We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BREAKFAST - YOU HAVE TO SIGN THE BILL EACH TIME!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Ranked #15 of 461 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BREAKFAST - YOU HAVE TO SIGN THE BILL EACH TIME!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Usually breakfast comes with the booking of the room.All one has to do is in the morning is tell the waiter at the restaurant the room number and we proceed to have breakfast.
but not at the grand Hyatt!! each time you go in for breakfast - the waiter brings a bill and you have to sign like as if it is a payment.I am told it is a procedure in the hotel.....i felt uneasy and informed the front desk!!
so this morning - 3rd November 2013 ...i skipped breakfast!!..in protest i guess...never in my life i have experienced such uneasiness.
the hotel in general has good service which is spoilt by this strange administrative procedure!!
to the visitor - the procedure causes much anxiety!!... one which i feel is unprofessional...taking into account the reputation it has as a rated hotel
all this is strange but true experience!!
on Sunday you may want to go for a stroll around the area>the have a flea market and lots of other activities and hawker food ...enough to forget the breakfast in the hotel!!
the morning market promises the visitor a glimpse of the Indonesian lifestyle and the added bonus is the music in the form of stage singers ,marching band and talented singers ...all breezing up the bright Sunday morning
an experience not to be forgotten!!
for those who are brand conscious - there is adjoining the hotel a large shopping mall to cater for the brand types..
otherwise just take a walk outside to experience the real Jakarta
mind you the weekday traffic is bad!! so leave at least 3 hrs early to the airport

Room Tip: rooms on the 14th floor are quieter! take the room facing the round about.Make sure you ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesdevanayagam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    318
    45
    18
    17
See reviews for
140
84
77
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
122 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Arrived at Hyatt after unpleasant stay in a nearby hotel.
Quick check in.
Room very clean with good bathroom. Not sparkling new room but well maintained with view of the main square.
The pool is heaven, big and has a resort feel, very nice for swimming and offered free drinks by the pool.
The club lounge is great and the service top. Champagne offered, very good food selection. I have to be honest we were there over the weekend and the lounge was busy with families and some had the idea to have the dinner in the lounge so the food was finishing quickly. Not hotel fault.
Good breakfast in the lounge.
Late check out given at 1500 free without any fuss.
We ordered a hotel limo to the airport and we were so surprised to find out was complimentary as first time staying at the Grand Hyatt Club rooms.
Great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moschino24_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is a gem in a very busy city. The visit was for work and I was amazed at the grandeur of the hotel upon entrance. My favorite place was relaxing near the pool. Very serene after a busy day.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fran456949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is grand but it definitely needs some refurbishment as some of the furniture, decor and fittings are a little dated.

It sits right on top of Plaza Indonesia and a couple of big malls in the area so this is a perfect hotel to stay if you are here for a shopping and food trip.

As its right smack in the city (next to some monument and fountain), demonstrations tend to be held here. We were caught in 1 peaceful demonstration on a Saturday night and we had to cancel our dinner out of the city because it was almost impossible to navigate out of this crazy traffic.

The swimming pool was nice but its also very dated. Service is average considering its the Grand Hyatt.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed in a Club King so I could experience the Club Lounge for breakfast and cocktails. It is better than Bangkok Erawon, Osaka and Grand Central Terminal. There are three hot selections every night, plus salad, fruit, cheese, bread and dessert. Wine, beer, soft drinks and fruit juice is free. If the weather is bad, just stay in the lounge and eat dinner there, thought the hotel restaurants are also first class.

Room Tip: Ask for a Hotel Indonesia Circle fountain view for a more romantic view than the usual city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorningPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Hyatt_Jakarta, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Jakarta, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Corning Paul,

Warm greetings from Grand Hyatt Jakarta…

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Jakarta on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us, and enjoyed our Grand Club Lounge. I will be sure to pass on your kind words regarding our employees to them, so that they may be recognized for their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Grand Hyatt Jakarta in the near future.



With best regards,

Fredrik Harfors
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Whilst not the cheapest hotel around this is good for Jakarta and offers everything you would want. Sitting on top of the Mall of Indonesia is a bonus if you want a shopping fix but in any event the hotel is top notch for me. The food was excellent and the executive lounge very good. The pool was lovely on a hot day and the staff could not have been more helpful. Just be wary of their estimates of how long an airport transfer can take...i only just got my flight.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the Grand Hyatt, where we were also having a workshop. Overall impression was positive, but there were some misses, too.

BANQUETS: I don't know whether it was the organizer's call or not, but there were no pads or pens in the function room for the entire 4 days we were there. For the price we were paying, I would have thought they would provide this most basic necessity. There was only one coffee station outside for a group of 40, so the breaks were spent just waiting for your turn to have your coffee made.

GUEST ROOMS: Loved the rooms...spacious, clean and had adequate lighting. There was an auxiliary plug for your iPod which was linked to the TV...didn't work. They should just invest in a docking station instead. I liked the bathrooms, but the towels always felt a bit damp. Don't know why.

FOOD: Breakfast and lunch served at the Grand Cafe. So-so selection and the service had hiccups some times --- eggs and pancakes took some time (they offered to bring it to the the table, bt I think it got ambushed somewhere along the way). I liked the variety of local dishes that they had available, though.

SERVICE: No complaints, but didn't see or feel anything that would have made them stand out.

SPA: Was disappointed with the spa ( or maybe it wasn't supposed to be a spa?). I was expecting a dimly lit room with soothing music and oil scents. Instead, I had a room that looked like an office with the desk replaced by a massage table.

Would I stay here again? Yes, but i would manage my expectations vis-a-vis what is normally expected from a Grand Hyatt hotel.

Room Tip: Try getting a room facing the roundabout. The other side faces a mosque, and the early morning pray...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
Hotel Indonesia Kempinski
#10 of 461 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#12 of 461 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 461 in Jakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 461 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Property: Grand Hyatt Jakarta
Address: Jl. M H Thamrin Kav 28-30, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Jakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Indonesia, Grand Hyatt Jakarta is living up to its name. Strategically located in the Thamrin CBD and adjacent to Plaza Indonesia Shopping Centre and The Plaza Office Tower, the hotel provides excellent services and amenities to people from all around the world. Dine in the hotel's award-winning C's steak and Seafood Restaurant, pamper yourself in the Club Olympus Fitness & wellness Centre and swim in our 43-metre lagoon-shaped outdoor swimming pool. In keeping with the ever-changing needs and lifestyles of the present day global travellers, Fountain Lounge is about to embark on a complete renovation project on 15 April 2017 and is scheduled to open in the month of June 2017. To ensure your comfortable stay and convenience, we have adjusted the opening hours of burgundy and C’s Steak and Seafood restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Jakarta
Jakarta Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing