We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Six Degrees
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rasuna Icon Jakarta(Jakarta)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
380
168
19
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
168
19
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barbed dormmini cinemamovie roomhome cinematable tennisping pongcommon areas arecommon roomfree breakfastplace to staysmall gymtrain stationgreat facilitiesrooms are cleanthe ground floorfood stalls
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

i can only say good things about this hostel.
1. Well designed lounge
2. Well located (near a station and you can just walk around to find restaurants and an art center (taman ismail marzuki)
3. Good bed and clean room
4. Great rooftop
5. Great facilities (ex: internet connection (wifi) really fast)
6. Good prices
7. Nemo :D
8. Friendly staffs

love this place and i really recommend it :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Inanta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Manager at Six Degrees, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you!
We're very happy that you had such a good time with us, and Nemo always appreciates his ever-growing fan-base!

Hope to see you again one day. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

If you are looking for the "international hostel" experience with lots of Europeans (who must sleep in subarctic conditions with the A/C on full blast - maybe the "capsule bunks" are better), this is the place for you as its reasonably clean (you can't reasonably expect spotless if there are alot of people coming and going), fast wi-fi, maps and travel info are available and there is free water, tea and coffee, but no soap/shampoo in the shower rooms (so bring your own).

The area is also convenient to Gambir Station as its a short Becak/taxi ride away or you can walk to the commuter train station (two stops from Six Degrees) but that might be a long walk if you have all your gear. You can take that commuter train line to Kota and Bogor as well plus there are enough restos/food options in the area to last you a few nights stay. So if you are staying in Jakarta for a short time to get your bearings on Indonesia, Six Degrees is a good option.

However and after awhile, the "international hostel" experience can grow wearisome (people coming and going at all times) and I would have gotten pneumonia if I spent another night in a room with subarctic conditions that European travelers/backpackers prefer. Since a planned weekend in Bogor turned into a day trip (hotel prices there don't match quality, convenience or reviews), I got a hotel room in the Mangga Besar area (convenient to Kota) for the weekend.

So besides Six Degrees, there are other options for accommodations in Jakarta (don't let one of the presumably Irish owners or owner friends at Six Degrees scare you with tales of other Jakarta accoms! You just need to do your homework):

1) Hunny Hostel: I stayed there a few weeks ago and its convenient to the TransJakarta bus line but its also down a road that can be rather quiet and dark at night (Note: Jakarta is pretty safe though). I would say that Six Degrees has a better atmosphere if you must have the international hostel experience and its more convenient to Gambir if you need to book tickets and check schedules (you would probably need a taxi to and from the Hunny Hostel to a train station).

2) Jalan Jaksa Area. Maybe at night this area is humming but it looks like there are only a few guest houses and bars left for backpackers. I walked down the street during an afternoon downpour and it was already starting to flood. So you might not want to stay in this area during the wet season.

3) Mangga Besar Area. Although considered the "red light district," they have cleaned up the area and you would have to walk down alleyways to find seedy/dodgy "red light" activities like spas and gentlemen's clubs. However, you AREN'T going to be walking down alleyways unless you are looking for seedy/dodgy "red light" activities - meaning the area is actually ok BUT you will need to do your homework to find a clean budget hotel and it might be a BIG culture shock for those who have not been in Asia for awhile (or have never lived in Manila hahaha!) e.g. to help your libido, you can buy fresh cobra blood on the street here (fresh as in they take the live cobra out of a cage and chop its head off in front of you to drain its blood into a cup......). I stayed 2 nights on the weekend at the WOW Hotel booked on Agoda (I used $25 worth of accumulated points so my bill was $21) in a very clean comfortable room (I kept the A/C off at night and it was no more noisy than being in a hostel...) and then walked to the train station/TransJakarta to visit Kota (Note: museums there close rather early). However, hotel staff in this area may have limited English and probably won't be much help if you don't already know your way around Jakarta..

4) Kemang Area. I have never been to this area as the traffic is really bad going there and its probably not convenient for sightseeing around Jakarta.

Note: To be safe, book online at Six Degrees or ask for a confirmation email even if you tell a person there you are extending for a night. I told one of the Indonesian owners (twin sisters and its difficult to tell them apart) early that I would extend a night but she did not write it down or something. Luckily, it wasn't a problem as one of the Irish husbands managed to straighten it out and send me an email confirmation + an email confirmation of my bill paid in cash.

So the next time I am in Jakarta, I will probably stay at Six Degrees again but only for a few days. There are also private rooms available here as well but my guess is that you would have to book very early online to get one - meaning you will need to have your visit more thoroughly planned out.

Room Tip: Book online or ask for an emailed booking confirmation or receipt if you book in person. Private rooms will probably need to be booked well in advance online. Go for capsule bunks as you might be able to avoid an overdose of A/C in one....
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmergingMarketSkptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of the hostel and other places to stay in Jakarta.

We were going for the 'international hostel experience', so I'm delighted to hear that this is what you found.

We cater almost entirely to backpackers who, on the whole, are looking for a social experience rather than just a cheap hotel. There are decent budget hotels all around the city and we're happy to advise guests on these if we're full. Our area, Cikini, has several reasonably cheap three star hostels, if that's what you're looking for.

However in terms of backpackers hostels the options are limited. And this is what we advise our guests. We're not trying to scare people, we're giving facts and trying to ensure guests have as comfortable time as possible in the city. There are indeed one or two reasonable hostels outside the Jaksa area and people can find those on this site or via major booking engines. As for Jalan Jaksa itself, i'll let other people's reviews and the write-up in the new Lonely Planet speak for themselves. The street does have its charms, but expectations need to be managed.

We are more than happy to give honest advice and share our experience of the city with all of our guests.

Thanks once again for the comments. We hope to see you again at Six Degrees one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Me and my friend stayed one night at the six degrees which was enough to say that I cannot recommend this hostel. Although the staff is very friendly and the lounge is great, our room was tiny and without windows. The aircon was lacking water and the bathrooms were not the cleanest. I have seen better hostels for that price. I paid 250.000 R which is 17 €.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Owner at Six Degrees, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

A bit harsh, don't you think?
Six degrees is a backpackers hostel, not a hotel. We designed it as a place for budget travelers to meet people, make friends, swap stories and have fun. The rooms were designed to be very simple, clean, comfortable, air-conditioned, and as affordable as possible. Leaking airconditioner could have been fixed by our full-time maintenance guy, had you told us about it straight away. Yes some rooms are windowless, but we just wanted them to be a place to sleep - Windows onto the busy main road would have made some rooms noisy.
Shared bathrooms are cleaned at least 3 times a day, but obviously if you use them at peak times (usually just before checkout time) then you're left with whatever the person before you left. We'll take your comment about bathrooms on board and try harder, though.
Giving us an overall score of 'terrible' (our first in 2.5 years) is rather hurtful to the "very friendly people" who work very hard to make Six Degrees great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hostel is a must for any backpacker coming to Jakarta, or even person who intends to stay in Jakarta for a long time. The amenities are fantastic, they have super fast internet and the dorm beds in some rooms are like Japanese style capsule beds (with a private light, power point, small fan etc, as well as being in an A/C room).

The staff are brilliant, very knowledgeable, helpful and talkative, and because the main reception area is also a lounge with a great cinema size TV in one side, there are usually people there hanging out so you won't be lonely, or bored if it's a rainy day in Jakarta or you are just being lazy!

The breakfast is healthy and filling, and you can request food throughout the day which is delicious!

Anyway I couldn't recommend this place more!

There is also a great swimming pool 5 minutes walk away

Room Tip: The large dorm rooms with the capsule beds are awesome!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonni_g_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B, Manager at Six Degrees, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

It's very kind of you to take the time to leave a review for us. And even kinder when it's such a nice one!
Cheers from everyone at Six Degrees. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The perfect place, to stay in Jakarta, for a affordable Price, very close to Gambir Station, you can go walking if you like walk or pick up a bemo, also very close to the Antique Market. You can walk to go there eassily.
On another hand, is very clean, many facilities, good breackfast, and the staff is always with a smile! and the good temperatura inside is something to keep in you mind, because Jakarta is very hot due to pollution. free wifi! and nice films and documetnaries... and the terrace! :) enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estelapv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews