We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean room but dishonest security”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
MaxOneHotels at Sabang
Ranked #136 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, clean room but dishonest security”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel in a taxi where the driver got lost 3 times from Gambir station (only 1km away) and still tried to ripped us off. The meter reads 43,000 IDR and we refused to pay this fare due to his fault. The driver didn't speak much English and the security guard intervened when we asked him how much the normal fare should be. Then to our shocking disbelieve, the security guide whispered to the driver and turned around and told us we should pay 60,000. Outraged, we told him we are not blind and the meter only reads 43,000. Then the security said pay 50,000 then. We went into reception and were told the normal fare should be around 30,000. Felt cheated, we went out and paid the driver 40,000 and told him to leave us alone. When we complained to the hotel manager about the security, the excuse is he doesn't speak English (a big lie) and he's employed by security company rather than the hotel. We were very disappointed with the security service which should make hotel guests feel safe rather than side the local taxi driver and try to rip off the guests.

But to be fair, other than the initial bad security experience, the hotel itself is nice, clean and mosquito proof. The room is small but has everything you need for a short stay (AC, TV, great shower and free bottled water everyday). And internet connection is the best we had in Indonesia.

Superb location - 10 minutes walk to Monas, Grand Indonesia and Plaza Indonesia (opposite direction). Walk to the busway on the main road and get no. 1 bus to Kota Tua for 3,500 each way. The area is safe and you can walk on the street anytime. Would stay there again if going back to Jakarta but suggest hotel sort out their security service. Don't go to Jalan Jaksa (next street parallel to Augus Salim), seedy and nothing to offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuddlecheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deddy H B, General Manager at MaxOneHotels at Sabang, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
First of all thank you for your trust to choose MaxOneHotels.com@Sabang for your accommodation and it always be our pleasure to have you staying with us.

We do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we assure serious action will be taken from your comment related with condition and the cleanliness of the room. You can rest assure that this is neither standards nor typical services provided to our customer.

Your input and comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services and customer's satisfaction has always been the priority set for us.

We look forward having the pleasure to welcome you again at MaxOneHotels.com@Sabang.

Sincerely,

Deddy H Basri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    177
    88
    23
    10
See reviews for
29
106
57
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very good location everything is near, just walking distance only. It's a nearby to a wonderful street food, beautiful design and unique. Bed is very comfortable. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Overall, fantastic hotel. I would come here again.

Room Tip: Choose a better room on the corner side where there is a bigger window and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank suriati h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deddy H B, General Manager at MaxOneHotels at Sabang, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
First of all thank you for your trust to choose MaxOneHotels.com@Sabang for your accommodation and it always be our pleasure to have you staying with us.

Your input and comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services and customer's satisfaction has always been the priority set for us.

We look forward having the pleasure to welcome you again at MaxOneHotels.com@Sabang.

Sincerely,

Deddy H Basri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Buget hotel
Nice for a few days max 2
rooms are very small
the staf are lost in space.
And the coffee shop seems to be a office for locals to talk shoute and play on there lap top.
But for the price I can put up with it.
Remeber jakarta is a very hot place dont book hotels that dont have a mini bar or fridge
Maxonehotel dose not have fridge in any of its rooms

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fattyboy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deddy H B, General Manager at MaxOneHotels at Sabang, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
First of all thank you for your trust to choose MaxOneHotels.com@Sabang for your accommodation and it always be our pleasure to have you staying with us.

Your input and comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services and customer's satisfaction has always been the priority set for us.

We look forward having the pleasure to welcome you again at MaxOneHotels.com@Sabang.

Sincerely,

Deddy H Basri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I can't get over how cute this hotel is! There are gorgeous, smily cartoons on all the walls and the room is so colourful. Beds are comfortable and the room is spacious, however the window was overlooking a dingy alleyway (which is generally the case for budget hotels). The cafe downstairs was quite expensive (by Indonesian standards) but there were quite a few places to eat within easy walking distance. Very close to Monas and the big shopping malls. Overall good value for money, nice hotel and fantastic location. Would recommend definitely recommend, especially for families and budget travelers.

Room Tip: We had a "love suite" which had one double bed and two single beds. There was a half-wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matkakucing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deddy H B, Front Office Manager at MaxOneHotels at Sabang, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
First of all thank you for your trust to choose MaxOneHotels.com@Sabang for your accommodation and it always be our pleasure to have you staying with us.

Your input and comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services and customer's satisfaction has always been the priority set for us.

We look forward having the pleasure to welcome you again at MaxOneHotels.com@Sabang.

Sincerely,

Yurianggi Ibrahim
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I booked the executive room through their website. But on arrival the room had cigarette butts lying on the floor, was impossibly noisy and was also a smoking room. I asked to change the room, they showed me two rooms of which only one gave to the internal courtyard. Even though it was a smoking room which is disgusting for a non smoker, I had to accept (it was a standard room). It was still extremely noisy all night and all day long. There are no carpets, walls are extremely thin and worst of all the building has all corridors open to the street, ie there are no doors / windows, so all the street noise goes straight to your door. There are some nice design elements, but the rooms are also full of light sources - at night I went around covering all kinds of red and green lights with towels, otherwise felt like sleeping under a Christmas tree. On checkout, I asked them to print my flight reservation - they just sent me to the guest computer which was not connected to the printer and refused to help otherwise. I won't stay there again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SashaRumyantsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deddy H B, General Manager at MaxOneHotels at Sabang, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
First of all thank you for your trust to choose MaxOneHotels.com@Sabang for your accommodation and it always be our pleasure to have you staying with us.

We do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we assure serious action will be taken from your comment related with condition and the cleanliness of the room. You can rest assure that this is neither standards nor typical services provided to our customer.

As our commitment to continuously improve the quality of hotel facilities, kindly be informed currently we are doing project to upgrade the hotel cleanliness including our bed room and we are expecting by early of 2014 all the project are done and ready to meet the guest satisfaction.

Your input and comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services and customer's satisfaction has always been the priority set for us.

We look forward having the pleasure to welcome you again at MaxOneHotels.com@Sabang.

Sincerely,

Deddy H Basri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2013.
Although a lot of people use Jakarta as entry point to Indonesia, some make the mistake to stay more than two nights... Don't make that mistake, the powerhouse has very little culture had the old Dutch Batavia city centre is real dissapointment althoughnthenold Batavia cafe is rather impressive.

For two nigths of sleep the Max One will do, but princesses and cleanies should avoid this place. There were a bunge of little insects in our room and the sheets were not very clean. Staff is moderately friendly but taxi service is pretty good. Bugettarians will enjoy this place but if you look for some luxury then avoid.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Niek1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arfan M, Front Office Manager at MaxOneHotels at Sabang, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
First of all thank you for your trust to choose MaxOneHotels.com@Sabang for your accommodation and it always be our pleasure to have you staying with us.

We do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we assure serious action will be taken from your comment related wiyh condition and the cleanliness of the room. You can rest assure thath this is neither standards nor typical services provided to our customer.

As our commitment to continuously improve the quiality of hotel facilities, kindly be informed currently we are doing project to upgrade the hotel cleanliness including our bed room and we are expecting by early of 2014 all the project are done and ready to meet the guest satisfaction.

Your input and comments are precious to us, and thank you for your kind contribution which will allow us to keep on upgrading our services and customer's satisfaction has always been the priority set for us.

We look forward having the pleasure to welcome you again at MaxOneHotels.com@Sabang.

Sincerely,

Deddy H Basri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

First time my fiance and i check in, we thought it would be same as other budget hotel, esp for the decoration. But after we got the room, the signage of room number and room information was different. They made it quite creative and unique. we was impressed by that.
They upgrade us to one level higher and was not too big room. it was clean and comfortable as well.
We chose this hotel because of the location that near by to famous Sarinah and to other city attraction in Central Jakarta.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunny0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
favehotel Wahid Hasyim
favehotel Wahid Hasyim
#114 of 464 in Jakarta
436 reviews
Ibis Jakarta Arcadia
#122 of 464 in Jakarta
585 reviews
Gambir
Citi M Hotel
Citi M Hotel
#57 of 464 in Jakarta
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Holiday Inn Express Jakarta Wahid Hasyim
Mercure Jakarta Sabang
#38 of 464 in Jakarta
507 reviews
Menteng
B Shaw Hotel & Restaurant
B Shaw Hotel & Restaurant
#211 of 464 in Jakarta
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MaxOneHotels at Sabang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MaxOneHotels at Sabang

Property: MaxOneHotels at Sabang
Address: Jln. Haji Agus Salim no. 24, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MaxOneHotels at Sabang 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maxonehotels Sabang is designed to provide a stylish yet value - oriented accommodation in all city centers, with particular attention to the needs of professionals on the move. Bedrooms are sold on basis of the early you book, the less you pay and periods of high demand cost more than less popular periods. We offers 87 rooms; consisting of our Happiness Room (Standard 15m2) 78 rooms, our Warmth Room (Deluxe 25m2) 07 rooms and our Love Room (Suite 28m2)02 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MaxOneHotels at Sabang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing