We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time in Jakarta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #47 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“1st time in Jakarta”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Nice hotel , very good breakfast, the room s are great , next to the hotel there is a small mall with lots of food options ,
New hotel so well mantained not very fare from other shooping area , but you can expect traffic in Jakarta is terrible

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASamad1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to JS Luwansa!

We appreciate your highlighting Cleanliness, Value and Location as the key components to our business model.

This helps validate our business model in both Deluxe Rooms as well as Premier and Ambassador Club accommodations where for less than the price of standard room in other global brands, you are able to get Club benefits and privileges.

Cleanliness in a city like Jakarta is also difficult to find in many of the older established hotels

Happy and safe travels!

kind regards

Richard Mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    157
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
43
48
18
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The lobby and the restaraunts are very nice indeed. The rooms were "okay". Everything was clean of course, just nothing stood out to me. Very standard. I would have rather stayed somewhere else. The food was good and the pool was very nice though. I was very impressed with the management after I left they had sent me an email telling me I had left some stuff in the room. Had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thuy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind and positive review.

You are correct, as we consider ourselves and are certified as a 4 star hotel product.

We are also clean, new and well located with very attractive pricing for waht we offer provide an excellent price vs value relationship to our customers.

For our future guests, while there may be many more 5 star globally branded products to chose from, you will also find it refelcted in their pricing......i am confident the service our staff delivers is on par with the very best 5 star hotels in Jakarta.

Actually, you can stay in our Ambassador Club room with Club privileges and many additional benefits for less or about the same of a standard room in our 5 star competitors.

Happy and safe travels!

Kind regards

Richard Mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
342 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here on business as it was the only hotel that I could find with continuous nights for my visit. The rooms are good ie bath and shower, clean. Breakfast had a good selection (no skim milk) and the cafe is bright however small. I had room service which was prompt and the food was delivered hot which is a plus. The gym is small but adequate, as it was not crowded it was ok. Not much to offer as far as night time dining, the hotel has one restaurant and there are other a short drive away. It is in a good location very close to the Gran Melia which is a favorite of mine. I would stay here again. The lifts are a little slow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your vote of confidence, willingness to return and shall look forward to your next visit.

Until then, happy and safe travels.

Kind regards

Richard Mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
459 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

JS Luwansa is an outstanding hotel with fine amenities. Located in an upscale part of South Jakarta, JSL is a three minute walk from a mall with eight ATMs and a wide range of eateries. No worries walking there at night, as the entire area is modern and safe.

Bit of a taksi ride to get to airport, Fatahillah Square, Little Tokyo or Taman Mini Indonesia, but honest taksis are quite inexpensive here, and if you stick to Blue Bird or Express, they'll be honest. The hotel can generally get a Blue Bird to pick you up within a few minutes.

A good lap pool and spa are located on the 5th floor, an all day dining restaurant and a small bar are on the ground floor, and a wine club is one floor above that. On some nights the hotel had a Barbecue under the Stars buffet alongside the pool, but not every night. If you go to the BBQ, be sure to get the lamb chops.

My room was quite large, with large windows, a good safe and all the amenities you would expect, toiletries and so on. There was a small refrigerator but no mini-bar, which was fine by me. In my room, and I suppose in all of the rooms, when you remove your room key from the electrical control, the AC goes off. When you re-insert your room key, the AC does not automatically turn on again, you have to push it again at the thermostat; good AC though, which cools the room quickly and quietly. Water temperature and pressure were both fine and the shower is equipped with good equipment, but a musky smell to the water will discourage you from taking a lengthy shower. I think that's a municipal problem, not hotel-specific.

Exceptionally good staff--at the lobby reception desk, the concierge booth, the bell hop station, the restaurant and the entrance and exit gates. Great housekeeping staff.

Good security: two officers checked all vehicles before raising a vehicle barrier gate--including opening the trunk and using an under-carriage mirror.
The exit gate is also manned. Given the past terrorist attacks on Jakarta hotels, I was pleased to see these measures in place.

Do book the room with a complementary breakfast. Great way to start the day: they always have an omelet station, waffle station, and pastry station. A salad station includes veggies and fruits, including dragon fruit. Some Chinese breakfast items included congee and dim sum everyday, although type of dim sum may vary from day to day (as do the types of pastries). However the standout was the Indonesian items, including curries and stews; the bubul ajar soup was a daily knockout; I had it every morning.

WiFi is free and works very well throughout the hotel. There is a business center next to the reception desk: two computers and two printers. They also have a currency counting machine, and the reception staff was happy to convert those annoying 50,000 rupiah notes many ATMs dispense, into less bulky 100,000 notes. Slick!

Another guest said the view from the top floors was great. My room was on the 10th floor, halfway up, and the view was OK, but nothing special.

JSL is also a conference center.
There is a pleasant bonus for hotel guests associated with this: the hotel is a local favorite for special events. One weekend day they were the venue for 10 wedding receptions, some of them quite large. Jakartans tend to smile and enjoy life a lot, and having scores or hundreds of locals dressed in their finest for weddings and family reunions really generates a positive atmosphere in the lobby; easy to shrug off a one hour drive through heavy traffic when everyone else in the hotel is laughing and smiling.

I unconditionally recommend this hotel. It is a bit of a drive to Jakarta's attractions on the north side of the city, but I wouldn't want to stay at a hotel on that side of town anyway.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time you have to provide us with such a complete and thorough review!

We, in the hospitality industry truly value your time, patience and understanding that while we are not perfect, we do try our utmost to satisfy the many expectations of guests that vary so very widely.

JSL is so happy you found your stay to yoiur liking and for that we are thankful and would like to wish you nothing but wonderful experiences and safe future travels.

Kind regards

Richard Mau

PS. it is a municipal thing....thank you for knowing that it also occurs in the best hotel as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I've been a lot staying at the hotel, travelling around the countries and this is certainly ON MY LIST!!

It's clean
Service is excellent
Time of service is fast
The food is nice
The price is quite good

What can you ask for?

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexwirianata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review!

We, in the hospitality industry truly value your time, patience and understanding that while we are not perfect, we do try our utmost to satisfy the many expectations of guests that vary so very widely.

JSL is so happy you found your stay to yoiur liking and for that we are thankful and would like to wish you nothing but wonderful experiences and safe future travels.

Kind regards

Richard Mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I though JW Luwansa is a 5-star Hotel with a high standard... Today Your Banquete Staff was proof me wrong.

He called Me "Om" Instead of "Bapak"... is it really standard greeting for a 4 star hotel?

This is so dissapointing, and i dont thing i want to make my company event here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BongHerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comment!

Please accept my sincere apology for this unacceptable incident.as it is not our standard to greet our guest so casually.

I will be sure to look into this and take the corrective action to try and avoid this from happening in the future.

I do hope however, that the overall experience of our hotel was positive warranting a much higher ranking since this is the only note you chose to highlight.

Our staff calling you "uncle" is totally unacceptable but for a daily worker coming in from the village to find work, i do believe his intent was not to disrespect you, but rather a display of endearment or respect. as, it is so, where I come from.

Once again, my apology, it is unacceptable and thank you for your understanding.

kind regards

Richard Mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Now lounging by the JS Luwansa's fabulous fifth floor pool enjoying the balmy weather after a tropical shower along with the spectacular city skyline views. The hotel is beautifully designed with comfortable attractive rooms and public spaces but the service here really makes this property shine. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly welcoming staff, especially Jakarta's best bartender "MG".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardmau, General Manager at JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for kind review of JS Luwansa!

We really appreciate your sharing your experience with us and all the future travelers we hope to welcome.

Your recognizing MG's efforts also are much appreciated and we will be sure to let everyone on the team know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Happy and safe travels.

kind regards

Richard Mau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grove Suites
The Grove Suites
#35 of 465 in Jakarta
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#210 of 465 in Jakarta
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Park Lane Jakarta
The Park Lane Jakarta
#31 of 465 in Jakarta
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aston Rasuna
Aston Rasuna
#79 of 465 in Jakarta
613 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gran Melia Jakarta
Gran Melia Jakarta
#20 of 465 in Jakarta
1,055 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascott Kuningan Jakarta
Ascott Kuningan Jakarta
#56 of 465 in Jakarta
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center

Property: JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center
Address: Jln. Haji R. Rasuna Said 22, Jakarta 12920, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 465 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JS Luwansa Hotel & Convention Center is a first class international upscale hotel with 244 well-appointed guest rooms with warm, personalized service. JSL offers new upscale affordable accommodation and is perfect for discerning business travelers who need a strategic location to conduct business. Free Wi fi, transportation within 2 km, pressing and business center workstation use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JS Luwansa Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing