We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Jakarta
Ranked #4 of 471 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

What you'd expect from this luxury hotel group. Comfortable rooms, great food, impeccable service. Cinnamon offers the usual buffet items for breakfast, the local food choices and Indian curry selections is a nice touch. Unfortunately pastries are a little bit on the dry side. My only other gripe, why charge for Internet? Just add it into the room rate please! The bar offers a happy hour in the evening with half price house wine and beer.
All in all, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upstairsforthinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel as Shangrila was full and had only Club Rooms available. I found the price of USD185++ a little steep for Jakarta and Manadarin. However, the rooms were really fantastic. It was 47sqm and had everything that you could think of. I was upgraded to a delux room. I believe the difference is that the WC is attached in the normal room while in the delux it is separate. The room had a separate Closet, a separate WC, the bathroom was very nice the room has a sofa and a writing desk and a big TV. THe staff are helpful and the receptionist escorts you to the room upon check in. The lobby however, is not very grand or impressive. Something, which you might expect for a hotel when you are paying so much. The breakfast, is a good spread but hot vegetarian choices are not laid out. On request they can do a Mee Goreng or something like fired rice. I was stuck in the hotel during the floods, and the bad part was that the hotel at that time could not manage a big bus etc which may have helped the guests who were stuck especially if they had to make their way to the airport. The arrangement was made for the next day though and that was welcome. Overall it is a nice hotel but if you are paying so much in Jakarta, you might get better options.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babla75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Traveled on business during mid January - yep here during the flood crisis as well. I stayed in a club room on the 11th floor, and this was probably the best designed/appointed hotel room I have stayed in for a very long time. Perfect for working and relaxing, with first rate finishing and facilities including large safe, walk in closet, superb bathroom and separate bedroom that could be isolated from lounge/bathroom by sliding doors - with its own air con. Staff were truly outstanding at all levels from the front desk, through to IT support (they actually knew about IT and reconfigured networks to suit my complex needs in minutes - not days like many 5* hotels, well done Virna), to lounge staff (hello to Wina and the team) who knew me by my second visit. Mark Bradford, General Manager, was warm and welcoming and ensured the hotel operated smoothly and efficiently , even during the flood crisis (I just escaped on the 17th before being fully cut-off) and discretely checked on a number of occasions that we were being well looked after and ensured we were not caught out regarding travel etc. Gymnasium was well appointed and again staff were excellent. Pool was a smallish outdoor affair - but again very well run and very clean. I did not expereince the spa - but given everything else I experienced I would not hesitate if I were there on a leisure trip as the prices were very good. Well done all - I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Corner rooms didi not seem to have as good a layout as the more central rooms. Views over the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rush42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I am very impressed with the way Mandarin handled and taking care of hotel guests during the Jakarta big flood on 17th Jan 2013 . We were trapped in the hotel as most of the surrounding area were filled with water about 50cm high . The hotel staff worked long hour (double shift) to take care of us without jeopardizing the quality of service , ensure that food and safety were well taken care . they offered extended stay whilst waiting for the big bus to deliver all of us arrive safely at the Jakarta Airport .
I would like to thank all of the MO Jakarta staff and the management who had handled the crisis so well . Many thanks .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlee216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I have stayed at this property several times during the past 2 years and have always enjoyed the expereince. The Front Office employees know me and my preferences so they always do well to accommodate my requests. The rooms are well designed and everything is located in a practicla way for business travellers.

The Room Service is great with an abundant menu.

The French Restaurant and Chinese Restaurant are wonderful, well worth a lunch or dinner especially for business meetings.

The 3 meal a day restaurant lets the proeprty down - unattentive service and overly priced.

Overall a great property

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Mandarin Oriental is one of oldest and best hotels in Jakarta CBD. Nice spacious rooms with all facilities. Very good ambience. Though a bit on higher side, cost wise, but it provides good access to CBD area in city. Stayed in May 2011 and since then keeping out office visitors booked in this

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manish_dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This is the best business hotel I have stayed in. Paying the extra money for access to the executive lounge is well worth it. I once left my watch and wedding ring and watch in a taxi booked through the hotel, they contacted the driver and the watch/ring returned.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 471 in Jakarta
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 471 in Jakarta
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Jakarta

Address: Jl. M.H. Thamrin no. 81 | P.O Box 3392, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: £140 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the warmth of Indonesian hospitality and the levels of service for which Mandarin Oriental is renowned, Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta offers exemplary personalised service in luxurious surroundings. Located in the heart of the city, the hotel is an oasis of 21st-century luxury with 272 spacious guest rooms, including 24 suites and a variety of award-winning restaurants and bar concepts, which become the meeting place of choice for hotel guests and the local community. The state-of-the-art meeting and banqueting facilities also provide the best venues for both business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mandarin Jakarta
Jakarta Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing