We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spa, but..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Media Hotel And Towers
Ranked #181 of 469 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The room was a bit old, but still ok! We had dinner at one of the restaurants on the hotel. The quality of the food did not match the price, it was very expensive, the waiter was not very service minded and the food was not good.
The Akropolis spa is very nice. A good way to finish the day.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jakob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, General Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Jakob A.,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are training our staff to bring a consistently higher level of service. Therefore we are grateful to hear your feedback. I will definitely share your less positive experiences with the concerned department head to avoid any of this happening again in the future.

I do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Algamar Idris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

I booked this hotel because my boss REALLY dislike smoke, stucked in traffic jam and dodgy kind of hotel. We were there for an expo that was held in JIExpo. Boss was satisfied with the size of the room, the cleanliness and the breakfast that they served. We stayed at the top floor so we can choose two venues to have breakfast.

We have NOT even met a staff that was working there behaving unpleasantly. We were very lucky as all treated us with smiles and good day greeting.

I love the wide selection of food, drinks and even fruits!! The passion fruits were fresh and sweet. The breakfast spreads from western, indonesian, chinese (congee), kids with various cereal choices plus milk choices too!!

I had the chance to try out their spa and the saloon. The spa area's carpet should be changed or at least be better taken care off with proper vacuum. The massage room was quite small and a bit stuffy as the air-conditioner cool air was hardly felt (in my lame opinion). The lady who massaged me has good techniques.

The saloon's condition was just alright. I did a cream bath hair treatment. It was good. Though I have experienced better.

Room Tip: Stay at the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurtleFan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, General Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear TurtleFan4,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our team, about the breakfast and the spa. We are very excited to hear that you and your boss had a great time while staying at our hotel and we do hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Algamar Idris,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I'm a travel agent who tried to call the hotel several times to make modifications regarding one reservation that was made through our MUTUAL CUSTOMER. The person at the front desk who received my call just transferred me to the reservation department without any warning or without asking my concern. The reservation agent hung-up on me several times as well as the person at the frontdesk. I was very disappointed on how they treat me especially, the customer when I tried to make a conference call. These staffs should be trained properly to VALUE their customers, considering you're claiming that you're a five star hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank shi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Shi S,

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor with regards to your experience at our hotel. I was very concerned to learn about the difficulties you had.

Therefore I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and I can assure you that I have personally shared your comments with the related department heads for further investigation and improvement.

Once again, I sincerely apologize and I do hope that this experience would not diminish the good image of our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Algamar Idris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I was mis-led by the picture of the hotel on their domain website. The rooms are old and falling apart. The lobby and lounge is infested with mosquitoes day and night. The rooms have awful smell and British style toilets for hot and cold taps and mix them yourself water. Very inconvenient hotel in terms of location, no shopping, no grocery stores nearby and worst no sim cards available for sale. I was stranded for 5 days at this hotel as I have pre-booked all of my meetings and I could not change them at the last minute. Not money's worth. It used to be Sheraton Media until Feb 2013 when Sheraton decided not to renew their contract as the hotel is falling apart from the inside. Not worth even a 3-star standard hotel. Not recommend anyone to stay here and experience what I experienced here. Awful hotel, awful services and awful smell in the rooms and corridor. Don't bother, there is a swiss hotel opposite it and a Novotel just few mins drive from this hotel on Mangadua mall, these two hotels, I have seen their room and they are worth their money and pure business hotel, convenient and lots to eat around....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Similar to many I found the initial impression good but it does not stand up - its tired and it shows. showers and taps old and not efficient - good luck getting the right temp.The coffee machine looked new but tended to leak and the coffee was not as fine as expected. The chocs and piece of fruit that I ate on the first day were never replaced. Yes the pool was small but the staff were always friendly.
On the plus side security is very good and the hotel is very family friendly at the weekends the bar in the lobby was cleared in the day to become a children's play area, and there were lots of local families about. The"breeze" bar had a buffet which was poor at Rp 200,000 per person and morning service was so slow I had to leave before my egg arrived( so who came first?) and the lounge bar staff had no idea about cocktail and the g&t was very short on the g.Thai restaurant was excellent - had two fine meals and watched the fish in the pool outside.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, General Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Steve361,

Thank you very much for taking to time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor.

We are training our staff to bring a consistently higher level of service. Therefore we are grateful to hear your feedback. I will definitely share your less positive experiences with the concerned department heads to avoid any of this happening again in the future.

On the other hand we are delighted to hear about your experience in Sukhothai Restaurant and in the Oasis Lounge. Your positive experiences will also be shared with the persons concerned. I am sure this will give them a boost of motivation to keep on going with their good work.

Please do except our apologies for the inconvenient experiences during your stay. I will assure you that we will take your feedback seriously and that we will work on further increasing the quality of our product.

I do hope to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Algamar Idris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The first impression when entering the room was a memory of my first trip to Singapore, staying in the then Sheraton (its now a condominium); i.e. Media Hotel&Towers was originally developed under Sheraton - and the rooms reflect the Sheraton design.
Actually, the room interior looks a bit old - but it is fully functional and you would not miss anything. The usual amenities for a 5 star hotel are available in the room as well as in the bathroom - if they do renovate, they should consider to replace the bath tub with a shower, though. The location is 5 to 10 minutes by taxi to the Expo and about 30 to 45 minutes to the airport. Despite the heavy traffic (the usual Jakarta problem) the rooms are quiet and offer decent sleep quality.
The coffee house ay the 6. floor offers breakfast, lunch and dinner - and also has outside seating at the pool side. Besides the coffee house there are a few restaurants (THai, Chinese etc) as well as some bars and lounges distributed on different floors.
The breakfast spread is fantastic, extra wishes will be fulfilled on the dot - and they serve freshly brewed coffee for breakfast - which is a plus!
Staff is great, service is excellent, whatever you need, they will try to accommodate your wishes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PetalingJayaHans47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, General Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear PetalingJayaHans47,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience online!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in The Media Hotel & Towers for your next stay in North Jakarta.

Kind Regards,
Mr. Algamar Idris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

I'm sure this place was above average many years ago, but now it's looking and feeling its age. It could really use a makeover.

The staff was friendly and courteous enough. The room was clean, but not exceptionally so, for the price it was not bad. I will probably try somewhere different on my next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyrerubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Media-Hotel, General Manager at The Media Hotel And Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Tyrerubber,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Media Hotel & Towers. We believe that your comments will help us to upgrade the quality of our service.

We strive to maintain a high level of service, so I am pleased to hear your positive comment about our staff. Regarding your comment about the look and feel of our hotel I would like to let you know that we are working hard to increase our guest’s experience. Some renovations are already done, but others are still on process or on the planning to be done soon.

I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and please do not hesitate to contact me for assistance.

Best Regards,
Algamar Idris
General Manager
THE MEDIA HOTEL&TOWERS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Sawah Besar
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
#113 of 469 in Jakarta
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
Orchardz Hotel Industri
Orchardz Hotel Industri
#172 of 469 in Jakarta
146 reviews
Best Western Plus Kemayoran
#151 of 469 in Jakarta
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Media Hotel And Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Media Hotel And Towers

Address: Jl. Gunung Sahari Raya 3, Jakarta 10720, Indonesia (Formerly Sheraton Media Hotel And Towers)
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#95 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: £28 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Media Hotel And Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Media Hotel & Towers is one of the major recognized international branded hotels in the North Jakarta area accommodating a mix of domestic and international business coming to Jakarta. Strategically located to the Mangga Dua World Trade Center (the largest retail shop in Southeast Asia), the hotel provides delegates easy access to the Jakarta International Expos (the largest exhibition hall in Indonesia) and direct access to International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Media Hotel And Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Media Hotel
Sheraton Jakarta
Jakarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing