We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Ranked #13 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Barueri, SP
Level Contributor
194 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing!!! They have great rooms, very clean and staff are nice.
The gym is great, very modern, clean.
The spa is great with good prices.
The breakfast is AMAZING!!! I just love all the food options.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    399
    79
    31
    17
See reviews for
193
113
94
902
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A very good hotel for a comfortable stay. The location is convenient and service is excellent. Food is good and rooms are big. Though I had stayed there only for one night, I enjoyed the stay and would not mind staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel makes coming to Jakarta a lot easier. After a long day in the crazy traffic when you walk through the doors you are transported to heaven. It is now time to relax :-) I stayed here for a few days in June and will only use this hotel whenever I am in Jakarta. The rooms are fantastic, the service and staff are perfect and the bars and restaurants are top notch. The pool is really nice as well. It is very surreal sitting in the pool at sunset, cold beer in hand listening to the call to prayer from the local Mosque while bats are diving into the pool for a drink of water.. Highly recommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smccor_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have not stayed at the the Shangri-La Jakarta before but will be back. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the facilities were functional and solid. We had a group of 8 from 2 companies and 6 with 5 different nationalities. We were doing site visits across Jakarta and the Shangri-La was a great base for breakfast and dinner catch up. A great setting and everyone had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A treat in the madness of the great city that Jakarta is. Retains its old charm yet feels modern and coupled with the exceptional ShangraLa service they really do make you feel at home. I love staying here when in Jakarta, one of the hotels on our corporate travel list that gets me excited about my business trip. The rooms are lovely, and the satay in the restaurant is amazing....try it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Everytime I want to make a dining reservation, I have to call 3-5 times for someone to answer, and not in very well manner as 5 stars standard. By the time we reached satoo resto, we requested a baby chair. The lady said she will get one and 15 minutes later I was still standing carrying my baby. And only the 3rd waiter came to get us the baby chair. No one has offered the drink menu. The most ridiculous is children above 2 years old pay for a buffet! It does not happen in
any other restaurant.
As for the kids playground, dirty ... Sorry to say, the toys seem they got it from charity, never been washed. Everything are just dirty, no one seems to care to clean or wipe the toys or jumping balloon. The only clean thing in the kids area is the pony horse, the only person smile is the guy holding the pony. The rest of the staffs needs to be trained properly.

It's a shame for 5 stars hotel with 0 star manner

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chloe_cleopatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLJDMM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Chole_cleopatra,

First and foremost I would like to thank you very much for your patronage at the Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta and for taking your precious time to share your feedback. Your feedback is always important to us in improving our services here at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you encountered with our dining reservation and during your recent visit to SATOO and the Kids Zone. The service shortfall and inconvenience caused are sincerely regretted.

May I request that you contact me at juergen.doerr@shangri-la.com so that I can have the opportunity to discuss the issues further with you.

Sincerely,
Juergen Doerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

From the moment I stepped off the aircraft, my "Shangri La" experience began. The airport staff were outstanding - addressing me by name and walking me to my waiting car. The friendly driver also welcomed me like an old friend.

As we approached the security check at the hotel gate, I was surprised that even the guards addressed me by my name and welcomed me to the property (as they checked the vehicle). This was pretty cool!

Check in was done in my suite and the staff were super personable and warm. It goes without saying that my travel companion was most impressed by the VVIP treatment I received. I'm away from home and my family a lot, so it's refreshing to visit this amazing property because you are treated as family. Always!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank DharpanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#3 of 464 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 464 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Address: Jl Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#13 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of best in the category of Luxury Hotels by 2012 Trip Advisor's Travelers Choice Award, Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta is strategically located in the centre of Jakarta’s Sudirman business district. The hotel is an established luxurious oasis that offers easy access to the very best of Jakarta, easily accessed within 45 minutes away from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The hotel comprises 661 guest rooms, including 40 suites, 118 Horizon Club rooms and 60 interconnecting rooms.All rooms give an access to spectacular city views.Embark upon an international culinary adventure at SATOO’s open-kitchen buffet, savour the stylish Italian dishes at Rosso or taste authentic Cantonese cuisine at Shang Palace. Sample sushi and Japanese flavours at Nishimura or indulge in New York-style oversized steaks, pizza and burgers at B.A.T.S.Get toned and energised in our fully equipped state-of-the-art fitness centre, which hosts the highest standard facilities, from the latest high-tech exercise equipment, a multi-purpose workout studio and a convenient lounge bar to the outdoor tennis courts and swimming pool surrounded by a lush garden oasis. Featuring one of the most luxurious private spas in the city, the spa facilities at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri La Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing