We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Jakarta
Ranked #13 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Good price, decent stay, excellent food. I used to stay here quite consistently several years ago but due to a colleague's preference to stay here, I decided to give it a try once more. Very friendly staff and overall the atmosphere is exactly the same as before. I still prefer to stay at other hotels though namely due to the nature of this hotel's past. If you need to stay close to the the Kuningan area, then this hotel will suit you just fine.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaotic363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed in this hotel for a week in July. The security on the way in and around the hotel can be a bit daunting. Not only was their full airport security at the front door but all of my bags were searched by hand. I suppose given the fact the hotel has been bombed a few times over the years the security is required and did provide a degree of comfort.

The room was perfect, very big with everything you would expect in a business hotel. I did have a problem with my Internet at the start but the tech people came up and fixed it quickly. Room service was great but their was no pay TV.

The Japanese restaurant was fantastic and the sashimi was amazing. A few martinis in the bar, some sashimi and off to bed. Perfect after a long day of traffic jams in Jakarta.

I was staying in the club rooms and had access to the executive lounge. The lounge has everything that you need. Very comfortable work areas with sofas and large plasma TV's. The meeting rooms in the lounge are excellent (no projector though) and the lounge staff were incredibly helpful. The great thing about the lounge is that you have free breakfast, buffet dinner, cocktail hours, late night wine and cheese etc. All of this is free which is a really good deal. I would strongly suggest that if you are staying here you should book a club room with lounge access. it really is worth it.

The Spa is great. I used the gym a few times, had a massage and used the hot tub, steam room etc. Really great place to relax (again after the traffic jam which really are the worst I have ever seen anywhere in the world)

Overall a really good hotel. A bit daunting with the security etc but once you are inside it is perfect.

Room Tip: Book a club room! - they are bigger and you have access to the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smccor_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at the JW Marriott for 5 days. It's well located, in the heart of the business district and close to shopping malls too. Great space for walking outside, which is quite a rarity in Jakarta. Good eating options in the hotel and outside too. The gym is not bad, but the pool is quite a disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I-do-love-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We decided to stay (4nights) at JW Marriot because the hotel we usually stay ( The Ritz Carlton next door) was fully booked. That was one big disappointment!

Just to start, while we were there, they had a convention /conference going on - nothing against - except they decided to set up the tables for lunch and dinner ( for all the 200+ attendees) in the middle of the main lobby! So as we were checking in people were eating right next to us at the lobby! Not what I would expect from a JW Marriot.

The room was dated, not big at all compared to the Ritz next door.
Spa wasn't terrible but i would not recommend to anyone. There are better places in Jakarta to spend your money on.
The gym was very small for this hotel, if it is empty is ok - I didn't go in the "rush" hour so it was fine.

After 4 days going around tables (in the main lobby!!) every time we would leave or arrive at the hotel , and people having lunches and dinners in the lobby we were more than ready to check out.

To finish our "wonderful" experience during check in we were told the internet was included in our rate. During check out we realized they charged us and when we asked they couldn't explain why and had to call 3 different people to ask. It was not a big thing, but it became HUGE after 20 minutes and no answer. They should be able to solve a problem like that in 5 minutes not 25 minutes with guests standing up, waiting in front of you. In the end we ended up solving the problem for them. We couldn't wait anymore, otherwise we would miss our flight, so we told them just to charge us . That means we paid for something that we didn't have to.. .
I gave the last look at the tables in the middle of the lobby and promise myself never,never go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wonderfulworld2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

General :
1. Excelent service
2. Nice people
3. Very nice Hotel
4. Good Internet connection and avalability of rooms for meeting

Do :
Have dinner ...good food


Don't :
The resturant has limited menu after 10 PM ...so avoid having dinner at hotel after 10 PM
Doesn't have wide range of Beverage collection

Room Tip: Higer flors 17+ has a nice view ...and you can set
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sahu_upendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Hotel located in teh heart of Jakarta i.e. Mega Kuningan very luxurious and also service wise great hotel to stay in. Staff takes good care for your needs. All facilities like, Gym swimming pool , Bar, restaurant and most importantly teh meeting rooms are also available. Mallas and Markets like Bellagio, Ambassador and ranch market nearby for shopping and other requirements. Amazingly Good Food especially teh Buffet in teh breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palllav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The upside for this JW Marriott is that the staff are attentive, and that the facility is in decent condition. My room was excellent, and meals in both the Executive Lounge and in the buffet restaurant were fine. No complaints.

The fitness center, on the other hand, was a huge disappointment. There is some equipment, but not much, and certainly nothing to write home about.

First time visitors should be prepared for heavy security. This facility has been the target of terrorists in the past, so the security is not a surprise. Indonesia is a generally safe country, but Islamic extremists, though rare, do show their nasty heads from time to time.

Doubt that I'll return to this property on my next visit to Jakarta. The location was not great for my business meetings, and the lack of a good fitness center was a bummer. I recommend that people select among the many high end hotels, first, based on location relative to where they'll be visiting or working. Jakarta lacks transportation planning and infrastructure, short city drives of one hour are not unusual.

In summary, the JW property in Jakarta is not terrible, but it is not special either. Next time I'll select among the best hotels nearest to where my meetings will be.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#14 of 464 in Jakarta
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 464 in Jakarta
526 reviews
Gran Melia Jakarta
#20 of 464 in Jakarta
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Jakarta

Address: Jl. DR. Ide Anak Agung Gde Agung Kav. E 1.2 no. 1-2 | Mega Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#10 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#13 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: £93 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set 30Km from Jakarta International Airport, in the Golden Business Triangle of Mega Kuningan near multinational corporations, embassies and shopping centers, JW Marriott Hotel Jakarta indulges guests in a remarkable blend of comfort, luxury and exquisite services with its plush bedding, delightful amenities and its superior executive lounge at the 29th floor. Nourish your senses in the popular Alameda Spa with signature treatments, relax by the outdoor pool or sweat it out in our fully equipped health club. This luxury Jakarta hotel enthralls guests with its award-winning Jakarta restaurants such as Sailendra Restaurant's buffet with live cooking stations, Asuka Japanese Dining serving delectable dishes from Japan and Pearl Chinese Restaurant, serving superb fine dining Cantonese cuisine. Create memorable events in our grand ballroom that can hold up to 1500 guests, 23 meeting rooms and state of the art conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Jakarta
Marriott Hotel Jakarta
Marriott Jakarta
Jakarta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing