We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kosenda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kosenda Hotel
Ranked #17 of 459 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Picked this up through a hotel booking site, and was delighted. Good location up town, and fun feel. Well-used lounge with a mid-century modern feel, Peranakan food in the restaurant, great roof-top bar - the place has a real buzz about it. Rooms are (mostly) well thought out and good for working in. Strong wifi, plenty of sockets, proper desk with stationery supplies. Downsides? Only one lift which makes it slow at the best of time, but there isn't even a service lift so you end up sharing with all the behind-the-scenes stuff - on one occasion with the dirty laundry cart, eeuw! And the glass-walled bathrooms - call me prudish, but that left me feeling uncomfortable. Sometimes designers don't know when to stop. Overall, a good experience, and I'm happy to know that I may never have to stay in a faceless chain hotel ever again in Jakarta.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tawonmadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    179
    39
    8
    3
See reviews for
37
175
51
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here from 3 nights. For a small hotel the design was very hip and it had a very pleasant and welcoming feel to it when you first step in to the lobby. While space was small , the designers did everything to make it feel welcoming.

Most importantly it was very comfortable and service from staff was top notch! The waiters at the restaurant were attentive and there were always smiles around.

Will definitely come back here again with my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrisHassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Super modern with small comfortable rooms, the hotel is well located in Jakarta. It is quite new and very clean
The restaurant and are very nice and the staff was helpful.
A good experience for a friends trip

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zumex36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

You really comfortable in this funky space from the minute you arrive. Tucked away in a side street quite close to Plaza Indonesia, this place will appeal to those who like funky style and a bit of comfort without the corporate beige feel of the big hotels. Rooms are small but really well designed with everything you need on hand for a couple of nights. Great bar on the roof with a garden space blocking out most of the surrounding buildings. Breakfast was great too. Will go back for sure.

Room Tip: Hight up on the right hand side. Trust me
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very good taste in design, there's nothing left to chance here... Wonderful library, good for when experiencing jet lag, with night menus also. A cosy room with traditional Indonesian textiles, although the windows are thin so you can actually wake up to the sound of muslim prayer at 4 a.m.! It is very central, in a nice part of the city right next to the huge Great Indonesia shopping centre. Kiehl's products and the welcoming drink are a very nice touch!

I asked for an early check in and as soon as I was at the front desk they had already printed everything and called a taxi! The only issue I think should be taken care of is the poor communication from the staff, there is a lot of misunderstanding and - as it is everywhere in Indonesia - they don't speak english! I mean at a hotel you expect to have staff that speaks english above the average right? It didn't seem like a requirement when applying for a job in here...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcfulcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a hotel that does many things well.

1) Chic Stylish Design
2) Good warm friendly service
3) Quality Kiel's toiletries
4) Good reasonable offering with NGC, Discovery and many more on TV.
5) Good rooftop bar! Just put on insect repellant to ward off the mozzies. Darn annoying.
6) I have to mention this last because it's a very significant point. The rain shower had excellent pressure and it was one of the most memorable hotel baths for me. So far, not many hotels can get a good pressure for rain showers, not even big international hotels. I've only experienced it at a hotel in Taipei and this is the second one. Thumbs up! I don't know how they manage to pull it off. They must have had a good plumber!

The bad
1) The food. Very limited menu in the afternoon and evening. Mainly Asian fare which was just passable. The breakfast was also very limited in variety. The eggs benedict...seriously...I don't know where the chef got the recipe for that from. It was a very sad benedict. No hollandaise sauce and the bread below wasn't toasted. Disappointed.

2) As with many hotels in Indonesia. The bathroom reeked of a bad smell. It seemed to be coming from the drains or something.

3) The room was really tiny.

4) Sound-proofing or double glazed windows need to be installed. Rather noisy throughout the day until late in the night.

5) I had the receptionist get the staff to get me a taxi. And she seemed surprised or shocked that I was still around when the taxi had already arrived. I mean... I should have been informed about the arrival. How else would i know?

Be careful there. I had the taxi driver try to pull a fast one on me by telling me he had to charge me 40,000 for making a booking. I stood my ground and he backed off. My first bad experience with BlueBird.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slytherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights.

Its really a chic, arty hotel. You can see groups or individuals just having food or a drink at the coffee house all the time. I did not find the food that amazing though.

Its a small hotel. The rooms are rather small. But comfortable for 2 people. Nice shower, kiehl amenities, satellite channels etc. The price point for this was abt right.

The location is also good, close to the big malls. And they provide free shuttle service as well.

The staff were also very helpful giving tips on where to go and eat etc.

Good value for money for a short stay in Jkt.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manhattancard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#2 of 459 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Gran Melia Jakarta
#16 of 459 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Mercure Jakarta Sabang
#35 of 459 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kosenda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosenda Hotel

Property: Kosenda Hotel
Address: Jln. KH Wahid Hasyim No. 127, Jakarta 10240, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 459 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kosenda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" Indonesia's first design Hotel in Jakarta where every corner tells a story. Situated in Thamrin, Kosenda Hotel is the perfect place to experience Jakarta and its surroundings in the disctrict business area, and embassies; Japan, Spain, France, US and Germany. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. In the heart of bustling Jakarta, Kosenda Hotel stands like a beacon of design and originality. Part 21st century architectural landmark, part mid-century aesthetic, Kosenda delivers a fun, funky escape with 60 distinct rooms. The excitement of Southeast Asian cooking comes together in a melting pot of flavours at Waha Kitchen. Produced by a notable Melbourne and Sydney restaurateur of 25 years, the cuisine is refined, beautifully balanced and served with skill. On the rooftop at Awan Lounge, city views mingle with sizzling bite-sized Asian tapas and buckets of beer making this a top spot to enjoy Jakarta's sparkling nightlights.127 Cafe seems like a world away from the bustle of Jakarta,surrounded by the sounds of with of gurgling water and the stillness of towering green bamboo. " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kosenda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing