We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sepa Island Resort Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$134
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$57
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$172
US$157
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$263
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$66
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$17
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
6
13
22
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
13
22
12
9
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Took a group of 12 folks to tour some of the islands and Sepa was the first. They did allow us to come ashore and charged each person 100,000 IDR for about 3 hours of time on the island. No tour of the facilities was given so we were left to explore on our own. That said, the facilities seemed a bit run down but suitable.
The dive shop is SSI and did offer gear and air at a fair price. Dock personell were eager to help.
I did not stay the night so can not rate the rooms or food. Not overly impressed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I went as part of a diving trip. The island resort itself, the accommodation and the diving were nothing special.

The room was extremely basic for the money just like a basic bunk room. However they had added A.C and a T.V (with awful reception). The bathroom was just a basic Indonesian style bathroom with a cold sea water mandi.

If you don't like the food in the restaurant you are stuck as there isn't any other choices.

The diving itself was nothing special. There are much nicer places to dive in Indonesia. However if you are not diving I don't really see much reason to visit the island as there isn't really anything to do.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chezalaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We made a two night reservation here through a travel agent for a quick get away from Jakarta. We were given a room that was smelly and moldy. Unfortunately did not have an option to change rooms, or get out of this place (given it is an Island), as it was full over a long weekend. Like the other comment the room we got had a giant rat in it and we did not get any sleep. We were given a better room the second night after complaining.. It was just slightly cleaner.
This place should not be called resort! The food was ok and the quality is questionable. not clean at all!,, The water comes from a well it seemed and had to use it for washing and was salty. Could not use it for brushing teeth. The linen was old and musty!
The only good thing about the place was the beach which we spent the entire day at. The snorkeling and water sports were decent. The safety is however not that great.
The boat that took us to the island and back was old and one the way back It rained and It was not at all pleasant.... the kids were really nervous and so was I. I would not go back!!
Not worth paying five star price for this! What a scam!!!!!!!!!!
I would rather fly to Thailand.!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We planned to escape the weekend with our 1 1/2 old child. We thought Sepa island is a good choice.

First of all, they have no baby cot. You need to bring yours.

The island is 90 min from Jakarta by boat and bigger than other islands in that region. However, the island is devided by different owners and you cannot walk around the island. You need to stay in the premises of the resort ... And that is not too big. You do it in 10 min walking.

What else do you do on the island? The beach is not so bad. Water is clean and ok for snorkeling. Apart from that you spend your day waiting for the food. My wife went to the kitchen to ask for some milk. She saw bugs everywhere and the staff smoking in the kitchen.... That was enough for us having any food. But there is no other option. You need to eat what is cooked for everyone.

We décided to go early to bed. Not only did the room smell badly, everything was pretty old.

We put a mosquito net around the baby cot and went to sleep. At 3 am my wife woke me up. She was an animal in the room.. I looked behind the cupboard and found a rat... You can imagine our excitement.

The remaining time on the island was a fight against the time to leave that place.

We met two other families on the island. The were supposed to stay longer. They left also the day after.

Only the locals seemed to enjoy. They spent their time watching TV, taking pictures or sending messages with their mobile phones.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cedrovichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We went there on August 31st, 2011 using speed boat Charter, Maharani 1. We did not stay at the hotel, only visiting this island.

Entrance fee is Rp 70.000 / person
if you want to have lunch there, costs Rp 150.000/ person for entrance and lunch
Snorkeling equipment rental is Rp 85.000/ set

Three colours sea view with turqoise, dark red, and blue color.

The guardian said, be carefull when going to the dark red sea,there are so many sea urchins there.

We were snorkeling not too far from the beach, white sands beach, but when you step into the sea, be careful with the corals, keep swimming over 5 metres from the beach,
Our children had so much fun in this island.

You can feed the fist in the water with some bread or rice in your hands, then the fishes will come over,

We were so happy when finding this island, we want to show to our children, there is a clean and nice beach near Jakarta, only 1.5 hours from Marina Ancol.

When i saw the accommodation, i think they are clean enough.
There are few of local tourists, mostly are overseas guests, so it's really comfortable.

This island is really good for weekend escape, or family gathering.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarineDylant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews