We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best customer service I have ever had at a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta
Ranked #4 of 461 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best customer service I have ever had at a hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hotel lobby is large, smells amazing. Gym facilities are fantastic.

Rooms are spacious and clean. Great tubs. Staff is attentive, and accommodating.
I did not eat in any of the upstairs restaurants or bars.

Breakfast and dinner buffet downstairs have everything you can imagine. All types of food. Quick service and many options. As a vegan I had no problem being accommodated.

Downsides would be crossing that traffic circle to get to the malls etc. But that is an issue in the whole area, regardless of hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngloudandscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    221
    28
    9
    9
See reviews for
138
152
89
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed an amazing 3 nights recently...again. And once again, it's been a wonderful experience. On the first night, I told the housekeeper to replenish only my favourite teas, and not an assortment. Guess what? They only stocked up on my favourite teas for the rest of my stay, without any need for a reminder. How "more attentive" can they get? Thank you, Mandarin Oriental. you're my most favourite hotel in Jakarta.

Room Tip: If you're intending to splurge on a suite, go straight to the Oriental suite. The urban suite is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravelling2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

When booking the hotel, I was told rather dismissively that this place was simply in a different league to J.W Marriott or Ritz-Carlton and was intrigued to give it a try. Whilst I don't really agree with this statement, I must say that it was really very good indeed. Elly at front desk did a wonderful job and provided one of the smoothest check-in experiences I have ever had as well as providing a free upgrade and free wi-fi (seriously, they charge normally?). Room was lovely and staff were great, I would happily try MO again. Only downside was that I asked for a good restaurant to mark my last night in Indonesia and was recommended to visit Xin Hwa at the hotel which was woeful. Otherwise, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew_2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stay in MO for one night in Superior room during Independence Day weekend, which also during the Moslem's fasting month. We got promo price, which made our stay more valuable. Like most of the reviews, mine was also very positive because we do have a very good staying here.

Positives:
- I'm living in Jakarta, so location is not really relevant for me, but yes, it's in central. Every Sunday, between 06.00-11.00am, the Thamrin & Sudirman Street are closed for car-free-day event. The Jakartans use this event to do sport activities (walk, run, aerobics, etc.) and some music/dance/art performances. If you stay here on Sunday, please expect to hear a slight of noise from the street, especially if your room is facing the Welcome Monument fountain. In my experience, the noise was not loud and the MO will make you aware of this condition by sending a note to your room explaining this weekly event on Saturday evening.

- Check in & check out was a breeze.

- The room is spacious, clean, nicely design & our room has a view of Welcome Monument fountain.

- The bathroom is also spacious, with 5-star bathroom amenities, including the bathtub.

- The kingsize bed mattress, pillows, and sheets are very comfortable.

- Breakfast was very good with many varieties on food.

- Free wi-fi in the room.

- Their biggest asset is definitely the staff. The most efficient, friendly, attentive and professional staff. We always been treated like VIP even we stay for one night only.

- With this promo price, we also entitled a free taxi ride to Grand Indonesia & Plaza Indonesia shopping centres (but not the other way around) across the hotel. It was a nice perk to have if you want to go during daylight, because the sun could be quite punishing outside.

I cannot give comments on their restaurants (except for the breakfast), because we chose to dine outside. Also we didn't try the pool (very small size pool for such top notch 5 star hotel) and we didn't use the gym. We prefer to do jogging outside during the car-free-day Sunday..LOL.

Negative:
- Probably only the small pool, which is not really inviting.

Will I come back? Absolutely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_zu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

It has spacious and fantastic room add with excellent service from its staff. Undoubtly one of the best in jakarta. The only minus is that the pool is small. However who need pool if you have such a nice comdortable room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonyakira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I travel to South East Asia on Business a lot and would consider myself knowledgable in the Jakarta hotel world. Excellent hotels are a result of the people working in them and this is the trump card of this hotel. Yes, it does have large and clean rooms, good internet connection (albeit at a cost), a nice gym and all the mod cons one could ask for. What sets this place apart is the consistent service. The only small downside could be the size of the pool, if that is important to you. I recommend the Club Lounge, which provides a more privacy and an excellent breakfast presentation, which even includes freshly squeezed juices delivered to your table.

Room Tip: Club Lounge access is well worth paying extra, considering the food presentations and Internet inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hinterbacsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Mandarin for business a number of times over the years. It is my favourite work hotel in Asia. The rooms are big and beautiful; that combined with truly attentive staff keeps me coming back. Breakfast is very good, as is the gym. Bar is a little underwhelming but I work too much to use it often! A room at the Mandarin will make your stay in Jakarta a pleasure. TV/film options a bit unexciting and expensive wireless - that has to end surely?!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 461 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 461 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
#10 of 461 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#12 of 461 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Menteng
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
#15 of 461 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta
Address: Jln. M.H. Thamrin 81 | P.O Box 3392, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#1 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#4 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the warmth of Indonesian hospitality and the levels of service for which Mandarin Oriental is renowned, Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta offers exemplary personalised service in luxurious surroundings. Located in the heart of the city, the hotel is an oasis of 21st-century luxury with 272 spacious guest rooms, including 24 suites and a variety of award-winning restaurants and bar concepts, which become the meeting place of choice for hotel guests and the local community. The state-of-the-art meeting and banqueting facilities also provide the best venues for both business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Mandarin Jakarta
Jakarta Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing