We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in an awesome location.”
Review of Kosenda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kosenda Hotel
Ranked #19 of 470 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

You really comfortable in this funky space from the minute you arrive. Tucked away in a side street quite close to Plaza Indonesia, this place will appeal to those who like funky style and a bit of comfort without the corporate beige feel of the big hotels. Rooms are small but really well designed with everything you need on hand for a couple of nights. Great bar on the roof with a garden space blocking out most of the surrounding buildings. Breakfast was great too. Will go back for sure.

Room Tip: Hight up on the right hand side. Trust me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very good taste in design, there's nothing left to chance here... Wonderful library, good for when experiencing jet lag, with night menus also. A cosy room with traditional Indonesian textiles, although the windows are thin so you can actually wake up to the sound of muslim prayer at 4 a.m.! It is very central, in a nice part of the city right next to the huge Great Indonesia shopping centre. Kiehl's products and the welcoming drink are a very nice touch!

I asked for an early check in and as soon as I was at the front desk they had already printed everything and called a taxi! The only issue I think should be taken care of is the poor communication from the staff, there is a lot of misunderstanding and - as it is everywhere in Indonesia - they don't speak english! I mean at a hotel you expect to have staff that speaks english above the average right? It didn't seem like a requirement when applying for a job in here...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcfulcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a hotel that does many things well.

1) Chic Stylish Design
2) Good warm friendly service
3) Quality Kiel's toiletries
4) Good reasonable offering with NGC, Discovery and many more on TV.
5) Good rooftop bar! Just put on insect repellant to ward off the mozzies. Darn annoying.
6) I have to mention this last because it's a very significant point. The rain shower had excellent pressure and it was one of the most memorable hotel baths for me. So far, not many hotels can get a good pressure for rain showers, not even big international hotels. I've only experienced it at a hotel in Taipei and this is the second one. Thumbs up! I don't know how they manage to pull it off. They must have had a good plumber!

The bad
1) The food. Very limited menu in the afternoon and evening. Mainly Asian fare which was just passable. The breakfast was also very limited in variety. The eggs benedict...seriously...I don't know where the chef got the recipe for that from. It was a very sad benedict. No hollandaise sauce and the bread below wasn't toasted. Disappointed.

2) As with many hotels in Indonesia. The bathroom reeked of a bad smell. It seemed to be coming from the drains or something.

3) The room was really tiny.

4) Sound-proofing or double glazed windows need to be installed. Rather noisy throughout the day until late in the night.

5) I had the receptionist get the staff to get me a taxi. And she seemed surprised or shocked that I was still around when the taxi had already arrived. I mean... I should have been informed about the arrival. How else would i know?

Be careful there. I had the taxi driver try to pull a fast one on me by telling me he had to charge me 40,000 for making a booking. I stood my ground and he backed off. My first bad experience with BlueBird.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slytherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights.

Its really a chic, arty hotel. You can see groups or individuals just having food or a drink at the coffee house all the time. I did not find the food that amazing though.

Its a small hotel. The rooms are rather small. But comfortable for 2 people. Nice shower, kiehl amenities, satellite channels etc. The price point for this was abt right.

The location is also good, close to the big malls. And they provide free shuttle service as well.

The staff were also very helpful giving tips on where to go and eat etc.

Good value for money for a short stay in Jkt.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssinaya3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Off Thamrin close to shopping and business offices
Traffic can be bad at peak hours
Quick service at check in counter
Free wifi throughout and good speed too
Waha cafe serves semi buffet breakfast . Juices , fruit , cereal , Kueh , porridge plus one a la carte order . Nice coffee machine too
Lunch menu serve Nyonya food i.e. Mixed Indonesian and peranakan food
Room is really small like 3 by 4 m
But with complete toileteries by Kiel slipper hair dryer etc . Free shoe polish . Kettle with free tea n coffee. 4 bottles of complimentary water . No fridge and mini bar though
On the 9th floor there is a roof top bar with splendid view . The bar close at 0100 so beware not to stay on 8 th floor unless go to bed late . Flat screen Samsung tv with local and English channels .
Price wise quite reasonable by Jakarta standard . Good for business stay but not for family with children . Good for short stay but
Not comfortable for long stay

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Happy258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a great hotel and absolutely not what one would expect beforehand. A well-run stylish boutique hotel in the center of Jakarta with a great lounge and tasteful architecture. I only could stay for one night but I definitely would stay here again. Speed of Internet connection was also good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderluztig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As someone who travels frequently for work, hotels have become sterile - so my basis for choosing hotels is unique design or a distinct brand personality.

Firstly, the hotel is strategically situated in Jakarta (wherein traffic is paralysing) - so everywhere is 20-35 minutes away - which is perfect.

The hotel design itself is a unique Indonesian adaptation of Scandinavian/Mid-Century Modern design. What could have been another generic regurgitation of the "retro movement" has been made chic and borderline tribal - the mix of colours, patterns, and greenery is impeccable - as well as the architecture.

Yes, the hotel is compact - but no space is wasted and each corner is an artistic vignette.

The sound insulation needs improvement
The only major criticism I have is with the lack of communication between the operations manager and the front desk staff. The teams are not aligned - and therefore operations are not seamless. Check-in, housekeeping, security, catering, etc need to be in tune with each other. For example in the morning before my meetings, I had asked the front desk to have housekeeping send up pest control due to the many mosquitos in the room. When I came back later that evening, the staff on duty had no idea that I had made the request. The room still was full of mosquitos and wasn't even made.

Another example includes a specific requested for an early check-out at 3:30am (I had done 3 follow-ups the day prior) and made the corresponding arrangements (I asked for the invoice, wake-up call, etc to be ready). There was no wake-up call. It took almost 35 minutes to process my invoice while the cab meter was running. Upon my arrival at my next international destination, the front desk staff mistakenly sent an email saying I had left my credit card, then retracted that statement. This level of incompetence is not acceptable in any retail arena.

If it were not for the staff's lack of refinement and lack of urgency, the hotel would have receive higher marks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling_Brogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#50 of 470 in Jakarta
849 reviews
Alila Jakarta
#30 of 470 in Jakarta
991 reviews
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#7 of 470 in Jakarta
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kosenda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosenda Hotel

Address: Jl. KH Wahid Hasyim No.127, Jakarta 10240, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 470 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: £47 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kosenda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" Indonesia's first design Hotel in Jakarta where every corner tells a story. Situated in Thamrin, Kosenda Hotel is the perfect place to experience Jakarta and its surroundings in the disctrict business area, and embassies; Japan, Spain, France, US and Germany. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. In the heart of bustling Jakarta, Kosenda Hotel stands like a beacon of design and originality. Part 21st century architectural landmark, part mid-century aesthetic, Kosenda delivers a fun, funky escape with 60 distinct rooms. The excitement of Southeast Asian cooking comes together in a melting pot of flavours at Waha Kitchen. Produced by a notable Melbourne and Sydney restaurateur of 25 years, the cuisine is refined, beautifully balanced and served with skill. On the rooftop at Awan Lounge, city views mingle with sizzling bite-sized Asian tapas and buckets of beer making this a top spot to enjoy Jakarta's sparkling nightlights.127 Cafe seems like a world away from the bustle of Jakarta,surrounded by the sounds of with of gurgling water and the stillness of towering green bamboo. " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kosenda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing