We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive yes, good quality...errr not necessarily” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mulia Senayan

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Mulia Senayan
Ranked #11 of 454 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Expensive yes, good quality...errr not necessarily”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

Coming from a egalitarian country where wearing sandals (incl flipflop) is permissible at public domain, including hotel establishments, I found Hotel Mulia's "no-sandal policy" was ridiculous. The hotel management should've informed/ warned hotel guests when the guests made their bookings in order to avoid unnecessary 'unpleasant welcome'.

My partner and I encountered some unpleasant situations:
- I sent my lovely (expensive!) black-and-white winter coat for dry cleaning. Looking at the dry-cleaning price, I was expecting a first class service. I was horribly wrong. My black-and-white winter coat came back as a grey coat. The smell of detergent was very strong - I suspected it was sent to the washing/ laundrying department. I was speechless and regretted (still does!) for sending this piece of wardrobe to Hotel Mulia's dry clean department.
- We turned 'do not disturb' light on because we had so many important documents in our room. One day, we came back from lunch and caught one staff red handed! He was cleaning our bathroom!!
- This one is not really important... but during breakfast time, you have to be ready to 'compete' with other patrons. Local guests love to grab lots and lots of food and many of them didn't even bother to queue. Looking at this hotel nightly rate, I thought these people should have basic manners, but sadly they're not.

The location was good, but having these unpleasant situations, it's extremely difficult for NOT to recommend this hotel.
My Indonesian friends told me that

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarumaDaruma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    474
    127
    35
    36
See reviews for
136
125
141
1,364
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yogya
Level Contributor
505 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

- Location is very strategic, very close to Plaza Senayan where you can find all things that you need (shopping mall, cinema, restaurant, etc)
- The rate includes airport delivery service which help you a lot. Once you landed in airport, somebody is already ready to pick you up to the hotel. The rate also includes breakfast where the variety is really remarkable. There are so many options of break fast provided.
- Hotel room is huge (in European Standard) and basically the interior is very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinoYogya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Started off right. When we checked ini, service was quite fast. Luggages were brought up quite fast.

BEWARE to future hotel guests: this hotel has a no-sandals policy.
My husband and I were trying to go back to our room after we parked the car in the hotel's parking lot. Then, as we walked through the security gate from the parking lot, the security guy literally scolded us for wearing sandals and we were denied entry by the security guy despite us showing our room key. Then, he insisted that it is the hotrl policy. What's more bizzare:
1. The security guy then used his walkie talkie to inform the people inside the hotel, as if, to warn them that we (sandals wearing hotel guests) were going inside. At that moment, we felt like like we were some criminals! How rude!!

2. The security guy warned us to go straight to our room, and not wander around the hotel. The guy even cummunicated it to his colleagues through his walkie talkie, making sure we went straight to our room.

3. When we finally were permitted to go to our room, I reconfirmed the hotel no-sandals policy to the front desk. I was extremely shocked to find that their response was they provide SANDALS that I could borrow. Huh?! Didnt they just tell me that they have no-sandals policy?!

My husband and I travel extensively and have never encountered such policy, even more humiliated.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlovePatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

This is a great hotel for business travellers who just needs everything to be convenient and hassle-free. Service desk always answers calls promptly when calling from the room, fast room service, excellent food, comfortable furnishings, and staff are helpful and approachable. My main (perhaps only) complaint is that the rooms are generally far too cold - even when the air-cond is generally turned off, ventilation alone (when you're not in the room) gets it cold again in no time, no mean feat in such a hot country.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daengkirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

There is nothing I dislike about this hotel. All is nice. The restaurant available there, the facility, the room and everything is very nice. It also has a huge ballroom which the kitchen provides very nice Peking Duck. If I come to Jakarta and have to choose a hotel. definetly this hotel will be my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryfrends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

On a recent stay, everything was excellent. The hotel is a little out of the way, especially during Jakarta rush hour traffic. It can take an extra 45 minutes to get to your destination from the Mulia.
Also, I had 3 free articles of clothing washed per day, but when I checked out there were fees for this service (not for actually doing the laundry) but fees that were about 2.5 US dollars per day per article of clothing...not good. Lastly, the beer at the premium bar was Bintang and one European Beer (Ok, but I would like more choice).

Worth the money.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sclotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Great service and rooms. Relatively expensive but still great value for money. Nightclub downstairs is lively.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqtravellerBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Fairmont Jakarta
#7 of 454 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 454 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
#10 of 454 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulia Senayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulia Senayan

Property: Hotel Mulia Senayan
Address: Jln. Asia Afrika, Jakarta 10270, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mulia Senayan 5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jakarta, the five-star, 40-storey Hotel Mulia Senayan boasts 839 tastefully decorated and well-appointed rooms and suites to satisfy the needs of both the business and leisure traveler alike. The hotel commands unobstructed views of 18-hole. Senayan Golf Course and Jakarta's skyline with easy access from the toll road to Soekarno-Hatta airport which can be reached from the hotel in 25 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel Mulia Senayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulia Senayan Hotel
Mulia Senayan Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing