We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, good service and awesome gym”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Ranked #15 of 461 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good service and awesome gym”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The room is big, the bathroom is very large with a bath tub and walk-in shower. Lot of space around the sink to put toiletries. Loo has its own door and is separate from the rest of the bathroom.
Wifi is free for guests.
Big large and hard bed.
Room is very bright with 2 windows (I was on 6th floor)
Style of room is sleek and recent, decoration not overcharged.
Gym is one of the best I've been to, large, at least 12-15 treadmills, all equipped with TV, all cardio and weight one can dream of.
From hotel entrance to the lift, there are at least 2-3 greeters, I found service was good. I got a call my last day to check how my stay had been although I'm not part of their frequent guest program. There are always Black Bird taxis on standby, that's convenient.
From a hotel with Richard Mille and Hermes stores in its lobby, I expected the Burgundy bar to be quite classy, but it's a hookers bar actually, how disappointing, this doesn't go well with the rest of the hotel.
All in all, good experience, but price is steep, $210 for Jakarta I find is a lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frog_Singap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    318
    46
    18
    17
See reviews for
140
84
77
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Congratulations to all staff !!!
My husband and I can go anywhere for a holiday but Grand Hyatt Jakarta caters to both our needs to be spoilt and pampered .
Arriving at the airport , Hotel staff claim us , collect our suitcases and usher us to a lovely clean cool Mercedes car waiting for us .
Upon arrival at GH , smiles everywhere from the staff .
Doormen , security and front office staff , some even saying welcome back !!!!
I would recommend a Club Floor so as to have access to The fabulous Club Lounge .
Excellant in all ways !!!!!
Food / Wine , Service and dedicated staff who remember our individual needs .
So rare these days .
The magnificent pool and Club Olimpus are as good as some of the best in the world that we have experienced . Very professional staff also .
Let them pamper you .
World Class Shopping Malls are connected to this Hotel .
We have had a fabulous holiday and can hardly wait to come again next year .
Our 5 th visit to the Grand Hyatt Jakata .
"A Luxury Hotel that has a Heart and Soul "

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Jakarta, Marketing Communications Manager at Grand Hyatt Jakarta, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear cocoroyal,

Warm greetings from Grand Hyatt Jakarta…

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Jakarta on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic experience with us, and enjoyed your holiday. I will definitely pass on your compliments to our associates.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Hyatt Jakarta in the near future.


With best regards,

Fredrik Harfors
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

great breakfast menu there are great amount of choices to pick from, great bedroom , friendly and very helpful staff and very strategically located near all the fun! just across the street you would can enjoy a hop and shop at few different malls!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Jakarta, Marketing Communications Manager at Grand Hyatt Jakarta, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Lani D,

Warm greetings from Grand Hyatt Jakarta…

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Jakarta on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us, and enjoyed convenient access to shopping centers near by the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Hyatt Jakarta in the near future.



With best regards,

Fredrik Harfors
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Never again - you're much better off at any other hotel in Jakarta but this one.

Pros:

1) Nice pool

Cons:

1) You can hear the 'chanting' from the nearby mosque at all hours
2) Breakfast is horrible
3) Rooms overpriced
4) Rude front desk
5) Idiot hotel taxi drivers
6) Management not good

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkA498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have stayed at the GH for many years. I consider(ed) myself a special guest. Last year alone I stayed there for some 35+ nights for work.

But, I am not one of those people who keeps all the guest rewards/membership cards.

As I tried to explain to GH staff, I reckon I qualify as a special customer. Eight years of custom, not to mention recommending colleagues and friends. Obviously I was wrong.

Perhaps I am out of touch with the industry, but I stay in a lot of hotels. In any hotel that I frequent, I want to be treated as a guest, not merely a cardholder of a rewards plan or the sum of my points. I get this in hotels all over SE Asia, and I used to get this at the GH Jakarta. Not anymore.

All I wanted was Club access, which I have consistently rated. I did not this time and was told, rather curtly, "all our guests are special, but if we give it to you, what about our other guests?"

Absolute bunkem.

Then they relented, giving me the access, adding, "ok, we'll let you have club access this time, but no guarantees for next time." Gee thanks. The only reason I went and asked a second time was that I had made an appointment in their club (and I don't feel that I should have to pay after eight years of custom).

After I gave the duty manager and his staff an earful when I checked out a day early, I let the GM/VP have a piece of my mind. Here's the reply from his office (he's too busy for a lowly guest as me):

"In regards to who we give complimentary access to Grand Club in the hotel, it seems that XXX has come across quite blunt in his explanation, and I apologize if you were in any way offended by the manner in which the information was presented to you. He is however not incorrect that according to the terms of the Gold Passport program, only Diamond Gold Passport members (a level reachable by staying 50 nights or more per calendar year at Hyatt hotels) are afforded this privilege...As you have stated in your letter, this is a high threshold, which is why we also do not want to in any way diminish the achievement of reaching the Diamond level by giving the same benefit to non-Diamond card holders."

Again, eight years of custom, not to mention organising work conferences there, and guest referrals.... Not good enough, not even close to good enough.

I know that I qualify as a loyal and valuable customer, but their stupid system doesn't recognise the fact; and their drones (who used to be smiling, really cool people) now blindly follow their "Gold Passport program" (which is a bland, silly name for a customer-recognition programme, btw),

There are so many options in Jakarta now, and I clearly see the situation differently. On top of this, the GH Jakarta is looking tired and barely up to the standard that Jakarta's four-star competition, is achieving thesedays.

What's the point of a rewards programme that fails to identify and reward frequent guests? It's the extreme care that GH Jakarta used to excel in that kept us all coming back. You lost me, and I am sure that this is a trend that will continue.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have only been at this hotel for few hours and I wanted to write a review to gush about being here. Check-in was a breeze, the room service attendant was chatty and friendly and the room was exactly what you would expect from a Hyatt (outside of the US), beautiful, large, fully stocked with amenities - it really is a luxury staying here.

The only comment I would say that needs a re-think...the Internet. DOCOMO isn't iPhone or tablet friendly because you need to close all your browsers and open a new one to launch their portal page. You also have to re authenticate all the time as the sessions time out. This isn't only for this hotel but all hotels I've stayed at that use DOCOMO.

However, apart from that, I would highly recommend this hotel to someone looking to travel to JKT.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NixyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel provides excellent service for me and family during my recent visit. Communication was a little hard though. And traffic was the only thing that dampens my trip. Concierge team was very helpful with accommodating to my needs. Room service was very efficient. Wouldn't mind staying here again if the roads get better .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraGMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
#10 of 461 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#12 of 461 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 461 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 461 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Property: Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Address: Jl. M H Thamrin Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Indonesia, Grand Hyatt Jakarta is living up to its name. Strategically located in the Thamrin CBD and adjacent to Plaza Indonesia Shopping Centre and The Plaza Office Tower, the hotel provides excellent services and amenities to people from all around the world. Dine in the hotel's award-winning C's steak and Seafood Restaurant, pamper yourself in the Club Olympus Fitness & wellness Centre and swim in our 43-metre lagoon-shaped outdoor swimming pool. In keeping with the ever-changing needs and lifestyles of the present day global travellers, Fountain Lounge is about to embark on a complete renovation project on 15 April 2017 and is scheduled to open in the month of June 2017. To ensure your comfortable stay and convenience, we have adjusted the opening hours of burgundy and C’s Steak and Seafood restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Jakarta
Jakarta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing