We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food poisoning possibility + Locked out of room 5 times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Park Lane Jakarta
Ranked #29 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food poisoning possibility + Locked out of room 5 times”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I never expected ever giving any property a one-circle rating. Because I tend to be able to live with tiny flaws here and there. But here it is. (And I haven't even checked out yet.)

But let me mention the plusses to be fair to this 'establishment'.

Plusses
- Big room. Scratched up furniture and funny-smelling toilet, but the room is big.
- A few pleasant smiley staff. Who are genuinely warm.
- Huge buffet although it MAY have caused my food poisoning.
- Big gym, but food poisoning rendered me unable to exercise anyway.
- Nice art pieces in hotel.
- nothing has been stolen from me so far.
- it offers a bath robe.


That's about it.

My grouses - literally GUT WRENCHING issues
You won't believe this place is 5star.
1) My 2 companions and I got bad food poisoning, and we strongly suspect the steak at STIX (in-hotel restaurant & bar) OR the breakfast - caused it, we ate together at every meal. Both of them were vomiting and I had a very upset stomach and diarrhea. We also had body aches and were feverish for a while! As we were here for WORK, you can imagine how disruptive this was. Absolutely horrifying. The front staff did not seem very apologetic (being apologetic does not happen much here) but sent us some fruit (although they later dusted off our claims by saying, MANY other guests have had steak before but NONE got food poisoning). Strange, because I met another guy here who told me he had been having food poisoning too...
2) My magnetic card did not work not one time, but FIVE TIMES within 2 days. I called, I complained in a raised voice, I badgered the front desk staff, but each time I begged for help, all they did was to give me a new card without fixing the REAL PROBLEM – which was that the lock was out of battery......... on the FIFTH TIME they FINALLY SENT 3 engineers to my room to fix it, and it was done in a jiff...... Could they not have fixed the problem earlier instead of assuming "I inserted the card wrongly" even though I had no problems with the card for the last 3 days? You can imagine how infuriating this was.
3) We all received anonymous phone calls that hung up upon hearing my (female) voice. I bet it was a prossie call - but shouldn't the hotel take steps to prevent such vices?
4) Rooms are terribly noisy ... nothing protects you from the rowdy people that seem to inhabit this place. In the morning, at 8 or 9, a laundry boy will come round shouting "LAUNDRY!" and soon after that, the MINI BAR Guy will knock on your door to check on your mini bar. I mean.... even if you leave a 'do not disturb' sign outside your door, you can still hear them shouting at every other door. Now, does that sound like it promotes restfulness in any way?
5) Spa service staff standards are inconsistent. My colleague and I did a body scrub in separate rooms. My masseuse was fine - she did pretty well, except for the fact that even after my bath, i had to lie on a stained, sand-soaked towel. My colleague however, had to lie naked in a cold room without any towel, and she caught a cold because of it. The masseuse also did a half hearted job at massaging, then finished wayy earlier than she should have...
6) There are no convenience stores nor ANYTHING remotely interesting near this hotel. You need to cab it or have your own driver. Room service food is exhorbitant and of course ever since we got poisoned, we refused to eat anything at all made in this hotel.
7) There's a severe lack of attention to detail. Imagine ordering a pot of coffee up to your room and having NO milk whatsoever (no creamer either). Or imagine ordering TOAST and the bread is cold, like it's just out of the fridge..... would you have a pleasant stay?
8) This place is really near the cemetery. My colleague had a room with a full view of the cemetry - and he had problems getting it changed till we called a contact who spoke to the hotel again.
9) No full amenities for lower tier rooms - no toothpaste which i find strange, since any 2 star hotel in Japan would give you toothpaste.
10) We requested for an adaptor on the first day, only to hear "try again tomorrow, we've run out of adaptors".
11) Room service trays you ordered in the morning, are still outside your door at 4pm in the afternoon.
12) When I checked in, my desk light wasn't working. Then the next day, the toilet light was flickering.

Can you believe my ordeal here?!?!?!? seriously, i Swear these things all happened. Having a beer now trying to relax. Could not find another hotel as the SEA games were in full swing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank workawhorlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parklane_jkt, General Manager at The Park Lane Jakarta, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
November 24, 2011

Dear Mr. Tay, Ms. Leow and Ms. Chen,

I realize from the comments posted on Trip Advisor that this has not been an ideal stay for you.

Let me first of all apologize for the problems you have experienced, especially the possibility of food poisoning from eating at Stix.

We certainly take issues such as this seriously and did check not only the meat stock on hand, but also the sauces. I understand you had a pepper based sauce. You mentioned in your comments that it may also have been something you ate from the breakfast buffet. If you have a moment our Chef would like to know what exactly you ate that morning.

We keep minimum stocks of perishable items in order to ensure high turnover and are conscious of the need for strict hygiene practices as we are in the process of gaining HCAAP certification for our various kitchens.

From the report that David, the Stix Supervisor made, he did offer to provide medical attention but this was declined. However, we certainly could have shown more care by following up each day to check on your condition.

We can certainly learn from some of the other comments outlined, especially early morning laundry and minibar staff loudness and how to handle key card issues. We have started a complete room renovation that includes new furniture, new décor, carpet, King Koil bed and flat screen TV but in the mean time will check the furniture in your rooms that require maintenance.

Amenities, such as toothpaste, shavers are on request through Housekeeping as noted in the room directory.

There are no excuses for lights to be missing or room service trays to be left in the corridor for extended periods. However, there has been pressure from a full hotel, due in part to the Sea Games, which made it difficult to change rooms when first requested.

Our Health Club is leased out to Life Spa and I will pass on the feedback regarding the massage experience to their Manager but apologize on their behalf.

Mr. Tay, Ms. Leow and Ms. Chen, we always welcome feedback whether it be positive or negative. I’m only sorry in your case, the negatives far outweighed the positives you mention but I appreciate you bringing them to our attention so we can take the necessary steps to improve our service.

Yours sincerely,
Jon Richards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    240
    53
    14
    6
See reviews for
54
52
54
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I had a decent stay at this generic hotel ,nothing remarkable and slightly pricey for the standard, I found it inconveniently located - even though it advertises itself as close to the golden triangle . Better to get a hotel within walking distance of a mall- because there's little else to do if you don't feel like battling the traffic to get to the scant attractions....otherwise this is a good choice if your'e on business and want something corporate .Good rooms with large bathrooms, a pool and health club on site.

Room Tip: pool view rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archangelosSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed in this hotel in August 2011. Hotel is excellently built with a big swimming pool though not well maintained. Service is excellent and staff very courteous. Hotel is a bit pricey and meant for rich or business travellers. Although its not close to any busy city centres so you have to take taxi for going to these places. Rooms are clean and have a good view of city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulkit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Could be a much better hotel however its reasonably priced and better to be booked at airport on arrival

Room Tip: pool view is too noisy with local mosk
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrgio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I stayed at the 16th Floor - For Business travellers and was quite amazed at the facilities. The room was big, clean and cozy - The types that are charged at least 3 times in other countries. The business facilities and other amenities on the floor were very good. The attendants were courteous, knowledgeable and helpful and thankfully knew english well (Which can be a major issue in Jakarta). The pool was big & well landscaped and the Gym was also very well equipped and good. Didn't get any time but heard that the Spa facilities were excellent aswell! The Club/ Pub in the UGF was a disappointment due to almost zero attendance during weekdays when I was there. Also while it's well located (In peaceful Casablanca), you need to consider the traffic problem due to a couple of new flyovers being constructed on the way from the Golden Triangle Biz District which could make your timings go haywire during Peak Hours. Otherwise Absolutely More Value than your money!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaximusGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel, although slightly long in the tooth, has excellent mattresses and linen giving one a great nights sleep. I usually arrive in Indonesia following a night flight from the west and always look forward to a good refreshing sleep. The breakfast is always first class and for the price is very competitive and in many ways better than other newer 5 star hotels in town. Having used the hotel for almost 8 years now and up to 3 times per year, I would always recommend this hotel for business users.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1businesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is the first time I have stayed at the Park Lane in Jakarta; previously I have stayed at the JW Marriott and the Mulia. The Park Lane may not quite match these hotels in quality terms, but then the room price is a lot less. And, more importantly, this place has a more intimate and homely feel, yet with a strong business focus (as evidenced by the large number of business people staying there).

My room was one of the largest I have stayed in, anywhere. It consisted of a separate office area, which led into the bedroom, with a large bedroom at the back. You could see that the room was a little tired, but everything worked fine (except the A/C, which was not quite able to cool the room to the required 22 degrees centigrade).

Breakfast was really good, with a full buffet on offer. I ate in the same place for dinner one night, and was impressed with the food, although the wine is rather expensive (as I pointed out to the waiter, who was surprized to hear I thought that $12 for a glass of house wine was a little steep). The next night I ate in the bar...

The hotel is located a little out of the main sphere of action, but then nobody actually walks in this city, so it doesn't really make any difference. One thing to note is that there are some major roadworks going on just along the street, so add ten minutes to your drive time when you plan on going anywhere.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Call the hotel after you have made the booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OilRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
The Grove Suites
#36 of 464 in Jakarta
592 reviews
Tanah Abang
Kosenda Hotel
Kosenda Hotel
#20 of 464 in Jakarta
536 reviews
Ascott Jakarta
#39 of 464 in Jakarta
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Melia Jakarta
#21 of 464 in Jakarta
1,087 reviews
Alila Jakarta
#30 of 464 in Jakarta
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Lane Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Lane Jakarta

Property: The Park Lane Jakarta
Address: Kav 18 Kuningan Jln. Casablanca, Jakarta 12870, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#23 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#28 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Park Lane Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Park Lane Jakarta.If you truly appreciate the warmth of a sincere welcome, plus a comfortable room and quality service delivered professionally by friendly, smiling staff, then The Park Lane Jakarta is the place for your stay in the capital.The hotel is located adjacent to one side of the city's "Golden Triangle" central business district, the main business district of Jalan HR Rasuna Said and within a walking distance to superblock Kota Kasablanka Shopping Mall. Easy access from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport, it is only a 40-minute drive to reach the hotel. Hotel Map All of the hotel's 280 rooms, including 36 long-stay residences, are equipped with wired & wifi high-speed internet access.The Park Lane Jakarta is the first five star certified Eco Hotel in Indonesia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Park Lane Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Lane Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Park Lane Hotel Jakarta
Park Lane Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing