We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some care and attention but not...bad?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jakarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sepa Island Resort Hotel
Ranked #249 of 470 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our trip to Sepa was our first adventure to Pulau Seribu, the 2 hour boat ride was warm (no AC) and a good idea to get on the boat early to get a seat.

The Flipper room we had was fine, 2 single beds stuck together (not a double), it was in need of maintenance. Sheets were clean, bed was firm, pillows were uncomfortable (bring your own).

The aircon works and the bathroom is a concrete cave with no hot water, shower during the day or on the jetty. A few tiles were broken and the toilet seat was detachable (not sure if this was an added feature).

These rooms do have a beautiful view of the sunset from the balcony (best part of this room), if you can look past the fact that litter and flotsam are just swept against the seawall rather than being picked up. Also another reason to bring a pillow is so that you can use the bed pillows to make the bamboo and rattan chairs outside a little more comfortable if you're planning on reading a book.

There is no fridge and no furniture for storing your luggage on, however there is a TV and a kettle, so bring your own instant coffee and biscuits (cookie's for the Americans).

Also bring your own beach towels as they are not provided, if you have them also bring reef shoes and snorkel gear as the islands reef isn't too bad.

Since the island is full board the food is all Indonesian style (the occasional fried potato chip), as a general rule the deep fried food was best: fried chicken, squid, pisang goreng for afternoon tea, chicken fingers. Most of the vegetables were pretty good, we steered away from the fried noodles. Lots of fruit is available.

Breakfast is probably the hardest for a westerner to adjust to, thus if you feeling a little less adventurous take single serve cereal and some small UHT milk boxes, handy for the coffee too.

Key food points:
Be early or on-time for meals (otherwise you might miss out on the best stuff and it's not warm when it comes out), and get a seat as FAR away from the band as possible. Outside is good.

Afternoon tea (Pisang Goreng) is a highlight on this island, along with a cup of coffee is perfect. Other islands do not offer this so enjoy it.

Other things to note: if you enjoy a relaxing cold alcoholic beverage I suggest you bring spirits and purchase cold mixers on the island.

We would return if our preferred island (Putri) wasn't available and we HAD to get out of Jakarta.

Room Tip: Flipper rooms are away from the noise, don't book the cheapest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ive_Been_There_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

i have my open water diving license in jakarta, then the exam is in sepa island. i don't know exactly how much i have to pay for staying in this resort, because i paid including the diving certification from planet diving.i stay for 2D/1N, and have 4 times dives. we took a boat from 19th dock at marina ancol, the boat is okay. except we r in the same boat with bunch of foreigner that really drunk! it's annoying because they speak very loud, singing very loud, one girls trying to strip dance in the captain room and climb up to the roof of the boat! so the captain stop the boat, untill the girl get down. for sure we didn't want to get close with them in the island, and trying to have our room far away from them.
we have our own diving equipment except oxygen tank and weight belt. the diving staff is very good, they provide our equipment very well. they arrange our boat to the diving site.the diving service is good.
i feel the same with everyone else who write the review, the room is really poor! i was find out how much its cost per night in flipper room and with around 1,4 million IDR/night, its really not worthed! yes i have an AC and TV, but i don't need that at all. the room is very very poor, the bathroom is not clean, the shower is not working well, the wall is only a thin plywood. i can have 5 star hotel with that money in bali or lombok! but u don't have another accommodation choice in this island, u have to accept that. the food is not good, but they just serve a buffet. I'm a starving diver... i will eat everything they serve.
and i agree, the nature is great! this island have interesting dive site, shipwreck dive site is not far from this island. even u r not diving, this island still have a great beach and u can snorkeling around the island with a good condition coral, and if u r lucky u can meet turtles.
well...over all, it depends on ur purpose to get to this resort. if u want to find convenient resort, u will be disappointed. i go to this island to dive...so i spent a lot of time in the ocean, not in my room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngesti_ara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

If you have nothing to do in Jakarta and want to be close to nature and spend some time with yourself, this can be a place. But dont expect cleanliness in rooms, up to date furniture or any facilities. Things here are just sufficient to feed yourself and sleep. You can enjoy sun rise and sunset, go for snorkelling or some more sea games (rates at par with any 5 star location). Not a Holiday destination at all as its a very small island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank manish_dec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We take 2hour small boat trip from Ancol marina, only 5 people at that day including us, so the island is a bit quiet. The island itself is a bit dated and not well taken care. the food, the facilities, and the room is really poor. The only memorable moment is when we took trip with small boat to enjoy the surroundings, Karang Atol and Pulau Dolphin is very tranquil and beautiful. 1 Night is enough in the island, no need to stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This island is the most far from the Islands of Seribu (thousand island) so I chose because i hope its more cleaner and quieter. There is so many small isle in this area. Its actually good idea to just rest from busy jakarta here, but the accommodation and facility is so poor :( . The boat that took us from Marina bay Ancol is very good actually, its a speed boat with 600 hp engine so i think the resort will be as luxury as the boat, but in the end we bit disappointed with the room, its just old room with smell like barn. for 160 us$ ... its just too much. the food also so low in quality for a resort ! they should do more care with clean n sanitation in the kitchen area! there are no choice here, you eat what island people eat :( . the most great was only the staff ! they are so friendly and so will in helping you , guiding in the snorkeling area or diving. Well enough with the resort! the island is good actually the beach is white sand beach and the snorkel and diving just ok not so special. so many sea urchin in the beach so better watch out your kids. the most bothering us just the plastic bottle in the beach, for this i think Indonesian should more learn about cleanliness for their country and future !

Room Tip: just choose the most clean and not old barn smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank faozanrizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I've been around enjoying beaches and islands. The beach and the underwater experience here is amazing but, still no better than Phuket Thailand. Its a 90 minutes boat ride from ancol marina

The price for 1 adult per night is US$180 and the next night US$120. So if u stay her for 3 nights, US$180 + 120 + 120 = 420US$, its just a Rip OFF!! Round trip airfare to Thailand is around 420US$ during low season!

The worst part of it, is not only being super expensive, its a feel of ghetto. The bed is moldy, the rooms are old, the floors are not sweeped or clean properly! The bathroom is all rusty! Monitor lizards, roam the islands, and not everyone is comfortable around them. The meal is terrible! Don't get trapped by their lies, its a place of regrets going here!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank normanngjkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Took a group of 12 folks to tour some of the islands and Sepa was the first. They did allow us to come ashore and charged each person 100,000 IDR for about 3 hours of time on the island. No tour of the facilities was given so we were left to explore on our own. That said, the facilities seemed a bit run down but suitable.
The dive shop is SSI and did offer gear and air at a fair price. Dock personell were eager to help.
I did not stay the night so can not rate the rooms or food. Not overly impressed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Mercure Convention Center
#100 of 470 in Jakarta
1,028 reviews
Pulau Ayer Resort & Cottages
#167 of 470 in Jakarta
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepa Island Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepa Island Resort Hotel

Address: Jln. Sepat | Kab. Adm. Kep. Seribu, Jakarta 14450, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jakarta
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Sepa Island Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing