We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opt for an executive room”
Review of Alila Jakarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alila Jakarta
Ranked #30 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
London
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Opt for an executive room”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Although ours was an executive room the furnishings were actually quite basic and the bathroom really needed some refurbishment. The lighting wasn't great for reading and we were also surprised to find that when we returned mid-afternoon our room hadn't been made up. However the executive lounge was a real haven. An excellent buffet breakfast was served there in the morning and in the evening cocktail hour with beautiful canapés was a treat. The manager came round to introduce himself - always a good sign when the manager is in evidence - and we found the staff very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the swimming pool and also had a good dinner one evening in the Buzz restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Jinty 27

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback I trust you had a safe journey home.

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to the team and I glad to see you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, the Dinner in Buzz Restaurant and our executive lounge rooms.

I have also noted your comment on the room lighting it will be addressed in due course

Again thank you for the feed back and if you ever return to Jakarta we would look forward to having you as a guest again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    384
    97
    23
    12
See reviews for
116
195
110
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Alila for 6 nights and we cannot recommend it highly enough, the area is very central to just about anywhere you wish to go.
The hotel has an ambience that instills comfort and elegance, the rooms are well appointed and everything works (which is unusual for a hotel in Asia), we stayed on 22nd floor with a view that was incredible both day and night, we had use of the executive lounge which is well worth the extra cost, breakfast was great (try eggs benedict) as was the evening happy hours.
We ate in the restaurant Buzz which was very good and relaxing, although all this was great nothing came close to the staff who were always helpful and happy and nothing was a bother, they made us feel very welcome, the Manager is to be complimented on his choice of staff as they are what makes a stay memorable. I would definitely recommend the Alila to both business and holidaymakers.

Room Tip: Executive Floors are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Ann

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.I am pleased to hear you had a great holiday and enjoyed your stay I have to agree its the staff that make Alila Jakarta what it is today

I have passed on your comment about how you enjoyed you eggs Benedict to our chef he just smiled !!!! and I have also posted your feedback on our staff notice board

Again thank you for taking the time to share you experiences from you trip and I do hope to see you again in the future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

i stayed many times at Alila Jakarta, comfortable and clean room, nice ambience, good design, good odor around the hotel ( i assume its from their aroma therapy ), good breakfast makes this hotel second home from me. It also located in Pecenongan streets culinary area in Jakarta with their small resto along the street n open up to 3 am in the norning. Good for you who love to eat ( Kwang Tung porridge is a must try restaurant, 500m away from hotel )

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikhael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Mikhael

Thank you for taking the time to share you positive comments with us, I will certainly share them amongst the team

I am pleased to see you also enjoyed our location, yes it is recognised as a local culinary area here in Jakarta.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future Please do contact me directly if l can help you with your booking

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The name "Alila" means surprise in Sanskrit. It was a welcome surprise to arrive at this hotel in Jakarta, after a long, long trip from Madison, Wisconsin to Lax to Taipei to Jakarta! Pulling into the hotel, we had an "iffy" moment, as the location of the hotel is questionable. After checking in and exploring, we found that it was a very comfortable, contemporary hotel. We decided not to venture outside because of the location and heat, and there is a variety of amenities offered right in the hotel. The pool was wonderfully refreshing and it just so happened that when we left, we walked through the spa! So who wouldn't relish a relaxing treatment to regenerate our tired bodies? We were put in the hands of ladies who made us feel wonderful and relaxed for the first time in many, many hours! My little Indonesian girl was "Acca", and she made me feel wonderful for 1 hour. My thanks to Acca! We stayed in for dinner at the Buzz Restaurant, serving an International menu. The hotel also has a gym, meeting rooms for up to 500 people and very comfortable rooms. On the whole, it was a very pleasant and welcome experience for the first night in Indonesia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Ms Witt

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I really appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and I will personally tell Acca of your nice comments it is great to see staff mentioned by name.

I think you made the right choice to stay in and have a relaxing SPA with only an over night stay

I trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope that you will get a chance to return to Jakarta and spend some more time to explore this great city

We are only 10minutes from the Palace and 15 minutes from the centre of Jakarta FYI only for your next trip.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llwyngwril, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April. The hotel is very central. We arrived late afternoon it was a very hot day and it was lovely to chill out by the pool after the hectic drive though Jakarta. Food in the restaurant was very good they even held back on the chillies when asked. The breakfast buffet was also very good. The hotel is modern,very clean and the staff are really helpful.We were also impressed by the presence of the GM Patrick at both breakfast and dinner.We ate in the main restaurant the first night and then the Chinese restaurant the second. Both meals very good wine quite expensive but not just here but all over Indonesia. House wine was ok though.
Shame we did not have more time as the coffee shop looked good too. I think the Chef did the breads and pastries at breakfast which were really good . It was really nice to have the pool and bar after long day sightseeing and it was a good place to take photos of the rooftops of Jakarta and listen to the call to prayer. Well done Alila

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llwyngwril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Llyngwril

Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback with us I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities at the hotel.

I will certainly share your comments with the team it makes their day when I tell them how our guests enjoyed there stay and how we were able to satisfy our customers.

As a Team we will continue to strive to be better. thank you again for your lovely comments and we do look forward to welcoming you back if you are ever in Jakarta again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Room was good. Very, very comfortable.

The massage at the spa was awesome! After a tiring day meeting potential clients, a massage is what you would want to get. Highly recommended!

Location is decent. Just get a cab to travel anywhere, the helpful staff can call a cab for you.

Speaking of the staff, they were great too. Really friendly and welcoming.

Dinner at the Shanghai Storm was good. Loved the Kung Pao chicken.

Overall, it was a great experience, and I will stay in this hotel again for my next trip Jakarta this year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaemonChylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Daemon

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Alila Jakarta I am pleased to see you enjoyed the SPA , Shanghai Storm and of course your positive comments about the staff.

I will certainly share your feed back with the team and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Jakarta

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kelsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

we only stayed here one night in April 2014, we have used Jakarta as a one night recovery from previous flights to then fly on to Java next day. Staff were friendly and welcoming and the Hotel is clean and tidy, upon arrival you will be given the key to the free WIFI connection which works ok. The rooms are spacious and the bed was comfortable but the mini bar was empty, we would have expected some Water or Juices at least. Although our room was high up in the building, we heard the street noise. We had a look at the Restaurant prices and found they were very reasonable even though we have not used the restaurant. The breakfast experience was great, a truly global breakfast with everything anybody would want. We stayed here because initially we thought it would be close to the airport but it is not, there are other Hotels much closer to Jakarta Airport, so we would probably choose one of those rather then driving out all the way to Alila.

Room Tip: Bring yourself some soft drinks the minibar is empty
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Alila Jakarta, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear ManuGermany

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback I do appreciate the positive comments you have made about the cleanliness of the hotel the complimentary wifi and our friendly staff.

In the event you do get to come back to Jakarta we do have other room types that may have suited you better with complementary mini bar available and even complementary evening drinks from 6-8pm. Im hopeful that next time you pass by you will give your self a bit more time to explore Jakarta and enjoy our location in the city. I agree when you are on a tight schedule distance and time are always key to ones priorities.

Again thank you for your comments and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#20 of 464 in Jakarta
533 reviews
Sawah Besar
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
#28 of 464 in Jakarta
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#42 of 464 in Jakarta
790 reviews
Mercure Jakarta Sabang
#37 of 464 in Jakarta
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Jakarta

Property: Alila Jakarta
Address: Jl. Pecenongan 7-17, Jakarta 10120, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#24 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#29 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#38 Business Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conceived as a haven of relaxation and contemporary style, Alila Jakarta offers a cool, modern retreat for young urbanites and executives. The clean, modern lines of our stylish Jakarta hotel embrace an abstract-minimalist interior combining functional office space and chic living areas. Executives are well served by the business centre and a choice of ten meeting rooms with capacities for up to 500 people. Aside from modern business facilities, our elegant hotel in Jakarta offers a range of leisure services. Dine and entertain in its vibrant restaurants and cafe. Relax with natural spa treatments at Spa Alila. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alila Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Alila Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing