friendly and helpful. The shuttle service even bring us back from the shopping centres to the hotel.

The Mangga Dua area is good because it has a lot of shopping malls that sells reasonable price items, provided you are ok to buy more dated designs. Otherwise, the malls are acceptable to me. What is not acceptable is the traffic. It is terrible!

Room Tip: High floor rooms are good because if you are lucky to get to see the sea. Spectacular especially whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Just stayed for a night prior to my meeting and my stay experience was a great experience where I was so wow to receive the services by the staffs at this hotel. By the time I dropped off from my taxi, a young concierge approached me directly and opened the door for me with his great smile saying: welcome to Best Western Mangga Dua. He offered me directly for my luggage while I dealt my taxi fare with the taxi driver. He directly brought me to the Reception, who was ready to welcome with her friendly smile. The key card was ready and I was just asked to sign the registration card after giving my business card. Very efficient service in overall!
If visiting Jakarta again, I have no hesitation to opt this hotel for my next hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-BWManggaDua, General Manager at Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear pak Artana K,

Please accept our apology for just responding your great feedback upon your stay on 26 December 2013 as it was my first month joining the hotel, i will share to my entire staff today of your good feedback toward our services especially the one upon you arrival in the lobby by taxi

It is my direct email should you would visit Jakarta again in the short future gm@bwmanggaduahotel.com

again, we do appreciate of your positive input

Best regards


Helmi Junaidi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We chose this hotel as we know is part of Best Western, in fact it's 4 star. We arrived in the hotel, and found the balcony unlocked with a note "for safety reason balcony is locked" and we call the front office and request to lock the balcony door - very slow service! - they came after we have been waited for 4 hours.
Later on we found a yellow stain on the quilt cover, call the front office again, and very easy answer that they can change the linen WITHOUT APOLOGIZE !
we asked to be transferred to another room, AGAIN the bed linen was DIRTY. it was a blood stain. few dirty spot. ARE YOU KIDDING!!! then the supervisor housekeeping came up and mentioned that they have been complaint to the laundry company several times, but they sometimes it's still dirty.
They housekeeping supervisor again offer to change the linen, but again we found a yellow stain on the bed sheet. We then check everything!
When we flip the pillow it's damn DIRTY! (I attached the picture), and we check the bath towels are grey, dull and dirty.

I would rather pay extra $20 for a better hotel. and I am NOT RECOMMENDED anyone to STAY at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rudychr1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed for 3 nights & 4 days, comfortable twin share beds with my Mom when I brought my Mom for check-up in Jakarta International Siloam hospital on Oct 28 to 31. We satisfied for the service from check-in counter till sleep, but not so satisfy in the restaurant. The eggs station did very slow. We couldn't accept our omelett till our breakfast finished. The foods no variation just prepared fried rice, porridge without plain rice. Not good for the elderly people to eat. A little bit frustation because of unsatisfied the food. The spaghetty always salty. Not like 4 stars foodstall. Average for the foods. The service ok....The circumstances close to JITC Mangga Dua, WTC Mangga Dua Square & WTC. Just 1 restaurant close to this hotel about 200 m. The name is Fuqing Restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose non smoking room & superior room or suite so not in higher floor. Usually for the deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariamarsianad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muhammad T, General Manager at Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Ms. Maria,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Mangga Dua Hotel & Residence Jakarta and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor as well as for recognizing our service on your arrival.
Please accept our sincere apology about the service delayed when you were taking the breakfast in our restaurant. We hope that our foibles did not overshadow your stay!
We do hope we can welcome you back on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Was in Jakarta attending a trade show at JI Expo at Kemayoran from 25-27 Oct 13. This hotel was one of the hotels listed as located nearest to the venue. Believe me when I tell you that the service is this little gem is excellent. From the Bellman, Security, Receptionist, F&B, they were all so friendly & helpful. To be honest the location of this hotel is not that favourable if you're a tourist but the staffs of this hotel covers up for that. Once you enter, you can feel your are welcomed. Special thanks to Amir the receptionist who checked me in & also a concierge staff gentleman who actually drove me to the airport himself, I just can't remember his name but he was on duty in the afternoon when I arrived on 24 Oct 13, assisted me with my luggages & of course when I checked our early Monday morning on 28 Oct 2013, terima kasih pak !! Only 2 minor complaint is that the lifts takes some to arrive but I assume that's due to the high volume of guest but even this, they always had staffs there to assist the guest. Great stuff !! I was in room 2906, I think that's the suite & it was so spacious & comfortable but just try to improve the speed of the internet in the rooms.

Room Tip: I was in the suite room # 2906 & my colleague was in #2919. Both are very spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonFirdaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from Oct 13th to 15th. The add on the website isn't correct so our driver had difficulty looking for it. Anyway we called the hotel and was told that it was formerly known as Hotel Dusit.

The room is comfortable but the service could be improved. On the first day, we didn't get any towels in the room and had to ask for it. On the following day, when we asked for additional bottles of mineral water, we didn't get it. Also, we were told that it's chargeable even though the hotel guide book in the room indicates that it's free.

There's 2-way shuttle service to nearby malls which operates every hour so it helps save some money getting taxi.

Breakfast was acceptable but there's a lot of mosquitoes in the restaurant. We informed the waiter but it seems that there's nothing that they can do about

Overall it was a pleasant stay and could be better if the service is improved.

Thank Adelene C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was in the month of September for two nights
the hotel is old but well maintained
breakfast excellent
rooms very clean
good staff
My room was on the 30th floor with a balcony where I saw all jakarta
good location, just 300 meters from shoppings ITC and Pasar Pagi,
excellent for shopping

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
#113 of 471 in Jakarta
303 reviews
Pademangan
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pademangan
Hotel Neo Mangga Dua Square
Hotel Neo Mangga Dua Square
#166 of 471 in Jakarta
363 reviews
Sawah Besar
Hotel Zuri Express Mangga Dua
Sawah Besar
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
#105 of 471 in Jakarta
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence

Address: Jl. Mangga Dua Abad no. 111, Jakarta 10730, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 471 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: £29 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 Metres from shopping centre ITC Mangga Dua, Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence features modern air-conditioned rooms. It also has an outdoor pool, a 24-hour front desk and a free shuttle service to popular shopping areas. Rooms at the Mangga Dua Best Western offer cable TV, a fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. A personal safe is included. The en suite bathroom comes with a hairdryer. Guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi at the lobby. The Best Western Hotel and Residence provides a concierge, baby-sitting services and car rentals. International dishes are served at Batavia Coffee Shop, while snacks and beverages can be enjoyed at the Bar-Lounge. Room service is available 24 hours. Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence is less than 5 minutes' drive from amusement parks Sea World and Dunia Fantasy. Soekarno Hatta International Airport is 30 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Mangga Dua Hotel and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing