We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget and Clean Enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paragon Gallery Hotel
Ranked #371 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Budget and Clean Enough”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Located in strategic Menteng area, there's a minimarket and several little restaurant around.
I stayed for two days, and it was very cheap for about USD.38 pernight. An old hotel but still in a good maintenance. The room was clean with cable tv channel and quite aircon. Breakfast and room service menu was fresh and delicious. Value for money, for those budget rate.

Room Tip: choose a room facing to the front, you can enjoying Monas at the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irwan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
3
9
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for one night, the first night of my Intrepid trip, Jakarta to Ubud and was really pleased with this hotel. This is definitely above a backpackers hotel which I am used to, so this was abit luxury for me, after travelling around Vietnam and Thailand the previous months. Bathroom was fantastic. Boiling hot water and very spacious. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Can never have enough Nasi Goreng! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottdogg90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newfoundland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I had read so many bad reviews on this hotel that I considered staying elsewhere at the beginning of my Intrepid tour. Honestly, it is fine. No it isn't five star but if you can't do a hotel like this, you probably shouldn't be on the Intrepid tour. Hotels on Java are not western standards especially as it pertains to cleanliness. If you move the furniture,you will find dust but the beds were clean and the rooms were entirely adequate. I would not discourage someone from staying here at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baileshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Previous reviews have not been encouraging, mentioning dirty rooms and bed linen, It seems that the hotel took notice. On my recent stay in Paragon Hotel, the room was clean when I opened the door (and stayed that way for the week afterwards). The bed linen was not only clean, it was also good quality cotton, making for good nights of sleep. The air con worked well and the room was reasonably quiet (I could not hear activities in the neighbouring rooms).
Paragon Hotel is recommended. The breakfasts were good and the dining room is a delightful place to start each day. The rooms were large enough, the bathrooms clean and well lit. I liked the 'gallery' effect, with a central planted courtyard and the staff were more than obliging.
The hotel is very well situated amongst a large variety of outside eating options, from footpath warungs to quite fancy sit-down restaurants. There's a good shopping area nearby (including Sarinah Department Store and a cinema complex), and the hotel is only a few blocks from Gembir Station.
The only downside is that the hotel clearly permits smoking in the rooms and in the dining room. I gather that there are non-smoking rooms. I should have asked for one - that would have prevented me from waking up every morning with a sore throat from the smoke that seeped into the curtains, carpets and every corner of my room.
The Paragon was clean, convenient and with helpful, friendly staff. Furthermore, the local art and craft placed around the hotel reminded you of where you were, a delightful touch. The Paragon is recommended.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, choose a non-smoking room. If you are a smoker, whether the hotel permits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidrorippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here not by choice, but as it was the first night of an organised Intrepid tour.

The rooms are small and the air conditioning completely useless, which resulted in a bad nights sleep. The bathrooms aren't great. Moldy dirty ares and as someone else has already mentioned burn marks on the bin! Is this standard in all rooms?!

On the plus the side the staff were very helpful and excellent at English. Breakfast was ok, not the worst, but not the best either.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Where_Magic_Happens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jakarta hotels

uk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed one night here as Intrepid start their tour from this hotel. Had we known how dreadful it is, we would have stayed where we were for an extra night. This is, without a doubt, the dirtiest hotel I have stayed in. We arrived to find a young lad making up the bed. When I looked a few minutes later there were 2 long hairs on the sheet (clearly not his) and a brown mark. We asked for the sheet to be changed. He returned with several sheets and went through a number of them until he found one without a stain on. The bed smelt, the room smelt, the shower cubicle had black mould growing up it. The door of the shower cubicle did not open. We had, in any case, no intention of showering in it.
The small plastic bin lid was dirty and covered with cigarette burns. The open shelves in the bedroom had ingrained dirt on them.
One word to describe the place... filthy! Don't go there.

Room Tip: We stayed the previous night in the Novotel Gajah Mada which was clean and good value at £42 per dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimosauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

The rooms are adequate but the downfall of this hotel is its state of cleanliness. The bathrooms are very dirty with mildew, blackened grout and appear as if only occasionally cleaned. It's the hotel intrepid travel chooses as its base in Jakarta for trips starting there. As often seems to be the case with that company it's choice if hotels is ill advised. Best news is that you normally only stay one night. Hotel is located a 20 minute walk from national monument so there is somewhere to go to avoid being in the room. Breakfast is ok but they use a waffle iron for a toaster so best you will get is some warmed flattened bread. There must be better places to stay in Jakarta.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
B Shaw Hotel & Restaurant
B Shaw Hotel & Restaurant
#239 of 464 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Cipta
Hotel Cipta
#255 of 464 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Menteng
New Metro Hotel
New Metro Hotel
#318 of 464 in Jakarta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Menteng
Whiz Hotel Cikini
Whiz Hotel Cikini
#200 of 464 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Menteng
Grand Cemara Hotel
Grand Cemara Hotel
#206 of 464 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
MaxOneHotels at Sabang
#130 of 464 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paragon Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paragon Gallery Hotel

Property: Paragon Gallery Hotel
Address: Jl. KH Wahid Hasyim 29, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paragon Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paragon Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing