We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality in a Grand Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Ranked #16 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality in a Grand Luxury Hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed after Christmas and before New Year Eve with my twin kids.

Arranged for a limousine pick up, but didn't know what happen that they forgot to put it under their system, so we were put to a Mercedes taxi instead. I felt very angry as my kids were all tired from the long flight and because I had told them that I had arranged a pick up so we didn't have to go by taxi.
They apologized for the inconveniences and sent to our room upon check in a complimentary plate of chocolates and letter from the Management.
They also sent us some kids puzzles and toys for them to play with as the reservation when we made the call mentioned that there will be kids club, but the fact was that the kids club only available during Xmas and NY only. So, two thumbs up for the fast "sales recovery" for Shangrila Jakarta :)

After that few hick ups on the first few hours upon arrival, everything ran smoothly.
The hotel is located very strategically, at the heart of the city. Hence, travelling by taxi would only take a few minutes.
The hotel is a truly grand luxury one. We could feel the good taste of chosen furniture from the shiny marbled floor to the high ceiling of the hotel lobby, and the decorative wallpaper and auto operated by remote curtains, lights, etc in the Executive room we stayed in.

My kids loved the large bathroom, and the super king size bed.
We had great buffet dinner with sumptuous and wide selections including the chocolate fountain and ice cream for the kids for the dessert.

Upon check out time, the management in suits gathered at the lobby to bid their guests including us goodbye. That's a nice gesture from them considering not too many hotel do that.
Overall stay experience is GREAT.

Room Tip: Executive room is definitely the choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iraSmurA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear iraSmurA,

First and foremost I would like to thank you very much for your patronage at the Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta and for taking your precious time to share your experience here. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards.

It is thoroughly appreciated that you found our overall products and services excellent during your recent stay. I am more than glad to share your compliments with our team members who will be delighted to be recognized in such friendly manner. I also took notice of service failures you identified and corrective actions have been taken to address them and avoid future re-occurrence.

It is our privilege to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Juergen Doerr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    403
    81
    31
    16
See reviews for
196
113
95
913
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The variety of food in the morning time is brilliant. It offers almost all of the ASEAN, India, and western styles. The room is clean and garden inside the hotel are all well managed. A good hotel for both business traveller and holiday as well.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jtc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed at the Shangri-La for 11 days and it was fantastic, not only is their restaurant the best Buffet in Jakarta the staff was so friendly, caring, and ensured that our comfort came first.
The wifi was very fast, the food was great, gym was excellent, and the laundry services were quick and good.

And the location is prime, despite the traffic the hotel is close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoZanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Living in the Big Durian can be thrilling as it can be challenging, a stay at the Shangri-La was the perfect break from the routine for our family of four. Our two young boys loved the pool and had a blast with the weekend kid activities. We personally enjoyed the elegant yet simple atmosphere, the superb service and the wonderful food. Make sure you check out all the great restaurants. B.A.T.S. is famous for having "the best burger" in Jakarta, the Japanese restaurant has amazing fresh sashimi and brunch at Rosso is to die for! All around a great experience.

Room Tip: If cigarette smoke bothers you make sure you let hem know at check-in to not put you in a smoking fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaGabyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear AnaGabyT,

First and foremost I would like to thank you very much for your patronage at the Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta and for taking your precious time to share your experience here. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously improve our standards.

It is thoroughly appreciated that you found our overall products and services excellent during your recent stay. It is our privilege to be of service to you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Juergen Doerr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We got a good Quality there. This was a Businesstrip to Jakarta. As it already have been recommended to me from other Businesspartners, i did went into this Hotel and i can say, that it was a good Choice. It have a nice and cosy Design - i liked it. Top friendly Service there. Staff did speak good english and also they gave me few good Recommendation for some typical Restaurants in that Area. Also in that Area have been few very good Shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthWestBean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear SouthWestBean2,

We appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience regarding your stay. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your time with us and happy to learn that our service has lived up to your expectation.

Your feedback is always important to us in improving our services here at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Juergen Doerr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Was offered a free stay in this hotel arranged by customer and the overall experience is satisfying...but having known that this is a international chain of 5 star hotel, i believe some works can be placed into upgrading the room's renovations

I actually suggest the hotel to replace some old furniture with some new modernized types as i can see some furniture aged at least 5-10 years

Anyway that is the only concern i have as i felt the breakfast, staff service as well as the comfort level of the room are all in good quality

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BC Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear BC Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Juergen Doerr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Shangri La Jakarta, like the rest of the brand across asia, provides a comfortable, consistent, and most importantly a personal environment for it's guests. From the minute I walk in the door, until my check out, EVERY SINGLE EMPLOYEE I encounter has a warm and friendly smile, and willingness to ensure my comfort, and always has time to attend to my requests.

Sure, the property may be surrounded by some less than spectacular scenery, however, the grounds are well kept, lush, and can be considered an in city escape from the traffic, motor bikes, and general congestion of the Jakarta roadways.

As always, my room was clean, well provisioned, comfortable. Maybe Shangri La is not everyone's taste for design and decor (including my own styles) but they maintain their rooms in tip-top condition! I think my only gripe with my last stay was my walk in shower. There is NO problem with the water pressure, in fact it was almost too much too handle!

The hotel is so close to Grand Indonesia, Plaza Indonesia, and for the more adventurous to Thamrin City. Of course, you have to tackle the traffic out front, but the Hotel Security/Guard staff will help get you into the "macet" with ease!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the River/Grand Indonesia Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear John H,

It was a pleasure to read your comments regarding your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality and that our staffs made sure you were in good care during your stay with us. Your feedback is always important to us in order to improve our services here at Shangri-La Jakarta.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Jakarta in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Juergen Doerr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#7 of 465 in Jakarta
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 465 in Jakarta
420 reviews
Menteng
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
#18 of 465 in Jakarta
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Address: Jl Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of best in the category of Luxury Hotels by 2012 Trip Advisor's Travelers Choice Award, Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta is strategically located in the centre of Jakarta’s Sudirman business district. The hotel is an established luxurious oasis that offers easy access to the very best of Jakarta, easily accessed within 45 minutes away from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The hotel comprises 661 guest rooms, including 40 suites, 118 Horizon Club rooms and 60 interconnecting rooms.All rooms give an access to spectacular city views.Embark upon an international culinary adventure at SATOO’s open-kitchen buffet, savour the stylish Italian dishes at Rosso or taste authentic Cantonese cuisine at Shang Palace. Sample sushi and Japanese flavours at Nishimura or indulge in New York-style oversized steaks, pizza and burgers at B.A.T.S.Get toned and energised in our fully equipped state-of-the-art fitness centre, which hosts the highest standard facilities, from the latest high-tech exercise equipment, a multi-purpose workout studio and a convenient lounge bar to the outdoor tennis courts and swimming pool surrounded by a lush garden oasis. Featuring one of the most luxurious private spas in the city, the spa facilities at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri La Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing