We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Jakarta, if you can afford it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Jakarta
Ranked #7 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Jakarta, if you can afford it”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Frankly international 5* chains aren't for me but I got a two nights for the price of one deal and thoroughly enjoyed the pampering. If you work for a large corporate on expenses and have limited imagination, or time to research, you cannot do better. The Mandarin Oriental is perfectly located opposite Plaza Indonesia. The staff are absolutely wonderful, the rooms are incredible and very tasteful (especially when compared with the excesses of somewhere like the Mulia). The food is as good as you would expect from a hotel like this, although of course you pay for it. Mo's Bar is a tasteful alternative to CJ's at the Mulia, especially on ladies night, but who can resist CJ's? In fact, if you are on business on a busy schedule and prepared to pay 5* prices and take Silverbird taxi's, you could just spend all your spare time in the Mandarin Oriental popping over to Plaza Indonesia to buy some gifts; this would be a shame because Jakarta has so much to offer. Certainly if you do so you will return from Jakarta feeling completely unchallenged and relaxed, which few travellors can say about their time in Jakarta.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piphoshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    231
    29
    10
    10
See reviews for
153
163
93
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

currently checked-in here for business. it's my first time to stay in this MO since i'm used to staying either in Shangri-La or Marriott when in the city. like everyone said, check-in is a breeze. some mishaps however as the check-in counter have given me a club card and explained the club benefits only to find out when I went to the club floor (21th) that I am not entitled to it. other than that everything has been smooth. security is tight but in a comfortable way (experience with others treat as if everyone is a suspect) though I notice that they are a bit more lenient when it comes to Caucasians or whites than Asians (saw a couple of instances business-looking white men alighting a car entering straight to the exit door than the scanner area). breakfast is ample and plenty and just right, room is spacious than usual (i think they gave me a corner room but regular rooms are still spacious than usual standards), courteous staff from the door to the hallways, to check-in counters. bit of an issue though with the scheduling of turndown service who comes around 7:15PM-7:30PM when I just came back from the room but I happily say it's okay. overall love the feel of staying in this hotel specially feeling secured (right now there is a war tank parked in one of its gates due to a special guest) and will definitely come back here if business permits me to be on this area again. at par or slightly better than Shangri-La's experience for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasperjugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for only one night.
From from the moment of arrival I was impressed by the smiling faces and willingly helpful staff.

When checking in i was offered a complimantary upgrade from the king size bedroom i had reserved to an Urban Suite. Wow this is a seriously huge room. The Bathroom with huge
deep bath and separate shower, a separate walk in closet, double sinks, length of wall mirror.

Then there was the adjacent uet separate bedroom with Large LCD screen in wall. Very comfy bed with a nice quilt to snuggle under.

Then there was the Separate lounge with large TV and desk area.

Whilst i was upgraded, even the rate for the original room i had booked ead very reasonable at 185 USD plus tax and this included Free internet and breakfast buffet.

Did i say the staff were Very friendly.

The lobby Restuarant was tastefully decorated and there was a diverse breakfast buffet. Great selection and great service.

As for the Gym. Good selection of electronic equipment plus weights machines. Separate area to do floor exercises.

Overall this hotel was Classy and refined but modern. Very high of service and lot's of friendly smiles.

I have regularly stayed at the Mulia and would rate this as better. I was
thoroughly impressed and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

From arrival to departure, an incredible experience. Met me plane-side at the airport, car ready when baggage arrived, hotel arrival unbelievable. An attendant met me carside by name (must have gone off the hotel car's license plate), whisked me straight to my room, poured a welcome drink straight from the minibar, and put my luggage away and even removed the security straps from it. The room is beautiful, the bath palatial, and everything super-comfortable. The restaurant is amazing, the breakfast buffet delicious and never-ending. In short, this was the best business-class hotel I've stayed at without an upgrade, and I would repeat anytime I was in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erb162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

From the minute you walk in this hotel has it all. Great rooms, friendly staff, fantastic breakfast buffet with a large variety of fresh fruits and juices prepared while you wait. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelefes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Indonesia in general is treating me well but the treatment at this hotel makes every prior experience pale in comparison. Whether at club level or not - and I recommend paying the extra $ - you will be given treatment as if you were their only customer.

The rooms are spacious, the service impeccable and the food superb. The personnel are very friendly, very genuine and ultra professional. The rooms are incredibly clean and well-maintained. On Monday while I waited for my driver, I watched the groundskeeper take a broom back and forth deftly along what already looked to be the cleanest outside brick paving. Litter was not existent.

So many adjectives come to mind but I will leave at this.

Room Tip: Always go for a high floor when in a major city. The elevators are many and run very quickly. The ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

It's outstanding. They find that right level of service - neither too disinterested nor too obtrusive. The room was beautiful and had everything I needed. The deal included breakfast and evening cocktails in the business centre upstairs - again outstanding, a real oasis of calm in the middle of a frenetic city. The staff all remember your name which I find a little embarrassing as I then struggle to try to remember all of theirs (their name tags help but if feels like cheating!). The location is great if you want access to the big shopping malls across the road - however it does take a bit of time to get across those roads with umpteen lanes of traffic converging on one of Jakarta's major intersections.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 464 in Jakarta
490 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#17 of 464 in Jakarta
1,486 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#5 of 464 in Jakarta
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Jakarta

Property: Mandarin Oriental Jakarta
Address: Jl. M.H. Thamrin no. 81 | P.O Box 3392, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#7 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the warmth of Indonesian hospitality and the levels of service for which Mandarin Oriental is renowned, Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta offers exemplary personalised service in luxurious surroundings. Located in the heart of the city, the hotel is an oasis of 21st-century luxury with 272 spacious guest rooms, including 24 suites and a variety of award-winning restaurants and bar concepts, which become the meeting place of choice for hotel guests and the local community. The state-of-the-art meeting and banqueting facilities also provide the best venues for both business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mandarin Jakarta
Jakarta Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing