We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Ranked #27 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with great facilities”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A splendid hotel with first class facilities. Room was tasteful, comfortable and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Check in was prompt and check out was efficient. The location is a little away from some business areas - but in a good part of Jakarta, not too far from the airport. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    477
    125
    49
    26
See reviews for
256
129
71
608
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was on my business trip back in Jan 2013

For 2 and half weeks I stayed at Borobudur
The hotel buildings itself reflect its past glory, and the room is clean and comfy
to be straight forward:

Good
+the famed Bogor Cafe, dont ever miss your breakfast at Borobudur's Bogor Cafe, the oxtail soup is absolutely a delight
+although located in central jakarta, the ambiance is good with less noise, especially when take a walk through the gardens

Bad
-the charge on wifi service
-cramped parking area and far from the main building (rather far IMO)
-For the last week of my stay, I moved to the serviced apartment, the alley are old fashioned and kinda creepy, need some refreshment of modern ages

Dont miss your Breakfast at Borobudur :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SigitPra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I prefer staying at chain hotels since I travel a lot and the loyalty programs give me free nights with points accumulated through the year. Here in Jakarta we opted for Borobudur which had a great offer going on but it does not have a loyalty program and the week's stay would end without any points. But it surprised us with the size of the hotel which has tennis courts, restaurants, bar, swimming pool, gardens, shops and the hotel itself is spread over a huge area. The rooms are also big and the staff is very good. The breakfast spread is great and the hotel is close to tourists attractions as well as the Plaza Indonesia mall which is 20mins by taxi. The only problem is the wifi which has to be purchased and works with only 1 device at a time. Hope the management fixes this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALLIGATOR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Attending the World Robot Olympiad 2013 I just stayed 5 nights at this hotel and I now have more than 50 bites from bed bugs on each leg. I just hope I have not brought any with me home :-(

They charge you an outrargeous high price for bottled water and 15$ pr. day for wifi which is very unstable and slow.

Friendly staff and OK restaurants - but I would not stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitterAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel has an exceedingly poor approach to an essential service. Deserves avoiding until free wifi is provided.

I was astounded and shocked to be told that internet is only through cables in the room (are laptops still made with cable connectors any more?), at a charge of US15 per day. Wifi in the lobby lobby, also at a charge of US15 per day. This is the sixth hotel I've stayed at in Jakarta, and all provide free open internet service.

I suspect this reflects the general management approach - every move one makes is logged as a transaction. The room fridge is locked until a credit card deposit is paid. One signs a bill before entering the breakfast. room, etc., etc. It's really not relaxing at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM H, General Manager at Hotel Borobudur Jakarta, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay in Hotel Borobudur Jakarta.

It is unfortunately true that certain room categories do not provide internet free of charge. This has been a requirement from some travel agencies for many years, as otherwise the room rate charged would appear too expensive ( Internet in Indonesia is very expensive ).

Higher room categories doe have internet included free of charge, and with Wi Fi.

That being said, as of next year, Hotel Borobudur Jakarta will have Wi Fi in all guest rooms, free of charge. Obviously the room rate will reflect this.

As to credit card guarantee, I believe this is common practice.

Once again, thank you for your comments,. We look forward to welcoming you in the new year, when internet is indeed free of charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great value considering many parts of the hotels - the corridors and the rooms - were recently refurnished, the huge area includes big swimming pool, tennis courts, jogging tracks, and all, and not a single restaurant there ever failed me. The Sop Buntut is legendary, the Miyama serves excellent tepanyaki, the Bruschetta is traditionally delicious, the Teratai Chinese restaurant is a favorite, and I love having me-time in Churchill Bar.

Location is not too far off the provincial streets. Easy access to Jl. MH Thamrin (then Jl. Jend. Sudirman), Jl. Gunung Sahari to Mangga Dua area (if you happen to have business there), and sites like Istiglal Mosque, The Cathedral, and the Church of Immanuel. Stroll the Passer Baroe market, catch a show in Gedung Kesenian Jakarta, or take a walk to the famous Lapangan Banteng.

This is a very old, and rather old-fashioned hotel. It is not the most luxurious one in the city, but it serves right for my staycation with friends. Service is just right because I'd count my complaints as nitpicks. Nevertheless, to wake up in the morning in the middle of Jakarta and hear birds chirping (I'm not romanticizing! There really were birds chirping!), and jog around a spacious gardens with so many different flowers and trees … that's definitely no other hotels in Jakarta can offer.

Room Tip: Any room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vehandojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

On my first vist to Jakarta this was a wonderful place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the usual Jakarta traffic.

I stayed in a club room on the top floors of the hotel with a club lounge which includes a free bar and snacks (I think every Thursday evening). The "club" had an express check in which seemed to involve 4 very pretty girls who got everythiong confused and managed to send all of us to the wrong rooms (some of my party were smokers and got non smoking rooms, I'm not and got a smoking room) By the time this was all sorted out "express check in" for 4 had taken 45 minutes.

Having said that the staff are charming, the restaurants OK (but not great) with the exception of the club breakfast room (I like a breakfast omlette, I like it even better when it is served to your table) which was excellent.

My main problem was the lack of WiFi. Nowadays it is essential to business travel and a self styled 5 star international hotel should provide it as part of the package, not as a means of extracting more from the guest's wallet

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Merlinthemage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#43 of 464 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#19 of 464 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Tanah Abang
Le Meridien Jakarta
Le Meridien Jakarta
#36 of 464 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Melia Jakarta
#18 of 464 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Alila Jakarta
#28 of 464 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borobudur Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borobudur Jakarta

Property: Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Address: Jln. Lapangan Banteng Selatan | PO Box 1329, Jakarta 10710, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#16 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#22 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#26 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Borobudur Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borobudur is located at Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers fully air-conditioned rooms and suites, all of which have keycard system, socket for shaver, and satellite TV with 57 channels. Some of its amenities include Flores Ballroom, Klub Borobudur, and Spa Borobudur. While staying here, it is a must for you to try the Bruschetta Restaurant, which offers fine Italian cuisine and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borobudur Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Jakarta
Jakarta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing