We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply excellent.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dharmawangsa Jakarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
Ranked #14 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

fantastic, charming , but also functional , cozy , and customer-friendly (yes this is the place where all the elements of the design were prepared to serve the person who is staying there . i mean the hotel room so well organized and equipped.). Ideal place after noisy streets of Jakarta. and also exotic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    62
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
37
47
35
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Well appointed facility, located in a quiet residential area that is a far cry from the usual crowded streets bumper to bumper with traffic. Since it is in a quieter area it is far from most businesses and so takes a considerable time to get anywhere. Grounds are beautiful. Rooms are large and well appointed. Food was superb-I had some of the best lamb chops ever. Very personal service with a delegated valet that answers calls day or night. You can go jogging around the outside of the facility as it is sidewalked, however the surrounding streets are not and so maybe unsafe sharing the road with the vehicles.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ralph r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Jakarta is the type of city in my view, where leaving it behind is it's biggest pleasure, unless you're fortunate enough to be able to retreat to this jewel of a Hotel. Its location is in an unlikely elegant area of this uncomfortable city and offers a wonderful day ending array of places to have a sundowner before a very decent meal in one of the food options.

The staff are fabulous and felt to us like friends we'd not seen in a while.

In the unlikely event that we ever return this will be our "home".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My stay at the Dharmawangsa for one night was a huge contrast to the 3 hour traffic jam we were caught in. All my frustration and tiredness immediately faded away as I checked in and was shown to my room, which was upgraded to a suite. The rooms are gorgeous! Nice bed, clean bathroom and decor.

The staff are very attentive and offer a welcome drink and fruits once you are settled in the room. You can also request for a wake-up call the next morning with coffee/tea delivered to your room. Bliss!

Breakfast is a tremendous selection of local and international cuisine. Be sure to go down with an empty stomach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisenah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

In many ways this property reminds me of The Shukhothai in Bangkok, both in terms of being true to local culture as well as the attention to detail in the highly-bespoke level of service and product offered. The rooms are truly spectacular; spacious, bright, high-ceilings, airy, comfortable and the bathrooms are simply opulent. Although it may be a small detail for some, having a room with adjustable air-con that makes no noise at all, combined with a medium-to-firm mattress and not too heavy duvet translated to a perfect nights' sleep for me. Room service offerings were fresh and piping hot when they arrived, presented in a way that made you feel like you were sitting down to eat at a top restaurant not at the work-desk in your room! The butler service is a unique touch but one that I found too awkward to take advantage of. The staff are impeccably trained and despite the many different cultures they come into contact with each day as I sat and observed while waiting for colleagues each morning and evening it was a pleasure to see how they managed to deal with each and every foible seamlessly. The gym is one of the most modern I have seen of late, over-looking the gardens and pool area - which by the way is an oasis in the middle of a very crazy city. The level of security is also reassuring. When all of this comes together at the extremely reasonable room rates on offer it really does feel like real luxury. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms with views over the pool and garden areas are even more spectacular that others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuxeTravelerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

If you are looking for something different from a typical hotel in any megapolis, then The Dharmawangsa should be on that very small list. Located in South Jakarta smack in a lovely green lined residential neighborhood, the hotel blends perfectly with its surroundings so that you feel that you are staying in a rather large stately home versus a run of the mill hotel. To me, it felt that I was coming home each day. Granted I was upgraded to a massive Dharmawangsa Suite and you had access to butler service 24/7, but it is the little things that always distinguish a good hotel from a fantastic one. Service here is superb and the staff are ever so willing to help you. They are always in the background but will spring into action when called upon. I had my morning breakfasts at their in-house lobby restaurant which had a great International selection catering to all tastes - I do however recommend their Indonesian corner which changes daily and offers an array of regional Indonesian delicacies from the vast archipelago.
Keep in mind that the hotel is in a residential neighborhood and not in the city centre, but what many do not realize is that the hip enclave of Kemang is just a 8 minute walk away (you need to take a shortcut through the neighborhood, but the concierge will gladly point the way - the hotel will recommend that you take a taxi, but seriously the walk is much faster). Kemang is filled with may fantastic F&B offerings along with some great shops selling furniture, antiques, clothes, books, art and the like. A great supermarket catering to Expats is also found here called Kem Chicks which incidentally also houses their restaurant "Bob's". If you cant stomach the 8 minute walk, then alternatively there is a small mall called Dharmawangsa Square which is just round the corner from the hotel and has a nice supermarket and a few restaurants, but that's really about all there is there.
The ride from the airport takes roughly 45 minutes (depending on the traffic situation which is horrendous in Jakarta - so beware!) and do use the Siverbird taxi service which is very reasonably priced, uses new a Mercedes fleet and can provide receipts on request if you're on your business trip. The hotel can arrange this and costs IDR320,000 (roughly USD28).
The Dharmawangsa is certainly a fantastic find and should be at the top of your list!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doobaz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

After a reasonably grueling tour through Middle East and other SE Asian countries we ended up here for the last leg of our journey.
Such a peaceful, restful atmosphere with very attentive staff and great rooms in a relatively quiet street in what appears to be an upmarket residential suburb.
Great wifi connection / speed with each room having its own router !
So relaxing we both would have liked to stay longer.
Thoroughly recommend it to all for a peaceful haven away from ( but no too far ) from the hustle of Jakarta business districts. From the clientele, I judge many senior executives are put here when visiting form out of town.
Will go back there when next visiting Jakarta.

Room Tip: Ask for ones facing the pool to have the quietest, as opposed to the road where the occasional motor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWalesDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 453 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Jakarta
#7 of 453 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dharmawangsa Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dharmawangsa Jakarta

Property: The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
Address: Jln. Brawijaya Raya 26, Jakarta 12160, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Kebayoran Baru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#11 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#13 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dharmawangsa Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta, a luxurious 5-star hotel, is set in a peaceful prestigious oasis of serenity and timeless architectural design which exemplifies the Indonesian aspiration to be thoroughly modern yet distinct at the same time. You will discover our luxurious 100-rooms hotel, set on a 4.2 hectares of land, located strategically in an upscale leafy area in Kebayoran Baru, South Jakarta. It is 5 km to the Central Business District, the nearest five-star hotel from the new Central Business District (TB Simatupang), and 35 km from the Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Dharmawangsa Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dharmawangsa Hotel Jakarta
Dharmawangsa Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing