We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Hotel at its finest!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza
Ranked #33 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
ghnad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Business Hotel at its finest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2008

Definitely more a business hotel then for families. The service is evident from the staff that open the doors for you upon entry right till the time you check out. Efficient service, high quality rooms that are very neat and tidy, fine food but pricey on the bill, good business center with staff attending to your every need. If your into authentic indonesian food go for a stroll outside the hotel and hit the food stalls where you will eat like a king for 2-3$. You must have a strong stomach and not be prissy about where and what you eat! Then go back and chill in the hotel lobby with a scotch on the rocks!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ghnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    327
    80
    23
    18
See reviews for
61
65
78
522
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2008

Above average hotel (just) for a below average (just) price.

Restauarants and breakfasts fine, with plenty of choice.

However, I was unimpressed with the security, in theory airport style scanners on all doors, but I witnessed a few loopholes, such as on a few occasions I saw the security guys allow guests with large suitcases to bypass the scanner without checking the cases. This was enough for me to decide to abort my second week and check into the ShangriLa instead - a much nicer hotel

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2008

As a member of Intercontinental Ambassador Club I have been spoiled by the treatment I have received in other Intercontinentals (especially Delhi and Vienna). When I arrived at this hotel I was informed that the usual Ambassador Club benefits do not apply - no free transfer from the airport, no access to executive lounge, the "free gift" was (no joke) a cheap paper bookmark. The manager was apologetic but explained that this was a new policy decision that took effect in January 2008. I explained that I also have a policy that I don't stay in this hotel any more. Left and moved to the Marriott where I got excellent service!

  • Liked — Staff was friendly but could not overcome bad management policy.
  • Disliked — Really bad business management policy.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mermaidwithlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2008

Superb hotel, good food service and value, good gym, good location etc....

Staff are superb and very friendly

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — lifts
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sinclair1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2007

Good value for money. Well located. Efficient staff. The hotel is connected through an underground passage to an adjacent building with several small but good and affordable restaurants. Clean rooms, bathroom works well. Very fast internet connection. Easy to find a taxi. Easy to reach from the airport.

  • Liked — Efficient service, excellent breakfast, comfortable rooms, great restaurants
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Honoraryconsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2007

A bit tired but OK. Nothing special but very good value

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DCRatcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2006

I stayed in the InterContinental Midplaza for four nights on a business trip to Jakarta. Although I stayed at the Four Seasons on my first visit (which I thoroughly enjoyed as well), I was pleasantly satisfied that I chose the InterContinental on my second visit.

The hotel is located centrally (just off Jl Sudirman) and security is taken very very seriously (which is true at every major hotel and establishments in Jakarta due to threat of terrorism) as manifested by the thorough inspection and seach of vehicles and guest as they enter the hotel. This might sound a little daunting and incovenient to first time visitors but I think it is necessary.

Staff of the hotel are very friendly and helpful. They are always willing to give directions in where to eat, dine, shop, etc.

Buffet breakfast is also excellent with a selection of Indonesian and western cuisine. I also enjoyed the massage and the spa!

Overall, I had a pleasant stay in Jakarta and that's mostly because I stayed at the InterContinental Midpaza.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinzeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Le Meridien Jakarta
Le Meridien Jakarta
#38 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Gran Melia Jakarta
#15 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza

Property: InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza
Address: Jl. Jendral Sudirman Kav. 10-11, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#16 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#23 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#32 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star luxury hotel is strategically located in the heart of Jakarta's business and commercial district in the Sudirman and Thamrin area. It is convenient to shopping malls such as Plaza Indonesia and other attractions in the city centre. The hotel lends itself to corporate events, conferences and weddings with an extensive array of meeting facilities, complemented by elegant guest rooms and stylish restaurants. InterContinental Jakarta also offers a luxury spa and modern fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Jakarta MidPlaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Jakarta Midplaza Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing