We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive pool, spacious and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Ranked #34 of 468 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

If you enjoy a good proper swim in the morning or in the evening, this is the hotel to stay. The outdoor pool is very long, about 50 meters or longer; a beauty for swimmers. Furthermore, the does not seem to be ultra popular so you have few people disturbing your swim.
It does also,have a serious park right in front, with a running trail that is quite long, few miles, perfect for joggers, serious joggers. Many people are at the park in the morning but the place is huge so you don't feel the city pressure at all.
Inside the hotel all is good too. The place is a bit old but very well preserved. The rooms are super big, at least mine, with good space and clean. The bed very comfortable and the staff is kind, every one smiles at this hotel, truly great.
As I said, just a bit old and perhaps not exactly located at an interfering spot in town.
Breakfast is not that super great though and the waiters do not assign a table for you when you arrive, which is awkward as you then need to guess which of the empty tables is really empty,...

Room Tip: My room was especially huge as it was a junior suite or something like that. You do get a very ample...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisMiguel808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Borobudur for business for 10 days in early Dec 2013. It is not located in central Jakarta so does not seem to attract the standard international business travelers. However the location is great for walking tours and easy taxi rides to points of interest.
The hotel is a little tired in some areas but clean, comfortable and with friendly and helpful staff. We chose the "Club Discovery" package which includes access to the 18th floor lounge (breakfast, tea & coffee all day, evening drinks and snacks, and great views to the north) and unlimited inroom internet (cable & wifi). My only criticism is that some of the food was not cooked to order and so was a little tired. Of note is that the power points in our rooms use UK plugs. I have my own adapters but I understand they are available free of charge from the hotel.
The pool is huge, gym is large and very well equipped and grounds well maintained. I will be back in Jakarta again in January and will stay at Borobudur.

Room Tip: Check out the Club Discovery option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This hotel is located in the center whit 30 minite by car from the Airport.
they are five restaurants for differents foods: italian,chinese.
The children under 2 years stay free of charge in a crib.
A TV with satellite channels and a minibar verry OK.
an hotel of the TOP in Jakarta!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadiane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel is best for this purpose and for quite weekend, as it isn't located in the city hub. Serene, clean and classy, it has the Javanese ambience, living up to its hotel name. With its big beautiful garden and trees, the walking trails provide ease and great views of it landscape which includes a minature Borobudur Temple. The room lighting though isn't ideal for those who read through the night and the internet connection is to be paid for separately and quite pricey.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeywithme_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed for two nights on business. I hadn't been to Jakarta for a while and was shocked at how high the hotel prices had become. In cities like this I usually choose the older established hotels since these lower their prices in competition. Hotel Borobudur was one such place. I have been travelling long enough to know that this hotel had been one of the most reputable hotels in Jakarta once upon a time and had belonged to an international chain.

The facilities and grounds we fine. The room had good views. There was a robe and bathroom amenities were good. But of course the most appealing feature of the hotel is its low prices. I got a room for less than USD 100/night. It's hard to beat that. If you want more luxury in Jakarta you should be ready to pay for it. The fact that internet only comes via cable I can easily put up with for lower prices.

The breakfast was excellent with good service. The area looks out to a green garden and I also had lunch here. Too bad I didn't have time to have their legendary sop buntut. The location was perfect for me: between Pasar Baru and Sudirman.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel is beautiful and has an old-school atmosphere. It's classy. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the restaurants serve really good food. And internet is fast (paid for though).

However the service level is a total let down.
I'm not a fussy traveler, and I don't expect too much. So to me, in this kind of hotel, the service was totally unacceptable especially for a business guest. In particular:
- Calls down to room service were not answered (I called 3 times in an attempt to order dinner, as no one picked up the calls, gave up).
- Check-in was really poor. The hotel's stipulated check-in time is 2pm, but I did not get my room until about 3.30pm. The check-in officer was doing the best that she could (provided me with temporary wi-fi connection so I could work in the cafe while I waited), so at least that.
- Breakfast was brusque and service non-existent. As you come into the restaurant, you mention your room number and they ask you to sign a chit. Then you are left to find your own table.

Granted I had stayed when the Prime Minister of the Netherlands was also staying - and the hotel was really busy. But for a luxury hotel, that is a poor excuse for other paying customers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PG_Cumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A splendid hotel with first class facilities. Room was tasteful, comfortable and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Check in was prompt and check out was efficient. The location is a little away from some business areas - but in a good part of Jakarta, not too far from the airport. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#49 of 468 in Jakarta
847 reviews
Tanah Abang
Le Meridien Jakarta
Le Meridien Jakarta
#35 of 468 in Jakarta
1,042 reviews
Century Park Hotel
#50 of 468 in Jakarta
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alila Jakarta
#30 of 468 in Jakarta
989 reviews
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta
#129 of 468 in Jakarta
550 reviews
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borobudur Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borobudur Jakarta

Address: Jl. Lapangan Banteng Selatan | PO Box 1329, Jakarta 10710, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#16 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#27 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#31 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: £50 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Borobudur Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borobudur is located at Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers fully air-conditioned rooms and suites, all of which have keycard system, socket for shaver, and satellite TV with 57 channels. Some of its amenities include Flores Ballroom, Klub Borobudur, and Spa Borobudur. While staying here, it is a must for you to try the Bruschetta Restaurant, which offers fine Italian cuisine and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borobudur Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Jakarta
Jakarta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing