We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dharmawangsa Jakarta
Nearby Hotels
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
US$51
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$124
US$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gran Melia Jakarta(Jakarta)
US$111
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
355
72
23
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
72
23
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate martinibutler servicefresh jasminefamous chocolatesenior executive roomnasi liwetlarge balconysquash courtindonesian touchindoor poolindonesian culturebeautiful hotelhectic cityrooms are hugehigh quality servicefavorite hotelkemang area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Dharmawangsa is an oasis of luxury and calm in an otherwise chaotic and traffic-choked city. Located in the leafy suburbs of South Jakarta but within nearly walking distance to the popular Kemang neighborhood and a not too horrid drive to central business and shopping areas in the South Jakarta area. It is quiet and serene and beautifully decorated and appointed throughout.

The executive rooms are huge and well laid out. The bathrooms have a separate large tub and walk-in shower along with his and hers sinks. You also get a personal butler service that is very handy and will do his best to cater to whatever need you may have. Every time I have stayed here I have experienced nothing but excellent service from every single staff I have encountered, and that includes the airport handlers who greet you at the gate and escort you through immigration and customs (if you elect to purchase the hotel's airport pick up service).

The breakfast buffet is expansive and includes a variety of Western, local, and Asian dishes. They have a large and well-equipped gym, although some of the equipment is a bit dated. They have an outdoor and indoor pool and while I haven't used their spa services I have heard they are excellent.

The beds are large and comfortable and I always sleep well here. The on-site Jakarta restaurant is very good and I have ordered room service as well which is same as the restaurant.

This is a true 5-star luxury hotel with beautiful accommodations and decor and I cannot recommend it highly enough. One of my favorite hotels in all of Asia, I have stayed here 4 times on business. If you have business in Northern or Eastern Jakarta probably not the most convenient place to stay. But provided your business is in South or Central Jakarta this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank swizstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is an oasis of calm and wonderful service in a hectic City.

The executive rooms are palatial, and have everything you could desire, including His and Her basins etc etc and a wonderful walk in shower, as well as a bath.

The personal butler service is delightful - so very friendly are the staff.

It was Ramadan when I was there, and theevening buffet in the main restaurant was superb, especially for the variety of choice.

The swimming pool area is quiet and relaxing, again in this oasis of calm. Perhaps the only comment is that the spa is very tired and old-fashioned - I think it needs a face-lift more than the customers!

But overall, a wonderful hotel for Jakarta.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian_do_Guincho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Jakarta has a plethora of luxury hotels, many of which are the well known 4 and 5 star chains that tend to be reliable. You have 2 Ritz Carltons, Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, etc. The list is long, but most are luxury business hotels because Jakarta is just not a resort type of place. It is all about business in Jakarta. One possible exception is the Dharmawangsa, which is a boutique (100 room) oasis of tradition that makes you feel that you are on Bali. The hotel is a bit dated, but very traditional and offers great service. Definitely worth a try!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YuriVanetik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We've long wanted to try out this hotel because I've been hearing so many rave reviews about it. This is definitely a five-star hotel so one should prepare to spend big bucks for a stay here. Five star service- very welcoming, friendly and efficient, they even allowed us to have a late check out. Five star room- very classy and oh so spacious. Has it's own terrace, the bathroom so huge you can go ballroom dancing in it! They have free WIFI (a must for me). The TV is too small for the size of the room, though. Five star ambience- it was so quiet and relaxing, not too many people roaming about. If you're looking for action, you won't find it here. But it's perfect for couples wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of daily living. We had dinner at Jakarta restaurant and we had after dinner drinks at the library themed lounge. Tried their signature Chocolate Martini- didn't like it that much, guess it's an acquired taste. One thing that is not five star quality is their breakfast buffet spread- not so much choices, viands were displayed in very small amounts, taste just average. Hope they can improve their breakfast spread. Aside from that, definitely a must try if you have money to burn....

Room Tip: Choose a room with the terrace overlooking the pool area
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed for 8 nights, in a duplex suite. Had several meals here (incl. breakfast, lunch, & dinner), and used both the indoor & outdoor pools, as well as the gym.

The ambience is wonderful. Very refined, but also quite intimate. I loved the library bar, as well as the gamelan players in the atrium...

Service exquisite: both efficient and friendly.

Great facilities. The outdoor pool is very scenic, and always open. The indoor pool and gym have great views onto the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florentine_Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews