We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this Jakarta?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Ranked #16 of 472 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2009

With Jakarta being what it is its nice to get behind the barricades and relax a little. This hotel is so relaxing for its perimeter security and garden space once inside. The fine dining restaurant is quite over the top in its granduer but perhaps a bit in the kitch side. Stunning matre d, boring grand piano playing, rich cusine, very expensive wines and lots of "sir", "madam".
Way too may hookers in the bars, to the point where it is oppressive and unpleasant to go with my wife.
All in all a grand place, but you'd have to assess it as a well secured target.

Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
Thank KetutSeminyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,299 - 1,305 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2009

This hotel was perfect, the staff, the service, the rooms and the restaurants. the pool was an oasis and the spa was cheap and good. if you can reserve a room in the horizon level, i would strongly recommend. breakfast is free and you dont have to eat in the concierge lounge. you can go to the buffet downstairs which was great. the pool was the best. everyone was very kind to my kids.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadejoann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 25 May 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 April 2009

THis hotel has a beatiful pool with tropical garden, so you can feel like you are in the resort, but this hotel is located in centre of the city.
The buffe restran is amazing. You can take western, indonesian,chineese, Japanese, food for breakfast every morning. I stayed there almost one month, but I could not cover the all of meals, because of its variety.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bassman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I stayed at Shangri la which is my standard choice for the far east, The hotel location is perfect for business related visit, The hotel in good shape but the rooms are not with new Feng shui designs that you see in all of the shangri la's , the staff are kind of slow and some how unresponssive, I am not sure if this is common among all hotels in jakarta or not, as this was my first visit to jakarta.

Room Service is OK, Lounge as under renovation, so the temporary lounge is some how ok, would I come back again, Probably I will try other of the other top choices before I decide to comeback, but if we dont want to risk it and you are used to shangrila like me, then you wont be fully disappointed its OK or good.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohashem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

The Shangri-La Jakarta is by far the best city hotel I have ever stayed in. I stayed there after one night at the Sheraton Bandara in the fine dining restaurant because of a flight delay which you can read about on the Sheraton Bandara page which is the 66th hotel out of 126 hotels in Jakarta. This hotel was so much nicer than the Sheraton.

Pros:

The first thing one would mention about this place is the amazing food. Not only did the amazing all day buffet restaurant SATTOO have high quality food and a modern restaurant ambience it also had a very, very wide range of cuisines to try. I always left with a full stomach feeling very fortunate to be able to experience such a meal. The pool was a very inviting lagoon pool with a bridge and water jets surrounded by beautiful trees. At first glance you think you have stepped into a resort when in reality you are in the central business discrict of Jakarta. You can also enjoy delicious food by the pool from the pool bar. Located next to the pool is a nine hole putting green which is a great place to try out your golf skills. The course is also surrounded by shrubs and trees. For nightlife you must try out BATS which is located in the basement and has been a firm favourite for more than a decade. If you are here for a wedding like we were then there is a hall located near to the pool.

Cons:

Not every deluxe hotel has to be perfect and even though this one nearly is there are some parts that might need changing. But the only thing I can mention is that the rooms are slightly dated and there is a mosque next door. Apart from those small points everything here is pitch perfect.

This is a brilliant peice of accomidation for those seeking anything from buisiness to simply a bit of leisure. You must try to stay here because it is so worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSHemshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

Stayed one night on a brief business trip from Bali.

Arrived at Soekarno Hatta International airport (CGK) on Mandala Air, safe and sound.

Elected to not use the hotel's airport transfer service and save money by getting transport at CGK arrivals. Used the service counter of Blue Bird, with a clean and spacious Toyota Kijang Innova for 250,000 direct to the hotel.

The hotel has implemented strict security - the car is checked by sniffers and has a compete under carriage inspection. The process takes about 2 minutes. At the lobby entrance, guests must pass through an airport style metal detector as well.

Check in was effortless. No waiting time. Very efficient.

Room was on a high floor, 29- upgraded to a junior suite, with a small outdoor balcony as well. Room was immaculately clean and all equipment worked.

Ate at Nadaman Japanese restaurant - an excellent restaurant, with authentic flavors of Japan. Also enjoyed some time at BATS (Bar At The Shangri La). Its a very happening place.

The hotel advertises free "broadband" internet in each room. I tested the speed and got about 400-500 kps. Enough to use Skype video and my Slingbox. Not really broadband, but fully adequate and excellent for Indonesia. Note, there is no wireless in the rooms, just wireline internet.

The hotel is located very close to the shopping attractions at Plaza Indonesia, but its location along Jl Karat Pasar Baru Timur can be a bit of a pain as there is always traffic congestion at the messy and bizarre interchange that leads up to Jl Sudiman . Expect to lose 10-15 minutes of time when passing through there.

Check out was fast and efficient. I was asked about 4 times whether I wanted a hotel car to the airport. I elected to just use the regular taxi service - a late model black Blue Bird taxi. Total cost was 150,000 rp, 100,000 less than the limousine on arrival.

Overall the Shangri-La Jakarta delivers on expectations and is an excellent hotel for business or pleasure in central Jakarta. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yamanote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta

Address: Jl. Jend Sudiman Kav. 1 | Kota BNI, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: £109 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 618
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of best in the category of Luxury Hotels by 2012 Trip Advisor's Travelers Choice Award, Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta is strategically located in the centre of Jakarta’s Sudirman business district. The hotel is an established luxurious oasis that offers easy access to the very best of Jakarta, easily accessed within 45 minutes away from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The hotel comprises 661 guest rooms, including 40 suites, 118 Horizon Club rooms and 60 interconnecting rooms.All rooms give an access to spectacular city views.Embark upon an international culinary adventure at SATOO’s open-kitchen buffet, savour the stylish Italian dishes at Rosso or taste authentic Cantonese cuisine at Shang Palace. Sample sushi and Japanese flavours at Nishimura or indulge in New York-style oversized steaks, pizza and burgers at B.A.T.S.Get toned and energised in our fully equipped state-of-the-art fitness centre, which hosts the highest standard facilities, from the latest high-tech exercise equipment, a multi-purpose workout studio and a convenient lounge bar to the outdoor tennis courts and swimming pool surrounded by a lush garden oasis. Featuring one of the most luxurious private spas in the city, the spa facilities at Shangri-La Hotel, Jakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri La Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing