We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but fittings and decor is a little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Ranked #15 of 459 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location but fittings and decor is a little dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is grand but it definitely needs some refurbishment as some of the furniture, decor and fittings are a little dated.

It sits right on top of Plaza Indonesia and a couple of big malls in the area so this is a perfect hotel to stay if you are here for a shopping and food trip.

As its right smack in the city (next to some monument and fountain), demonstrations tend to be held here. We were caught in 1 peaceful demonstration on a Saturday night and we had to cancel our dinner out of the city because it was almost impossible to navigate out of this crazy traffic.

The swimming pool was nice but its also very dated. Service is average considering its the Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    316
    45
    18
    17
See reviews for
140
81
77
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed in a Club King so I could experience the Club Lounge for breakfast and cocktails. It is better than Bangkok Erawon, Osaka and Grand Central Terminal. There are three hot selections every night, plus salad, fruit, cheese, bread and dessert. Wine, beer, soft drinks and fruit juice is free. If the weather is bad, just stay in the lounge and eat dinner there, thought the hotel restaurants are also first class.

Room Tip: Ask for a Hotel Indonesia Circle fountain view for a more romantic view than the usual city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorningPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Jakarta, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Jakarta, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Corning Paul,

Warm greetings from Grand Hyatt Jakarta…

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Jakarta on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us, and enjoyed our Grand Club Lounge. I will be sure to pass on your kind words regarding our employees to them, so that they may be recognized for their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Hyatt Jakarta in the near future.



With best regards,

Fredrik Harfors
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Whilst not the cheapest hotel around this is good for Jakarta and offers everything you would want. Sitting on top of the Mall of Indonesia is a bonus if you want a shopping fix but in any event the hotel is top notch for me. The food was excellent and the executive lounge very good. The pool was lovely on a hot day and the staff could not have been more helpful. Just be wary of their estimates of how long an airport transfer can take...i only just got my flight.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the Grand Hyatt, where we were also having a workshop. Overall impression was positive, but there were some misses, too.

BANQUETS: I don't know whether it was the organizer's call or not, but there were no pads or pens in the function room for the entire 4 days we were there. For the price we were paying, I would have thought they would provide this most basic necessity. There was only one coffee station outside for a group of 40, so the breaks were spent just waiting for your turn to have your coffee made.

GUEST ROOMS: Loved the rooms...spacious, clean and had adequate lighting. There was an auxiliary plug for your iPod which was linked to the TV...didn't work. They should just invest in a docking station instead. I liked the bathrooms, but the towels always felt a bit damp. Don't know why.

FOOD: Breakfast and lunch served at the Grand Cafe. So-so selection and the service had hiccups some times --- eggs and pancakes took some time (they offered to bring it to the the table, bt I think it got ambushed somewhere along the way). I liked the variety of local dishes that they had available, though.

SERVICE: No complaints, but didn't see or feel anything that would have made them stand out.

SPA: Was disappointed with the spa ( or maybe it wasn't supposed to be a spa?). I was expecting a dimly lit room with soothing music and oil scents. Instead, I had a room that looked like an office with the desk replaced by a massage table.

Would I stay here again? Yes, but i would manage my expectations vis-a-vis what is normally expected from a Grand Hyatt hotel.

Room Tip: Try getting a room facing the roundabout. The other side faces a mosque, and the early morning pray...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for just one night. The booking had been made for us and somehow had been made for a month later ! Friends were also staying and their booking was correct ??
The room we were first allocated was a double, we were two friends traveling together ! The staff were very slow to rectify this. When we were eventually moved to a new room we found it to have two single beds, but these were very small and pushed together. It's a good job we know each other well as there was no privacy!! The room was very cold and smelt damp. The robes and towels were hard and not of the quality you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
On a plus note, the food was amazing. Breakfast choice and quality was brilliant. We had a buffet lunch before we checked out and this was again top notch !
Sadly, this hotel did not meet our expectations and our first impression was not our lasting one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidiw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Jakarta, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Jakarta, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear heidiw9,

Warm greetings from Grand Hyatt Jakarta.

Thank you very much for taking the time and post a review regarding your stay with us. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay in regards to the reservation details and the condition of the room. I will make sure that your feedback is used in order to find solutions to the challenges you encountered while staying at the hotel.

I appreciate your compliment regarding the breakfast and lunch buffet at Grand Café, and have passed on your kind words to the team there.

Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Hyatt Jakarta in the near future.


With best regards,


Fredrik Harfors
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

A stay that should have been two nights got extended to 3 and the hotel staff was very helpful in sorting out the issues with the airline. The staff wad great and always helpful. The room was clean and quite large. The internet was reliable. The Grand Cafe was a bit disappointing the quality of the food seemed just ok. The other places in the hotel were very good.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pmdworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Jakarta, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Jakarta, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear pmdworldtraveler,

Warm greetings from Grand Hyatt Jakarta.

Thank you very much for taking the time and post a review regarding your stay with us. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the quality of the buffet in Grand Café. We are currently reviewing the buffet items in the restaurant, and hope to have improvements made in the coming weeks.

I would also like to thank you for your kind words regarding our employees, and will be sure to find out which employees assisted you with the flight tickets, so that they may be recognized for their efforts.


With best regards,


Fredrik Harfors
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here for one night after a trip to Bali before returning to the UK. Absolutely amazing entrance, felt quite overcalled as we were ushered in by the staff on the door! Reception couldn't find our booking and it turned out it had been accidently booked for the following month, hence we ended up on a different floor to our friends who had been booked in correctly. I was travelling with a girlfriend and our supposedly twin room had a double bed, we called down about this and were told someone would come up and move us? Nobody arrived so we had to then go back down to reception to sort it out. Luggage that had been stored by the Shangri la hotel and delivered to the Hyatt by friends never arrived at our room and we had to go down and lug that all the way up to our room the following morning too!
The room was slightly disappointing, very business like (although to be fair this is probably a businessman/woman hotel). Beds were very small and the twin beds were pushed tight together with no space to part them. It also smelt very damp. Bathrobes a hard waffle type material not soft and fluffy and toiletries in bathroom considering the price of the room per night, could have been better quality.
Food in this hotel was some of the best I have ever tasted in my life!! Tried oysters for the first time and I am hooked!!! Overall nice but not amazing considering the price.

Room Tip: If not satisfied with the room allocated ask to view another room to see if it fairs any better. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
#10 of 459 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#12 of 459 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 459 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 459 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Property: Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Address: Jl. M H Thamrin Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Indonesia, Grand Hyatt Jakarta is living up to its name. Strategically located in the Thamrin CBD and adjacent to Plaza Indonesia Shopping Centre and The Plaza Office Tower, the hotel provides excellent services and amenities to people from all around the world. Dine in the hotel's award-winning C's steak and Seafood Restaurant, pamper yourself in the Club Olympus Fitness & wellness Centre and swim in our 43-metre lagoon-shaped outdoor swimming pool. In keeping with the ever-changing needs and lifestyles of the present day global travellers, Fountain Lounge is about to embark on a complete renovation project on 15 April 2017 and is scheduled to open in the month of June 2017. To ensure your comfortable stay and convenience, we have adjusted the opening hours of burgundy and C’s Steak and Seafood restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Jakarta
Jakarta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing