We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but still lots of improvement needed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Ranked #23 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Good but still lots of improvement needed...”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Being a new hotel, I have nothing to comment in terms of the façade as it is certainly spanking clean.

It is rare that I write a review of the hotel while still staying here but somehow I felt compelled to comment on my experience. Location wise, was told it is not in the most accessible area but it took me less than 1 hour to get to the hotel at the airport which is good.

The 2 issues that I wished to raise was with the staff as I think they still need more trainings. I called the service centre 2 times and on both incidents were not very satisfied with the service. I called to ask for the facilities in their fitness centre and was told that he has to call the fitness centre to check it out before coming back which I felt would have been better if he is able to provide correct and prompt answers.

The other issue is that as I was tired and did not want to get out, I have called for in room dining and was informed that the dish I want is not available for room service despite being listed. I then said I will go to the restaurant then to try other food and I was pleasantly surprised when I found out the dish I wanted was available in the restaurant so I am really puzzled by the reply of the call centre.

Overall, the stay in this hotel has been so far very good in terms of overall service of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_TravellerSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear The_TravellerSg,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the brand new DoubleTree by Hilton Jakarta-Diponegoro. We value your feedback as it helps us to focus on what is important to our guests.

Whilst we appreciate your commendation on facilities and location, it is regrettable to know about the inconveniences caused by the lack of product knowledge and attentive service by some of our team members; please accept our sincere apologies. Your comments were immediately brought up to the departments concerned in order to conduct the necessary additional training including counseling.

I wish we get the opportunity to show you the true DoubleTree by Hilton service and Make it Right for you still within this visit, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance

Kind regards,

Robert Gauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    365
    79
    22
    8
See reviews for
278
169
90
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

everything is good the only one not convenience is internet is not free, everywhere with the same star hotel or even low star all internet is free. so please make it internet in the room is free not only in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dewi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Dewi T,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and review our true DoubleTree by Hilton CARE service and product. We value your feedback as it helps us to focus on what is important to our guests.

Rest assured that your comments were well noted and will be part of our weekly discussions about service and product enhancements.

Allow me to share with you that Internet in guest rooms is available for Hilton HHonors Gold and Diamond members in a complimentary basis.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Robert Gauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

By all accounts and that include the local taxi drivers, this is a new hotel in Jakarta. Situated in an established area of the city, Cikini, close to Menteng where then embassies are, the hotel is nicely positioned away from the hustle and bustle.

Check in was smooth, receptionists and bellboy were efficient and very friendly. Got my favourite Doubletree choc chip cookies so that was perfect!. I used the lobby restaurant and the gym and again staff service were impeccable.

The only thing that spoiled my stay was that the temperature control i the room's air-con didn't work. The hotel staff tried to help me but it was stuck on 16 degrees for hours so i decided to switch it off. It was still a cold room for the entire night. The toilet flush got stuck a couple of times and The kettle didn't work either, the button kept slipping. Front door wouldn't close by itself and had to make sure it was pushed close. One nice thing was the security called my room to inform me the first time it happened - I wasn't even aware of it.

The bed was fantastic, room is nicely decorated, the ground floor restaurant is great, food was of high quality and the hotel is beautifully designed.

I will come back but I hope they will improve their equipments.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the pool downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weezkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear weezkid,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the brand new DoubleTree by Hilton Jakarta-Diponegoro. We value your feedback as it helps us to focus on what is important to our guests.

Whilst we appreciate your commendation on our service, team members, facilities and location, it is regrettable to know about the inconveniences caused by the AC, toilet flush and entrance door of your room; please accept our sincere apologies. Your comments were immediately brought up to the department concerned in order to make the necessary changes.

Please rest assured that your kind words were conveyed to the team with great appreciation.

My team and I are looking forward to welcome you back to your home away from home in Jakarta!

Kind regards,

Robert Gauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A good & new place with great facilities for leisure in the middle of Jakarta. Too bad there were no special promotion both on room & dining rate. Also the spa & jacuzzi still weren't available when we stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Maria Clara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Maria Clara N,

My team and I are delighted that you've had a comfortable stay and was well-taken care of during your recent stay, experiencing the first and brand new DoubleTree by Hilton in Indonesia!

You will be glad to know that our Spa is scheduled to open early Sep.

For seasonal promotions please visit JakartaDiponegoro.DoubleTree.com

We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Robert Gauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Good hotel for all of occasions either Business, Family or just solo. Please take care on the breakfast foods, increase the internet connection and reducer the noise of train noise. ALL of infrastructure are excellent and the service is good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ford Lumban G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ford Lumban G,

Thank you for choosing the first DoubleTree by Hilton in Indonesia as your home away from home in Jakarta and for sharing your experience with us. Your endorsement encourage us to do even better!

Rest assured that your comments were well noted and will be part of our weekly discussions about service and product enhancements.

We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Robert Gauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I actually booked one night with DoubleTree right before it opened up since I got a really good deal with Expedia on my return trip to Jakarta. I now wish I had stayed a couple more nights. This is one of the best hotels I ever stayed at.

When you check-in, you are given a warm chocolate chip cookie (I bought two more later, they were that good). The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Since it is a new hotel, there will be some opening pains (this being the second hotel this year that had a grand opening). My shower door does not open all the way. I could get through to the shower but a larger person may have more difficulty. I hope that is fixed soon. The water bottles were too small. No free wifi either which is one of my biggest complaints since Pullman Jakarta offers free wifi.

Location wise, I loved it but I do not like being around other tourists or hotels. There is a McDonalds and Starbucks nearby. Unfortunately the street is too crowded and sidewalks are filled with vendors, cars and motorbikes. I found it safe but it probably would not be an ideal location to walk for a first timer in Jakarta. No worries, you are a short taxi from many good locations in Jakarta.

If you are adventurous, you can try the street food nearby at night. You can also take the train around the city as well since a station is nearby.

For me, I really liked the hotel. Will I return again? Hard to say since I do prefer to walk around easily.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SaigonNezumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear SaigonNezumi,

My team and I are delighted that you've had a comfortable stay and was well-taken care of during your recent stay, experiencing the first and brand new DoubleTree by Hilton in Indonesia, our CARE service and facilities.. a small oasis in the heart of Jakarta!

At the DoubleTree by Hilton, we believe that the little things we do, adds up to Create A Rewarding Experience for our guests (CARE) and our hospitality starts with a warm chocolate chip cookie which we are happy to hear you liked as much as we do!

Thank you for bringing up to our attention that the shower glass door in the room you have stayed was not fully opening, this is due to the frame being new, which have since adjusted accordingly.

Allow me to share with you that Internet in guest rooms is available for Hilton HHonors Gold and Diamond members in a complimentary basis. Also, all our public areas besides the lobby, including restaurants, offer complimentary internet to all guests.

You will be glad to know that scheduled weekend shuttle service is available to a major mall at the CBD.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Robert Gauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alto, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

First, let's talk inside the security gate. This brand new hotel is very nice, great A/V equipment in room (including Iphone player, large LG TVs, and very good internet). Staff is excellent of course (it is Jakarta after all) and exec lounge is pretty good. Pool and exercise facilities are first rate, and the Open kitchen dining is great. So why mixed feelings and only 3 stars? Location, location, location. Why they decided to build this beautiful facility where they did is a mystery to me. There are ZERO dining and entertainment options close by (Ok there is a McDonalds 1 km away) so walking anywhere is not an option. So you lock yourself into a 7-10km taxi ride to go to Hard Rock or anywhere other than the hotel. Yes, taxis are cheap and plentiful, but this is Jakarta, and now you're looking at a minimum half hour ride to get anywhere. OK, if you have business at the Palestine Embassy (which is right across the road) this is an ideal hotel. If not, and you like to see more of the sights than the local slums and embassies, you might want to keep looking. Sorry Doubletree, why didn't you follow your lead in KL, where the hotel is right near the Golden Triangle?

Room Tip: It's close to the train station, so will get some noise at night. Also, they only have 2 elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree J, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Dan A,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and review our true DoubleTree by Hilton CARE service and product. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience!

We value your feedback as it helps us to focus on what is important to our guests.

In order to enhance the experience within the property, I would like to share with you that our Spa is scheduled to open early Sep, a scheduled weekend shuttle service to a major mall at the CBD is available and our specially restaurant serving Mediterranean cuisine with local flair will open its doors late this year.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Robert Gauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
The Hermitage Jakarta
The Hermitage Jakarta
#5 of 464 in Jakarta
339 reviews
Gran Melia Jakarta
#22 of 464 in Jakarta
1,087 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#17 of 464 in Jakarta
1,485 reviews
Grogol Petamburan
Pullman Jakarta Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro
Address: Jl. Pegangsaan Timur no 17, Cikini, Jakarta 10310, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Jakarta - Diponegoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing