We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel
Ranked #118 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location, enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A decent hotel in a great location. It is rather old but rooms were renovated, there are plenty of rooms. It has all needed facilities too, and mainly for business. Enjoyed my dinner and breakfast there, it was good. Would come back again and recommend this property. Good for groups, couples, families, but again especially for business travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slava D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    86
    105
    34
    34
See reviews for
40
28
18
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on April 2013.
With that kind of rate, I believe customer deserve more quality,
This is like an old hotel we often see in horror movie.
This hotel only has a great name because sahid hotel is one of the pioneer of lux hotel in 1980's or 1970's
The meeting room in this hotel is quite good, but the hotel room is terrible.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreasgultom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

It's a classic hotel the building is old. for check-in you need to wait about 20 minutes, the Receptionist is not friendly, there's no hospitality in their service. its a backward situation with the doorman.

next problem would be the elevator,Its older than myfather. all the elevator in horrible condition, literally youwill need insurance to feel secure to ride the elevator. from 5 elevator that In the main Lobby, only 2 that can operate but in really bad condition.

I got room in 16th floor, an deluxe room. the room was smell horribly, its like urine smell, the bathroom also smell. when you open the water at washtafel, the water would be in brown color, after a while then a turn normal. the hot water also took a while to turn hot. from the water came out a sewer smell. you hare to wait 10 minutes then the water will smell back to normal. There's mold everywhere in the wall of the room, especially at the ceiling.

They told me that the General Manager is foreigner from UK. But I think that he's not good enough to change the hotel standard to International standard. Or probably he never handle a hotel before...

overall its not a good hotel to stay, better move to hotel next to it, the Le Me-----n....

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Byron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I booked this hotel because I have some meetings around this area. This is the first time I stayed at the hotel with a lot of internal problems at this hotel. The 4 stars hotel but the service is very terrible. First , when I checked -in had to wait 30 minutes even though only 2 guests in front of me.I think they need more training how to service customers with excellent quality. Second, the elevators is always busy and jammed as the Jakarta city in the morning and during the dinner hour in the evening, all the guests had to wait 20-30 minutes in front of elevators although they have 7-8 elevators.Third, my room key always didn't work so I must go to the front desk and queuing for exchange the key and she always promised the key will work as usual but she was lie. Fourth, At 00.30 midnight, the electricity was off about 30 minutes and made my room was very dark and hot without AC. I called the duty manager 5 times but no response, lets try to think a 4 star hotel with no electiricy very awful. Fifth, there is no wifi in the room and channel of TV is not clear. And the last, I found "an baby animal that does not deserve to be on the table" when I took my breakfast. I complained to restaurant manager but she was shock and just say apologize. Also no napkin or tissue were available on the table and the waitress was very lazy to clean the s tables so that customers confused where to sit down and eat. Basically, they only heard complaints from hotel guests but no action to correct the mistakes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_percursatiopunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

- Check in took around 20minutes just to get myself a room.
- There's no in house gym. Have to go to Istana Apartment's gym.
- Lifts are always unreliable and breaksdown every single occasion. (literally)
- Overrated hotel.
- Late checkouts, big fat NO! They won't even check for you.
- Useless piece of crap reception. No smiles and unprofessional.

Room Tip: Stay at other hotels around the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Columbus808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Benoit, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

One of these old fashioned hotels you may find in Jakarta, well maintained, with a luxurious lobby, nice architecture, good rooms, modern and well maintained... Plenty of space in the 1rst floor, even a large shopping arcade, 3 restaurants... more or les empty, they are good but too expensive.
A good choice anyhow, but no prime choice, there is not much to do around, you must take a taxi to everywhere, but this is Jakarta !
Well I may return there or I may not, it will depend of what I have to do in Jakarta.

Room Tip: ask to be above the swimming pool, it is inside and pleasant (no noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The outlook of the hotel is that of a 5 star property but thats about it. It literally stops there. Checking in was not quick. They still use a primitive method of issuing meal coupons, when stuff like that for group bookings can be done by just printing room names and giving it to the in house restaurant where we are going to dine for the 10 days stay here. The crew is not updated, we literally have to update the new shifts on our needs, and what are our pakage allocations. The restaurant takes long to prepare your food and appetizer orders are served after the main meal and that was after almost an hour wait, when there were no other guest in the restaurant except the 5 of us. During morning breakfast, the staff cannot cope with the number of guests and it is the same selection of food for the 10 days i was here. when someone leaves the table and someone else is going to sit there, they dont bother to do a proper turnover. They only change cuttlery that were stained and those thta seemed unused by the precios person would not be changed.

The housekeeping is equally is as bad. Firstlt the room has no proper lock and the staff has walked into my room happily at least 3 times a day. even when i was taking a afternoon nap and i hear my room being tried to enter into, lucky for the door chain. The housekeeping doesnt properly replace the amenities. Someday i am missing a tooth brush, someday a towel, sometimes wven the bath soap and they dont even provide laundry plastic, i have to keep asking each day over and over again.

The rooms do not even have a safe, and the door doesnt use a proper lock system.

Not only that, even when we were using the conference room, they were always slow to set up the room and our sessions were always delayed for one reason or the other, either the projector was not set up yet, or the tables were not set, or worst on one of the days they claim they did not know we were using the room.


Wifi is only available in the lobby and that also it is down most of the time.

well on the whole, the hotel is a stressful place to live in, i hope the relevant agency would look into this and give them the rating they actually deserve.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loerefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Le Meridien Jakarta
Le Meridien Jakarta
#39 of 465 in Jakarta
955 reviews
Tanah Abang
AYANA Midplaza JAKARTA
AYANA Midplaza JAKARTA
#36 of 465 in Jakarta
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
all seasons Jakarta Thamrin
HARRIS Suites FX Sudirman
#51 of 465 in Jakarta
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel

Property: Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel
Address: Jl. Jendral Sudirman Kav. 86, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 283 rooms, Modern Deluxe 225 rooms, Suites 51 rooms, Presidential 1 room. Executive rooms and suites floors available with dedicated check in/out service, complimentary breakfast and late afternoon cocktails at executive Lounge, 24 hour butler service and many other amenities. The 9th and 17th floors are non smoking floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahid Jaya Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing