We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property-highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #11 of 472 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

As the title suggests, this property is well worth a visit!
It's beautifully appointed, modern by design with the intimate feel of a boutique hotel. Located next to Plaza Indonesia with an internal entrance it's easy to include a quick trip to the shops on your work trip!

I was upgraded to a suite which was very spacious. The room had natural light streaming through the floor to ceiling windows, a generous work desk and couch and arm chair in the living area. The bathroom was well laid out, double basins, generous shower with rain shower and hand held option also.

The staff from check in to dining to conceriege were extremely helpful, polite and welcoming. I dined in the restaurant at breakfast and lunch and the quality of the food was very good. If you need to stay in this part of Jakarta I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles S, General Manager at Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Dear MIchelle C

Thank you for your feedback on youe recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the design and intimate ambience that we have created in the hotel.

It is pleasing for all the team to hear that you enjoyed the services that they provided to you and that you liked the features of our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is nice luxury Hotel located in the Heart of Jakarta. Rooms are large, modern and well appointed. Located adjacent to the Plaza that inter connects with the Hyatt its a great location. The breakfasts are great with bespoke smoothies and nice details to the serving of food. My Latte came with a cinnamon quill as the stirrer

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles S, General Manager at Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Robert J

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel.

We believe that the little touches are what make the difference to our guests experience and so pleased to hear that you also enjoyed some of these.

Please do let me know when you plan on returning to Jakarta and I will be delighted to assit you personally with you booking.

Thank you

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel should be the benchmark for all hotels (especially 5 stars hotels) in Jakarta.
We love every aspect of it!
The room was huge (even the standard ones). A large floor to ceiling windows with Central Jakarta as it view.
The in-room facilities is top notch! I love all of it. The Iphone/Ipod charging + Sound system docking by Bose was the apple of my eyes, considering not many (maybe even none) hotels provide it. The 2 LCD TV can satisfied you or your couple's needs of entertainment. The bathroom was spacious with 2 person bath-tub and a rainforest shower. And the automatic toilet is very unique :)
The amenities was high class, including a top quality coffee maker (my favourite!)
The service is excellent also, with a personal butler (that can be contacted personaly to their BBM or Whatsapp), and a turndown service at night.
While we stayed there, they have a "Your own time" service, which mean we can check-in and check-out at anytime we like (based on room availability). Back then we cheked out at 4 pm, although we really want to spend as much time in the hotel and cheked out later that night :D

You can go to Plaza Indonesia and EX on foot via the hotel private passage.

All in all, everything this hotel has is Excellent!

Thank you for giving such a wonderful experience

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles S, General Manager at Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Biee C

Thank you for your feedback on the hotel. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. It is extremely rewarding for the team to receive feedback such as this on the levels of service that we provide.

It is pleasing to know that you liked some of the extra expereices that we are building into the srvice that we deliver for our guests.

Please do let me know when you plan on returning to the hotel and I will be delighted to assit you personally with your booking.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

There is no doubt that this is THE hotel in Jakarta. I spent about 50 days a year in Jakarta, and do stay at this hotel as often as I can. The service sets a new standard in Jakarta. The butler service is not just a nice touch, it can really help getting things done. Especially having the Butlers on BBM and Whatsapp helps to contact them when you are at meetings or outside the hotel.

The rooms are also one of a kind. Even the standard rooms could qualify as suites if you compare the standard rooms of most Hotels in Jakarta.

And the best thing about it is, that it isn't overrun. The lounge is quite but cosy, so is the lobby. You never have the feeling of being rushed. There is a general calmness about this place when you enter, and it stays with you throughout the stay.

Location is also perfect. right in the middle of the city, connected to Plaza Indonesia, through which you can walk if you have meetings at the Hyatt or need to grab something from the mall as such.

Yes it might be a bit more pricy than some of the other hotels in town, but it is surely worth it. You don't just pay for a fancy name, you pay and get fantastic service, a great product and above all PRIVACY. I personally cannot ask for more.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing away from Sudirman (main street). Generally the sound isolation is good, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles S, General Manager at Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Mazebox

Thank you for your feedback on the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the service that we provide to our guests and inparticular the butler service that we have for all of our rooms.

Our aim is to create an environment to help you relax away from the bustle of daily life in Jakarta and I am delighted that you enjoyed this.

Please do let me know when you plan on retunring to Jakarta and I will be delighted to assit you with your booking.

Thank you

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel on 7/1/2013. Excellent location tucked right behind the Plaza Indonesia, one of the upscale shopping malls in Jakarta. They have a private entrance thru the mall which makes it easier for guests to enter the mall to avoid getting out of the compound. It's about 100 meters from the famous HI round-about with its Welcome statue and the new Grand Indonesia shopping center.

If you don't feel like to shop at these two upscale malls, however, Thamrin City is about 5 minutes walk where you can really test your bargaining skill for some quality batiks, souvenirs, Muslim gears, or just a simple t-shirt.

Though it's located on a busy Thamrin street but upon entering the compound, you will feel that you are not in the City is at all. It was so quiet and secluded. I didn't see any heavy security presence here. They don't have an x-ray machine at the lobby either as in other major hotels in Jakarta. Do not expect a grand entrance as in Grand Hyatt or the Ritz Carlton Kuningan but it was nice and cozy nonetheless.

We really had a fabulous time at this hotel, though the kids really couldn't enjoy the pool because it's too deep for an 8 years old. The pool is also very small and not enough space to relax. The hotel is probably caters to businessmen who really doesn't need to lounging by the pool.

Checked-in was fast and immediately taken to our room by the receptionist herself. She took the extra time to explain how things work in the room. And it was good thing she did, because there are lots of things that we couldn't figure out how they work. All the staffs were friendly, helpful, and full of smile.

I read one comment from a fellow traveler about the strong odor coming out of the shower. Sadly it's true. At first we didn't have the issue, but after we took a shower then we notice - but you can only smell it when you open the shower door though. Despite of this, I think this hotel has the best toilet in all 5 stars hotels in Jakarta. Temperature controlled seat and bidet for your real rear pleasure and cleanliness.

Love the backboard panels where you can open and close to give sense of privacy. Its floor-to-ceiling glass window oh my my… Try sleep in total darkness while the curtain is up to really experience Jakarta's glittering night lights. It's one of our best moments.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Thamrin street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWithStyle_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles S, General Manager at Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear TravelWithStyle_71

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular some of the technology that we have available in the room and the fact that we are located adjacent to Plaza Indonesia.

Please do let me know when you plan on returning to Jakarta and i will be delighted to assit you with your booking.

Thank you

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

One of the newest hotel in Jakarta - well situated in the famous circle and linked to Plaza Indonesia. Food and Shopping - no problem! But again, this is positioned as a business hotel so let's take it from that angle.

The privacy of the hotel is truly valued. It is tucked away at the back - away form the main road hence no traffic noise (and those familiar with Jakarta will know what traffic noise means). Do not expect any grand ballroom, big lobby - this is more styled like a boutique hotel but with a corporate feel. Forget about rowdy bars, clubs, big lounges... this is exclusive and do not expect non-guest to loiter around (which is good).

The rooms are huge! And with a 4 meter high ceiling, it can get any bigger. Beds are comfortable and AC is super cold! Every room has a butler so all your needs are attended to. Also very much appreciated is the floor to ceiling glass window. Makes the rom airy and bright in the day; at night (on a high floor), one can view the city lights.

One thing though - when telling the taxi driver - you should pronounce it as 'Care - Rah- Torn' then they will know where the hotel is! :)

Room Tip: High Floors is the way to go! And ask for the room facing away from the mosque if you are a light sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFatBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giles S, General Manager at Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear TheFatBelly

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience that we provide to our guests.

One of our aims is to create an environment of privacy and relaxation away from the stresses and strains of the city outside so it is pleasing to know that we achieved this.

Please do let me know when you plan on returning and i will be delighted to assit you personally with your booking.

Thank you

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Wonderful experience, from the first impression welcome, throwing open the residential gates right next to Plaza Indonesia Mall entrance, to the escort upon check out to the hotel limousine returning us to the airport the Keraton residences are WORLD CLASS. Service team is superior compared to all competitors, certainly in Jakarta. They have a sense of polish, comfort and style. They are great ambassadors of the Hotel as they fulfill the brand promise with poise, charm and grace. We enjoyed the large well stocked and serviced room with all the tech conveniences and comfort of home. Butler provided a personal Jazz tape, turndown was quick, easy and appropriate. Breakfast is by far and away the best in the city.

Room Tip: jr suite closest to the elevator is convenient with nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnberndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanWidarmana, Manager at Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear johnberndt,

I personally thank you for extending your wonderful staying experience with us to the Trip Advisor readers.
We are happy to know that in most aspects you were gratified with the hotel services, product and design. Everyone at Keraton at The Plaza will join me in saying it was a pleasure to look after you.

Your future arrival in Jakarta is truly awaited and I would be very honored to have the opportunity to greet and meet you in person.

With very best regards,

Ivan Widarmana
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 472 in Jakarta
1,586 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
#28 of 472 in Jakarta
1,143 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Jl. MH. Thamrin Kav. 15, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 472 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: £146 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Luxury Collection hotel in Jakarta that provide guests with enchanting experiences from the time of arrival until departure. Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel is located in the prime area of Thamrin, the heart of Jakarta business district. The hotel is connected to the most sophisticated shopping complex and encircled by high rise corporate buildings, embassies and governments. Our 140 lavish and spacious guest rooms, the inimitability of our All Day Dining, semi outdoor terrace, Keraton Lounge, infinity pool, 24 hour butler service and the re-known Go Concierge program will enhance the picturesque of our heritage story telling. The luxury, modern & contemporary design of the entire hotel delivers an intimate & calm ambience and emphasizing on the impeccable service of consistency and personalized recognition towards every guest, Keraton at The Plaza stand out on its distinctive way in the market. Keraton has a meaning of “Palace” in Javanese which is inspired by commissioned relics from the royal palaces of yesteryear. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing