We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in Jakarta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Ranked #38 of 471 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just stayed at Hotel Borobudur for a couple of nights, and have to say, it certainly was a pleasant experience.

Situated within walking distance of Monas and around the corner from the Istiqlal Mosque, it was exactly where we wanted to be in Jakarta. The staff were exceptionally helpful; the breakfast buffet was the biggest/widest range of options I've ever had; the swimming pool was great & the park/garden outside was sensational.

The room was a good size, with all the usual facilities, albeit the furniture was a bit dated (but not falling apart).

Overall, I'd say this is a hotel worth staying at if you wanted to put your feet up & look to avoid the craziness of Jakarta.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JuddyOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Borobodur has many things going for it. It's one of the older luxury hotels in Jakarta and is set in lovely extensive gardens. The building has been renovated over the years. The public areas are very nicely decorated and the rooms have also been tastefully modernised. Good comfortable beds, marble bathroom. Samsung flat screen TV with a good choice of channels and good reception. A good desk with international power points and a comfortable chair for the desk as well as a sofa in my room.

The staff are friendly and checkin was easy and simple.

But the hotel is let down, in my view, by little things which prevent it from being a truly five star hotel. Not important to some people, but critical to me. Firstly the wifi internet in the rooms, is now included in the room cost. But it's very flaky, constantly going on and off, especially on my smartphone. Also also there is a need to frequently re-enter your unique log in and password. Why is this necessary. Most other hotels don't have such a complex login system and even cheaper hotels can manage a consistent signal.

Another gripe. Nice beds, but not nice bedding. Plenty of pillows but all thick foam. Not good for those who prefer smaller pillows or feather rather than foam. And the sheets seem to be polyester cotton not pure cotton. So not so comfortable to sleep in and more sweaty. Pure cotton crisp sheets please!

The breakfast is good, but little things could be better. The drinking water could be iced, not lukewarm. The juice could be higher quality not watery. And more attention could be paid to replenishing the bain maries when they empty. I really did appreciate the pork station though. Real bacon.

Unlike many other of Jakarta's better hotels, the Borobodur is not located close to any malls or in walking distance of anything much. But taxis are cheap in Jakarta and a good quality reliable bluebird taxi is relatively easy to get from the hotel to shopping or entertainment.

I really like the Borobodur Hotel, but I hope the management can address a few of the smaller details, so that it can become a truly five star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Oft_travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I booked a premier deluxe double room via booking.com, but instead on check-in was given a superior double room. Since I stayed in premier deluxe double rooms in this hotel three times before I know the difference. It is not acceptable when a hotel provides a lower standard room than one paid for. The bathroom was also substandard, as water leaks out of the shower cubicle onto the bathroom floor and the washbasin plug does not work, with the result that I had to leave the tap running while shaving. This used probably 30 litres of water instead of 4 litres. The towels are old and hard and should be replaced. Bad customer service and lack of maintenance Hotel Borobudur Jakarta!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pjvaardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Secure accommodation with plenty of daily/evening entertainment. Although the decor was luxurious, the carpet and marble tiles were a little tired and could do with a little restoration and Campari to get my five star vote, lol. However, it had the most comfortable bed with spacious living/study area, free wi-fi, and heavenly bathroom. We stayed on the club floor having first class attention for all our needs.

Fabulous interesting decor throughout. Dining halls with food sourced from all over the world, with sumptuous lighting and fabulous pianist/music facilities, something for everyone.

Ideal for family, couples or business. Fab vitual tour on: http://www.hotelborobudur.com/index.php?photo-gallery-hotel-borobudur

Room Tip: Choose club floor, super service and dont forget to get a room with a view, we had one overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stay at one of the apartments located within the hotel premises. What's unique about the hotel is the extensive grounds with a turfed jogging path, huge pool, numerous tennis courts, squash courts, basketball court and even a small soccer field. Bogor, the hotel's flagship resto, is popular for its sup buntut which really is one of the best. The all you can eat dimsum at it's chinese resto every Sunday is must-try.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCASTROPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We dont have a lot of time for honeymoon so we decide to choose borobudur for short escape. We booked executive room at 16th fl. We check in at 18 floor. The room was great but the bathroom too small. the facilities is great. Since we stayed at executive fl, we had coffee and tea at club lounge and at 7pm they served cocktail. The breakfast was fine but still limited for five stars hotel. We can late check out until 4pm and thats great.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yuliana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed during Ramadan for three nights. Wonderful hotel, lovely large pool and grounds to stroll in. Great place to relax in the evening after hectic days sightseeing. Breakfast buffet is a fantastic spread and would suit all tastes. Thoroughly recommend this hotel, and with the Ramadan discount it was excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lovetravel061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#58 of 471 in Jakarta
874 reviews
Tanah Abang
Le Meridien Jakarta
Le Meridien Jakarta
#34 of 471 in Jakarta
1,076 reviews
Century Park Hotel
#50 of 471 in Jakarta
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta
#135 of 471 in Jakarta
558 reviews
Alila Jakarta
#33 of 471 in Jakarta
1,035 reviews
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borobudur Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borobudur Jakarta

Address: Jl. Lapangan Banteng Selatan | PO Box 1329, Jakarta 10710, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Sawah Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#16 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#17 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#30 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#35 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: £47 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Borobudur Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borobudur is located at Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers fully air-conditioned rooms and suites, all of which have keycard system, socket for shaver, and satellite TV with 57 channels. Some of its amenities include Flores Ballroom, Klub Borobudur, and Spa Borobudur. While staying here, it is a must for you to try the Bruschetta Restaurant, which offers fine Italian cuisine and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Borobudur Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Jakarta
Jakarta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing