We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where my soul feels at home...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dharmawangsa Jakarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
Ranked #18 of 454 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Where my soul feels at home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The smell of jasmine and the chocolate martinis! It is the purest luxury at its best. It also has a good Sunday brunch. The rooms are lovely, I've never had a bad experience at the hotel. I used to leave close by and we always laughed that even the parking lots smells like jasmine!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NatSarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    62
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
37
48
35
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is an excellent hotel with great facilities. The swimming pool was beautiful. On a negative note, the French restaurant is over-rated and over-priced. The food was OK but definitelly not worth the price. I ate mostly in the coffee shop which was fine. Service all around the hotel is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cairokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed at the Dharmawangsa for 8 days on a business trip to Jakarta. It was a great expereince and quite a welcome break from the typical and anonymous 5-star hotels that you find everywhere. I enjoyed its imposing yet charming premises, the quietness of its location while a few minutes from the buzz of the city and its excellent quality of service. It has wonderful classic decoration based on local materials and style, pushed to an utmost level of taste and distinction. The rooms are very large and extremely comfortable. Staff was so responsive that they managed to retrieve within the hour the blackberry I had inadvertently left in a taxi...The buffet breakfast should just be improved a little to be at the same level as the rest.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 28970Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on business—an absolutely first-class experience from beginning to end. Every great thing I’ve ever loved about previous 5-star hotel experiences was present at Dharmawangsa, but with just a touch more elegance.

The check-in was smooth as clockwork. The staff were always respectful and courteous, and somehow managed to remember my name after the first day. I dined in the “Jakarta” restaurant a few times for dinner and visited the breakfast buffet too—I also ordered room service for lunch and dinner. Everything I ate was delicious.

The room itself is simply superb—luxuriously appointed, well-kept, comfortable and massive. The bath-tub must be bespoke as I’ve never seen a tub so deep. It felt less like a hotel-room and more like the guest wing of lavish old mansion.

Basically, you could tell that this hotel strives for perfection in every tiny detail. If I’m being really honest, some things were not perfect e.g. one room-service order was mixed-up a little, and there was some confusion when I booked a car. But these tiny blips were handled so graciously and thoughtfully—I could tell the staff was more upset about these errors than I! The next evening when I ordered room-service the butler said “I can assure you sir, we will get your order right tonight”. And that is the sign of a truly great hotel, wholly dedicated to delighting the guest.

I hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manasicaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Came here for meeting and was impressed by the warm and helpful staff. The atmosphere was so Indonesia. I never smell of the wood can so comfy as The Dharmawangsa has. The design of the room looks amazing. Very recommend to stay or have activities here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank achyari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I was working with 5 stars hotels, have visited and stay at 5 starts hotels... I was always so fussy when its about a great service since i was once one of them and i believe that in the past i have gave the best service for my guests. Guess what : during my stay in dharmawangsa last november, i am not as fussy as i used to... As a matter of fact, they gave an excellent service here in dharmawangsa. The personal butler assisting my room is a very friendly lady. She is attentive but not too much. So she does not make me annoyed. And everytime she offer me her help, it came so sincere. The banquet staff and the sriwijaya rest staff is also so great in helping me making the event successfull. As for the room, Oh my God... The room are really well design, especially for the bathroom. Its big and beautiful. And the most favorite thing i love abouth dharmawangsa is their food... Superb. And i am loving the potato chips...

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Murisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

My stay was literally overnight - checking in at 1900h and out at 0800h the next day - so my review is limited. Check-in was fast.
My executive room was made large by the size of the large bathroom. Its an elegant room. Whats noticeable is the lack of technology upgrades - the TV has the old small screen; there are few electrical ports and badly located; lighting switches are poorly located; hairdryer is weak.
Breakfast buffet had a great selection and the ambiance was elegant
If they ever "makeover" this property, it will be restored as the best in town as it is showing its age

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 454 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 454 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Melia Jakarta
#14 of 454 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dharmawangsa Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dharmawangsa Jakarta

Property: The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
Address: Jln. Brawijaya Raya 26, Jakarta 12160, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Kebayoran Baru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#11 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dharmawangsa Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta, a luxurious 5-star hotel, is set in a peaceful prestigious oasis of serenity and timeless architectural design which exemplifies the Indonesian aspiration to be thoroughly modern yet distinct at the same time. You will discover our luxurious 100-rooms hotel, set on a 4.2 hectares of land, located strategically in an upscale leafy area in Kebayoran Baru, South Jakarta. It is 5 km to the Central Business District, the nearest five-star hotel from the new Central Business District (TB Simatupang), and 35 km from the Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Dharmawangsa Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dharmawangsa Hotel Jakarta
Dharmawangsa Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing