We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel
Ranked #142 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The place is old. But value for money I suppose. The staff is friendly and willing to help you whatever the time it was. Conveniently located and in close proximity of big shopping malls. I was able to get to my meetings without any delays despite Jakarta traffic.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanmaleeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    86
    106
    34
    34
See reviews for
44
28
18
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel located in heart of Jakarta, easy to access any interesting places closed by. Rooms were little bit old, and some corridors carpet need some replacement. Excellent breakfast with variety of chosen. The front desk staff are professional and friendly. The hotel has spacious and cozy lobby. Every Sunday morning you can joint hotel staff do exercise in front of hotel during car free day. White Horse taxi is available at all time, and with reasonable fee.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoyok L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is my first time stay in this hotel, it is located in business district, very good location for business, good security in hotel... FREE Internet (via cable, NOT wifi) in room.The breakfast is good, had variety of chooses, egg station, fresh fruit.

Their hotel staff is very hospitality, for example, every morning they ring your door and asking if there any laundry services needed, in the evening, some time, they also asking if any additional towel needed....

The room seems a bit old, not modern, all functions are still good. The only issue for me is the carpet in the room seems feel not clean.

If you want to go out, please be aware there are some carpool policy during traffic hours...

Room Tip: higher floors is better, because of there are some constructions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The staff were fantastic. The rooms and hotel is a little older but the rooms are a great size and you get the spacious luxury without the five star price tag. They are gradually renovating the rooms and for an extra 20 dollars you can upgrade to a renovated room. It looks like it has great conference space although I didn't use it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbchurchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I wish I could give it 5 stars and 1 star. First, the bad.
The plumbing is old, temperature control on the shower is difficult, there is a constant sound of running water. There is not internet of any kind in the room. The electrical wiring is confusing and it is almost impossible to guess which switches do what.
The good is really nice. The facilities are clean and generally well maintained. The pool has a deep end for diving. The Bersih Sehat Family Massage is great and not very expensive. Breakfast is very extensive and delicious. The location is really good. Many of our meetings were within walking distance. The furniture in the room was comfortable as well.
So, if you are not troubled by the bad things or if you find a promo go for it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ljwelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Was booked into this hotel by a colleague and was rather surprised by the general condition of the property. Have driven pass it many times and always thought the it was a rather decent property.

So where did it fall short?

Security
Unlike many of the hotels in Jakarta, security is non existence. Our taxi go into the hotel without even anyone checking the car.

Entering the property itself, there was not even a pretense that security of their guest is taken seriously. Metal sector frames were available but was not switched on.

Checkin
Very decent and quick

Lobby
Looks very grand at a glance but on closer look the furnishing was very frayed and very tired looking. Took the lift to my floor and was rather surprised that the floor was soaking wet and it was not raining outside

Room
Decent size and clean but the bath had seen better days. The enamel was chipped at multiple places and it was stained.

One Electrical socket was broken and the insulation of the table lamp wire needed to be replace. A potential fire hazard.

Dining experience
Food at their Andrawina Restaurant was decent. Although I went there for my dinner, I did not expect to become dinner myself. There was a squadron of mosquitoes buzzing around and I must have slapped my self silly when I tried to swat them as they were buzzing around my ears.

Breakfast (minus mosquitoes) was decent. Selection was varied and of acceptable quality

Overall assessment
Not somewhere where I will stay again in a hurry

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Had to conduct meetings in Sudirman area and just did not want to pay 2-3X more for the Le Meridien. Hotel was opened several year back by ex President Soeharto. Check in was friendly but room fittings were getting old. Still the location is good and you could get taxis very quickly ( always ask for Bluebird taxis - they are driven by experienced guys who dun try to rip you off.)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Tanah Abang
Le Meridien Jakarta
Le Meridien Jakarta
#36 of 464 in Jakarta
968 reviews
Tanah Abang
AYANA Midplaza JAKARTA
AYANA Midplaza JAKARTA
#41 of 464 in Jakarta
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
all seasons Jakarta Thamrin
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta
#126 of 464 in Jakarta
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel

Property: Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel
Address: Jl. Jendral Sudirman Kav. 86, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 283 rooms, Modern Deluxe 225 rooms, Suites 51 rooms, Presidential 1 room. Executive rooms and suites floors available with dedicated check in/out service, complimentary breakfast and late afternoon cocktails at executive Lounge, 24 hour butler service and many other amenities. The 9th and 17th floors are non smoking floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Sahid Jaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahid Jaya Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing