We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mulia Senayan
Ranked #14 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Mulia is a fantastic hotel in Jakarta. It is super efficient with great service levels. Rooms are spacious,clean and comfortable. The hotel provides good choice of restaurants , including choice of Indian food at the coffee shop. It is excellent choice for a business traveller.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    481
    130
    36
    36
See reviews for
140
128
146
1,397
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
333 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This is a very popular hotel with expats and locals. It's not in the best of locations in that theres not much within walking distance from the hotel but is great if you need to be at the airport early because it is reasonably close to the highway entrance leading to the airport

The lobby is sumptuous with high security. All luggage is x-rayed and metal detectors are used on all people entering the hotel. With an expansive lobby, you don't really notice how busy it is.

Check in was very good with the hotel still retaining details of my last stay in 2008. Room was excellent and in very good shape given that the last refurbishment was quite a few years ago. I moved to Mulia from another hotel and did not regret my decision at all. Bed was very comfortable and the bathrooms was well appointed. Especially liked the shower which took awhile to figure out (there are no instructions) but was great once I figured what all the knobs did.

Probably the best part of the hotel was the range of restaurants on offer. This is a very popular hotel for weddings which explains the crowds every evening. I had dinner at Edogin, the Japanese Restaurant on the lower ground floor. The teppanyaki was excellent with very fresh ingredients used.

I read somewhere that one of the restaurants in the hotel has also won international interior design awards. This is a hotel that prides itself in the quality of everything that they do. Given it's a locally owned and managed hotel, they put a lot of the international hotels to shame.

It's rates are not cheap but I think well worth the luxury and service you get

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kebuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salatiga, Indonesia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I really like this hotel. No regret at all.
Very clean, nice sleep, very comfortable
My wife and my children love this hotel
flawless service

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Junsurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

So Mrs. R is in Jakarta for a series of business meetings, and as SQ were selling cheap flights, it seemed rude not to go too. Her company's choice is the Hotel Mulia Senayan, executive floor, nice.

I've always been skeptical about whether this hotel would stay up as I used to drive past the building site it was back in 1995/96 when it was being built for the SEA Games - they used to knock off a storey every day it seemed. There was also the story that Pak Suharto asked the owner to stick another 5 storeys on halfway through the project... However, 15 years on, and it's still there, so now was my chance to try it out.

A good sized room, furniture is a bit old, but in decent nick. Bathroom is clean, with a separate shower and bath which I always prefer. Space age loo with electronic seat, water jets, warming breezes and a heated seat made lavatory usage a journey of wonder. I wasn't desparately impressed with the amenities provided though - as it is a pain carrying shampoo and shower gel through airports, hotels need to provide better amenities.

Service in the lounge was excellent, polite and friendly. Breakfast was a bit limited, although enough for my needs. Evening cocktails from 1800 - 2000, and one can do some serious damage in that time, stock up on the free stuff before you go to the restaurants because the prices are seriously unfriendly - IDR175,000++ for a glass of the house red, nearly SGD30 which I think is outrageous.

Dinner at Il Mare, the hotel's Italian restaurant and generally very good, was a bit disappointing, overcooked both my scallops and my steak, not impressive. The next night we ate Edogin, Japanese, and that was much better.

The hotel has a pretty decent pool and gym, and while my dear wife was slaving away or getting stuck in the traffic, I was getting stuck into Frederick Forsythe by the pool, a very pleasant exchange I would say.

Location-wise, HMS is not bad, it's very close to Plaza Senayan and Senayan City malls, and there's a golf course next door. Getting anywhere else is always going to be challenge with Jakarta's traffic so any hotel will be pretty much the same in that regard, unless your business in Jakarta can be done at the hotel.

Overall, a great stay, and as long as Mrs. R's company are picking up the tab, I'll go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardpS850LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Stayed at hotel on business , didnt get to use pool and other facilities ,they did look good for relaxing will try next time. Overall the first thing that comes to mind is service. This hotel has it spot on. Staff are relaxed but professional. Security overall is high. People are checked coming in . They have security at lift to rooms. They dont feel intrusive just professional, you know they take it seriously and in a city like Jakarta that is a big plus. Stayed on club floor and would recommend this for a business stay. It would be nice if it was a touch bigger as it does fill up at peak times. Also you need to pay to use computers in club floor which is rather strange. Hotel is kept spotlessly clean. I had a nightcap at main lobby bar area listening to 4 piece singing group from Philippines, usually these group singers drive me mad , however this group really try hard to entertain and i enjoyed. Will stay again when in Jakarta.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amp65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Several hotels, including the Mulia, have foreigner prices and local prices. Honestly, I can't believe this stuff still happens.

I don't care that the hotel is nice....although the room seemed kinda old. The diet coke can was $6 in the restaurant - the highest I have found so far in Indonesia - normally $3 in hotels. And Bluebird has special rates (charged in USD) if you request a rental car. The rate is almost double. This applies to any of the 5-star - so it isn't just the Mulia.

So, yeah, it is a beautiful hotel....but for value, it is not the choice for Jakarta. They are the hotel for business travelers that aren't paying the bill

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indo-bule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Mulia is almost perfection. The room is big and tastefully decorated. The hotel is very luxurious and always someone around to assist you.

As your typical business traveller I liked the fast internet, breakfast and efficient taxi service.

I will always stay here when I'm in Jakarta.

Though the room price isn't exactly budget, but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#17 of 465 in Jakarta
1,448 reviews
Tanah Abang
Fairmont Jakarta
Fairmont Jakarta
#5 of 465 in Jakarta
768 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 465 in Jakarta
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulia Senayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulia Senayan

Property: Hotel Mulia Senayan
Address: Jln. Asia Afrika, Jakarta 10270, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#13 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#13 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#18 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mulia Senayan 5*
Number of rooms: 839
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jakarta, the five-star, 40-storey Hotel Mulia Senayan boasts 839 tastefully decorated and well-appointed rooms and suites to satisfy the needs of both the business and leisure traveler alike. The hotel commands unobstructed views of 18-hole. Senayan Golf Course and Jakarta's skyline with easy access from the toll road to Soekarno-Hatta airport which can be reached from the hotel in 25 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mulia Senayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulia Senayan Hotel
Mulia Senayan Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing