We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the worst”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jakarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bloem Steen Homestay
Ranked #70 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Jakarta
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Jakarta is not a great place to find good budget hotels so I found this place to be the best of the worst. They got a terrass out in front where it's nice to sit and surf on the free wifi but the bathrooms stank of mould and the bedrooms are dirty and windowless. But the owner is a friendly dude and I thankfully didn't get any bedbugs.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank Mimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

Infested with bugs, thats what resume this place.the roof was full of holes, the Bathrooms were dirty. The beds dirty too. Mosquitos everywhere, the only thing working was the free WIFI-
Stayed only two nights and we run away from there!!!!
DONT STAY HERE! this place should be close!

Room Tip: Doesnt matter how cheap, always look for "clean"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loretu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We were badly bitten by bed bugs in the night. There were many moskitos, alive and dead ones, thus the blood stains (on the sheets, the mattress, the walls, the floor). Many handles in the bathrooms did not work. We did not get new (clean) sheets or any towels. Find another place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just as the title says. This place is infested with bed bugs. Blood stains on the walls, bug sheddings under the mattresses and bugs crawling everywhere! I killed one that left a thumbnail size blood stain. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allwet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Hotel room was dirty full of hair and bugs. The bed is very old and they do the hostel do not change linen. Service was really poor and staff did not give us a clean linen or towel when we asked for it. Staff had a very lazy attitude towards. There was a lot of noise in the morning from children. Unfortunately it was the children of the family that runs the Hostel. Wi-fi worked well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GajdaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

stayed here got a twin bed room with a/c..a/c hardly worked and room had bed bugs,,when i told the manager he wasnt too concerned and was arrogant..don,t stay here !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jonga77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This was one of the cheapest hostels we could find in Jakarta. Don't be fooled by the name - it is not a homestay. The rooms are very basic but most have aircon, although some of the aircons weren't working but they were very accommodating and changed our room twice. The shared bathrooms are dirty and weren't cleaned once in our 4 days there. Not a comfortable stay but cheap and good location and the owner is friendly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annahutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 472 in Jakarta
1,586 reviews
Sawah Besar
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
#38 of 472 in Jakarta
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloem Steen Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloem Steen Homestay

Address: Jln. Jaksa, Jakarta 10340, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing