We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Media Hotel And Towers
Ranked #184 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed just one night in The Media Hotel And Towers for my weekend escape. Lucky I got a special deal for staying at Tower Room which is more exclusive and free access to Tower Lounge.
The room was good, new bed, BIG TV screen, and the coffee maker machine in room was very nice. Bathroom are big enough, and bathroom amenities were above my expectation. High Quality amenities.

Breakfast was excellent, a lot of food varieties and the service staff also very attentive.
Sauna & Swimming pool also great.

Overall, my weekend experience at The Media Hotel was very memorable for me and my family. I recommend this hotel for all travelers, good for pleasure, perfect for business.

Room Tip: Better you book a room at Towers Floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrianto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, General Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Andrianto,

Thank you for taking the time providing us with the feedback about your stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you are happy with our services and products.

It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoying The Media Hotel & Towers and the surroundings.

Please let me know when you plan to visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity of better serve you.

Best Regards,
Algamar Idris
General Manager
THE MEDIA HOTEL&TOWERS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for The Media Hotel And Towers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in this hotel because of a conference, the entrace it is majestic but that is it. The receptionist saw me waiting inline and she ignored me and help the person that just approched her, I go to the lift and smell terribly like durian and old, go to my room and the toilet stink so bad their solution put more citrus spray, AC work but the humity in the room was bad their solution open more the vents. At night like I always do check the bed and it was with a lot of hair they did not change the sheets at all, called front desk and nobody answered, finally somebody show up and change the sheets, Also it s in a terrible location, it is not worth the money. The restaurants were ok but the staff at the breakfast restaurant were very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are terrible the cleaning is bad, my friend change his room because how dirty it was a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Maritza780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, General Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Maritza780,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel. Please rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the Respective departments to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future. I also delighted that you had enjoy your breakfast experience and services provided by our team member.

We truly value your constructive comments, as we believe that they would help us to continually monitor and upgrade the quality of our service. I hope when your travel brings you back to The Media Hotel & Towers and can have better experience with us. Once again, please accept our sincere apologize for the unpleasant experience.

Best Regards,
Algamar Idris
General Manager
THE MEDIA HOTEL&TOWERS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

One of the best thing in this hotel is that they do not permit smoking anywhere. Breakfast was good. Staffs were helpful but not friendly. When i entered from ground floor, i was surprised to see the lobby so tiny. Little did i know that I had to take the lift up to lobby. Overall, pricy for the price due to hotel's age and location.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoteChusoipin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, General Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear YoteChusoipin,

Thank you for taking the time providing us with the feedback about your stay with us.
Your constructive comments are really appreciated for our own improvement in the future

We are also delighted to know that you had nice experience during your stay.

Please let me know when you plan to visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity of better serve you.

Best Regards,
Algamar Idris
General Manager
THE MEDIA HOTEL&TOWERS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is in North Jakarta. It is close to the airport, but far from the main areas of Jakarta, shopping malls, and nightlife. Besides that though, this hotel is excellent and very comfortable. I've actually never stayed in a hotel so much and used so much hotel amenities as I did at The Media Hotel and Towers. I had a really bad experience with taxis and police the night I arrived. So be careful of taxis. Only use the recommended taxis like Bluebird.

Anyway, back to my review. A lot of people have commented that this hotel is dated and looks old. I think there is a difference with a hotel being old and dated and a hotel's theme being classic and traditional, kind of like the inside of an ivy league building. I thought everything was clean and seemed in place if you think of the look they were going for.

The bottom floor has a bakery and a Thai restaurant. the lobby is located on the second floor and requires an elevator ride to get to. The second floor has a big open lobby with the reception area directly in front of the elevators, a Chinese restaurant to the left, a small lounge to the right, and further down the right side they have their ballrooms for meetings and events. There's some stairs before you hit the ballrooms. It goes down to what I would guess would be the 1.5 floor. this floor has The Media Lounge and the Yacht Club. The Media Lounge has a bar, stage for live music, and two full-size pool tables. The music was ok the few times I went there. The Yacht Club has karaoke if you're into that. Both places have food and drinks. The food was great in both lounges. The hotel had wifi in almost all the public areas.

The sixth floor has the Breeze Cafe and the swimming pool. I went to the Breeze Cafe for their buffet breakfast. The breakfast was very good. They had an omelette bar, fresh fruit, salad, fresh juices, deserts, and other thai and american style breakfast dishes.

The rooms were very nice, comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were big. They had a nice big mirror behind the sink, a adjustable magnifying mirror, all the toiletries you could need including: soaps, combs, razor kit, toothbrush kit, lotions, shampoo, conditioner, sewing kit, and hair cap. The bathroom came with both a shower and a bath tub which were both large.

The room had a large bed that was very comfortable. It had night stands on both sides. Near the window, there was a sofa. The room also had a large flat screen tv. The room had internet. The closet had a room safe. To top it off, my room had a great view of the city.

The staff was wonderful. They were really helpful and spoke English well. The reception people were nice. The lounge workers were even nicer. I told both the lobby lounge and the Media lounge people about my bad experience with the taxis and the police. They both gave me taxi suggestions for trustworthy companies. One lounge worker even offered to take me to a club the during the weekend.

One weird thing that I came across with this hotel was, they would not exchange my American money because the serial numbers were below 2006. I've never heard of that before. I was staying in their hotel for three days during the business week, they had my passport copy, and they had my credit card on file. I felt like they could have easily found out if I was passing off fake money, and if I was they could have easily charged me for it. I went to South Jarkata a few days later and Le Meridien had no problem with my cash. Just an FYI for American travelers.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that would like to stay closer to the airport or in North Jakarta. The staff was very professional and friendly. The rooms, the hotel, and the lounges are all clean and nicely decorated. Happy travels!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xbreadboyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, General Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear xbreadboyx,

Thank you for taking the time providing us with the feedback about your stay with us.

We truly value your constructive comments, as we believe that they would help us to continually monitor and upgrade the quality of our service, especially concerning the unpleasant experience you had in exchanging money.

We are also delighted to know that that you enjoying our services and products and our staff members have always delivered the service which meet to your satisfaction.

As naturally, each and every staff member at the hotel is dedicated to service excellence, since we believe that is the key to our future success
It’s always great to hear that our guests had a pleasant experience like yourself at The Media Hotel & Towers and the surroundings.

Please let me know when you plan to visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity of better serve you.

Best Regards,
Algamar Idris
General Manager
THE MEDIA HOTEL&TOWERS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Media Hotel has a good location in North Jakarta,especially if you like shopping..Mangga dua shopping centre is only 5-10 minutes drive,and you can find hundreds store there..clothes,bags,etc
This hotel named Sheraton before..but now change to Media Hotel.After changing the management,the room is cleaner..and the mattress is not hard as rock again...
You can enjoy free spa there..quite big whirpool,jacuzzi..steam,sauna..I love use this facility..

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrysantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, General Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Chrysantha,

Thank you for taking the time providing us with the feedback about your stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you are happy with our services and products.

It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoying The Media Hotel & Towers and the surroundings.

Please let me know when you plan to visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity of better serve you.

Best Regards,
Algamar Idris
General Manager
THE MEDIA HOTEL&TOWERS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is probably one of those former greats that have sadly been left behind.
You can tell it must have been awesome in the 80s. Proper marble and wood surfaces, big compound

However time has taken its toll.
Musty carpet and stale cigarette smoke smells permeates the guest room floors. Aircon thermostat in my room was broken. Toilets replete with an anachronistic 'water not fit for drinking' sign. Acceptable for 4star hotels here in the 80s but not today

Not returning. Only ended up here as ALL other hotels were fully booked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ranvier1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, General Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Ranvier1980,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. We really appreciate your constructive comments for our own improvement in the future.

In regards to experience you had during the stay, we are sorry to learn about the unpleasant experience during your stay and I have shared with respective department to prevent similar experience happened in the future.Once again, please accept our sincere apologize for the unpleasant experience.

I personally look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity of better serve you.

Best Regards,
Algamar Idris
General Manager
THE MEDIA HOTEL&TOWERS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The location is just opposite Mangga Dua for shopping,near to golf course ( Kemayoran) walking distant to shopping areas. Restaurants are all over, spas are all over with good quality for sure. karaoke can be in house or outside next door. Hotel with very professional staff and very personalised too. Its value for money and price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allanckc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, General Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Allanckc,

Thank you for taking the time providing us with the feedback about your stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you are happy with our services and products.

It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoying The Media Hotel & Towers and the surroundings.

Please let me know when you plan to visit us again and I look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity of better serve you.

Best Regards,
Algamar Idris
General Manager
THE MEDIA HOTEL&TOWERS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Mercure Jakarta Kota
#82 of 464 in Jakarta
512 reviews
Sawah Besar
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
#101 of 464 in Jakarta
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
Orchardz Hotel Industri
Orchardz Hotel Industri
#183 of 464 in Jakarta
143 reviews
Pademangan
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Media Hotel And Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Media Hotel And Towers

Address: Jl. Gunung Sahari Raya 3, Jakarta 10720, Indonesia (Formerly Sheraton Media Hotel And Towers)
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#96 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: £29 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Media Hotel And Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Media Hotel & Towers is one of the major recognized international branded hotels in the North Jakarta area accommodating a mix of domestic and international business coming to Jakarta. Strategically located to the Mangga Dua World Trade Center (the largest retail shop in Southeast Asia), the hotel provides delegates easy access to the Jakarta International Expos (the largest exhibition hall in Indonesia) and direct access to International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Media Hotel And Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Media Hotel
Sheraton Jakarta
Jakarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing