We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place...”
Review of Hang Tuah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hang Tuah Hotel
Ranked #13 of 338 Jakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed once in 2008, informed by a buddy about the hotel.

Emailed them for a 3 night stay and found the prices had doubled since 2008, not totally unexpected.
A regular room is 800,000, a deluxe or superior 900,000, so I picked the higher end.
The driver arranged piced me up at Hatta, 300,000, good driver. I mentioned I'd be training it to Surabaya so we stopped at an Indomart and bought a ticket for a 7,500 rup surcharge. This you have to exchange at the train station counter for an actual ticket.

The room at the Hang Tuah was very nice, huge in fact. The better rooms are downstairs it seems. The staff very helpful. The wifi was good.

Normally you could deal with the hotel on cost but there have been new owners for a couple years, or so I have heard.

It's a short walk to Senayan Mall, other than that not much around to walk to, that I discovered anyways.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozzy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

check in for 1 night only (thanks God). was going to bring the room's key home since i had something important to do but the receptionist told us the key could not be out from the hotel, so I gave him the key.
the next day, i found my stuffs missing, coke (compliments) and other drinks were missing, and it was like there were others used my room (euw euw). i called receptionist and security but neither could help not even show the willingness to help. i think this hotel was renting my room to another person since they've already knew i wasnt gong to stay.
stay away from this hotel.

Room Tip: Like some reviewer before me said, beware of this hotel. beware of thief and all their bullsht. stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PropertyofH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Me & my beau love this place coz its smack dab in the mid of the city yet doesnt feel like it. We like the room in the bottom floor coz its infront of the pool. The deluxe room is big, colmplete w coffe maker and fridge. Staff are always nice. Breakfast can be delivered to your room, not too wide a selection but not bad. The bathtubs were recently replaced with new ones.. so even more awesome. One of our fave boutique hotel in Jkt tho recently they raised the prizes.. Boo hoo.. But i would still recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelsInPairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Excellent little hotel in a quiet part of megalopolis. Nice garden with clean swimming pool which comes in handy after a sweaty day.Communication with staff is a bit erratic due to improvable english but all are very friendly and do their best to be helpful. I would definitely go there again and it is very good value for the money.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the first floor. More light and less noise from the street (which is not a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PittP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

My familiy and I stayed at the Hang Tuah early december 2012. My wife, baby and I in one room, our older teenaged son in the next room. The hotel was pleasant enough and the food basic but then £45 went missing from my son's room (he had left it on the nightstand and requested his room not be cleaned that day - it was cleaned anyway) We immediately informed the staff who were completely unhelpful, suggesting it was our fault and that this had not happened before so it must be down to our negligence. I called the manager and after promising to look into the situation she then kept avoiding our subsequent calls. In the end we just gave up, it was not so much the missing money, it was the principle. Needless to say, we will NEVER stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Small friendly hotel. Value for money. Nice, tasteful rooms. Friendly staff. Nice area in town, not too far away from downtown. Some interesting old colonial houses to see (most run down or glammed up in an ugly way though). Boutique concept not yet optimized to the max. Rooms look smarter than lobby and hallways.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe room, eg. 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Huibert74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I had stayed at The Hang Tuah once before and this was my second stay. The atmosphere is very homely and cosy, tastefully furnished rooms with the most comfortable beds. Although located on a very busy road, the traffic noise was well absorbed by the lush greenery surrounding it. It is within walking distance to Senayan City, located about 500 metres away. There are many eateries in the location too and taxis readily available. At less than USD60, it was a bargain and real value for money suitable for business and families. I got myself a room on the lower floor with doors that opened right to the pool. The only shortcoming was that I had intermittent internet access as they were probably having trouble with the router on that floor. Overall, my stay was pleasant and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground or first floor, facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Fairmont Jakarta
Fairmont Jakarta
#4 of 464 in Jakarta
945 reviews
HARRIS Suites FX Sudirman
#73 of 464 in Jakarta
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kebayoran Baru
Hotel Gran Mahakam Jakarta
Hotel Gran Mahakam Jakarta
#31 of 464 in Jakarta
590 reviews
Century Park Hotel
#44 of 464 in Jakarta
922 reviews
Tanah Abang
The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hang Tuah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hang Tuah Hotel

Address: Jln. Hang Tuah II 2 | Kebayoran Baru, Jakarta 12120, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Jakarta
Price Range: £54 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hang Tuah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hang Tuah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing