We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kristal
Ranked #53 of 456 Hotels in Jakarta
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Kristal because I was a conference at the nearby Jakarta International School. The room was good: the bed slept well, the air conditioning was efficient and easy to use, the TV had lots of good channels in English, the kitchenette was more than adequate, the bathroom was clean and had lots of hot water. The entire room was quite clean and comfortable. The hotel on the whole shows a little wear but nothing serious.
I enjoyed the pool, but did not have a chance to use the spa, exercise room or any other facilities. I would stay away from the bar/lounge once the nightlife starts up. The band is very loud and the clientele gets a little dicey. A pint of beer was $11 so that was another turn off. I had one meal in the bar/lounge and it was OK, but the smokey smell from the night(s) before is still strong. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating.
If I were in Jakarta for another conference at JIS, I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crowriverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    149
    60
    13
    3
See reviews for
65
12
18
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I began to stay in Hotel Kristal, since 2007 till last year, every summer or easter holiday, each time me and my husband and kids went to Jakarta. This hotel apartment is good, not a five star apartment, but they have all the required facilities, like Internet, fitness centre, nice big pool, children playground, bar, and main restaurant, Coffee shop, and function rooms. I used the function room, once, for my daughter's birthday. It was great, they're really trying their best to make the party went well. They also have room service, which was convinient for us, whenever we didn't cook. We have stayed either in the 2 or 3 bedroom apartment. And all those time, with the great service from the staff, we always enjoyed our stay. If they refreshed the hotel (apartment) that would be a bigger plus. Keep it up !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1,155 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

overall the hotel is very good. Unfortunately it was let down by quite a few problems: accounting errors - we were charged for a service never had. This was corrected but the same charge reappeared on a later bill. There were other items but of a smaller nature that were corrected.
The pool is great and the restaurant also very good. Unfortunately, they allow smoking in this restaurant which is most annoying.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed for business trip and was OK, good pool, Gym was pretty busy every night which was a little annoying.

Breakfast was OK, nothing over the top however could have some more fruit

Pub and dinner was good and staff friendly.

Rooms good and internet worked well.

As with anything in Jakarta, painful to get to in a car so be prepared to wait in traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarryTanner67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

This place was great for the long term rental we needed while our house was getting ready. Stayed with one child. The room was fine for what we needed. The kitchen and laundry facilities were very convenient. The staff was so informative and friendly. They told us basically everything we would need to know for living in Jakarta. They taught us some basic Bahasa so we could get around. The restaurant wasn't the best. This is a good hotel to stay in if you want to be in the south (Close to Jakarta International School, malls and expat grocery store). The pool is great! Was a great welcoming experience.

Room Tip: pool view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibucourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al-Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I was stayed in Krystal hotel for a business trip. It was an average hotel and things are ok with me 4 days stay. And little smokey atmosphere and not good for non-smoking people. Swimming pool is good and lobby is little conjusted. Breakfast not much tastey for me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakeMeBusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Currently (January 2013) the hotel is undergoing major renovations so we we not able to full assess all the facilities, all comments are made with that in mind.

Accommodation: We had a standard room on the 3rd floor. From the look of the room it is one that is yet to be renovated (I hope) but even so it was very comfortable and set out nicely. The bed was hardish but not too bad. There was a lovely comfortable 2 seat sofa from which the television could be watched and plenty of lamps and other lighting for reading and relaxing.

Working: The work table where the power outlet is was a little small and really only allowed the laptop and the chargers to be placed. The power outlet had a multi adapter in it, but you can only use the front port of this as the painting on the wall makes using the top port of the adapter impossible to use, so could only charge one device at a time, minor issue, but annoying when two people with four phones, two tablets and two laptops. There are other outlets but you need your own adapter for those. Lighting was good for the worktable, so overall it was ok but the table could be a little larger

Bathroom: Hopefully this was not yet renovated as it was very old looking. Very serviceable and very clean but old. The water from the shower was hot and strong, a real treat in many places, but the floor of the bathroom gets sodden no matter how you arrange the shower curtain. The bathroom cabinet had plenty of space to put all your essentials. As I said, clean and serviceable but old.

Kitchen: Yes it has a kitchen, well kind of. A water dispenser which was a brilliant idea, no more having to worry about getting bottled water, and it worked for hot and cold. But a microwave would have been ideal. I understand that if you ask for it they will find one for you, but dont worry the supermarket next door doesnt have any microwave meals anyway.

Location: The hotel is right near the Jakarta International School so traffic is horrendous between 7am and 8am and again from 3 to 4pm. Other times of hte day the traffic is just bad, but its horrendous at school times. The road is busy as it is a major connection from one part of Jakarta Selatan to other parts and is only one lane each way and plenty of people coming into the road from condo blocks and the hotel. It is busy pretty much all day every day, expect to wake at 5.30am as the motorcycle traffic starts up and the local mosque starts its call. Fortunately they serve breakfast from 5.30am so good time to get up, shower and have an early breakfast!

Restaurants: Due to the renovations we were only able to try the temporary restaurant at "Next Door" for breakfast. The bar here "Satu Lagi" is busy all the time by the look of it. Be warned though, smoking indoors is still permitted in Indonesia so if you dont like cigarette smoke full bore, you will not enjoy this bar. Each time I went in there seemed to be a few people smoking rather pungent cigars as well. So this meant that trying to enjoy the allegedly great steaks and ribs of Satu Lagi would mean dragging down 100MG of tar from the group puffing away from us. We retreated to room service most nights and headed out for nasi padang in the street on the others. We did have breakfast in the cafe one morning, neither the pastry nor the coffee would tempt me to return. WIll stock up outside next time and make do with a late breakfast elsewhere.

Pool etc: Well there was a major flood while we were there so no chance to use th pool, but it looked lovely and many said it was a great place to meet other visitors on the weekends etc.

Service: Very friendly, very accommodating, very prompt, nothing was too much trouble for the staff from the front door to room service. Obviously very accustomed to dealing with westerners but were also very polite and helpful for Indonesian guests which is not often the case in some bigger hotels in jakarta. Good job.

All in all it was a pleasant experience, no doubt we will be using it again, hopefully the renovations will be over soon so we can enjoy more of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegisint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Swiss-Belhotel Pondok Indah
#96 of 456 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Mercure Jakarta Simatupang
#33 of 456 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swiss-Belinn Simatupang
#111 of 456 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
The Bellevue Suites
#207 of 456 in Jakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Cilandak
Park 5 Hotel
Park 5 Hotel
#98 of 456 in Jakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal

Property: Hotel Kristal
Address: Jln. Tarogong Raya | Cilandak Barat, Jakarta 12430, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#39 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#50 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kristal 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kristal has a unique combination of hotel service and apartment accommodation, which offers 320 one, two and three bedroom suites and 8 penthouses (2 with private swimming pools). Each suite is equipped with IDD telephone, air conditioning, cable TV with 56 channels, kitchenette, refrigerator, water dispenser and standard guest amenities. We provide daily housekeeping service. For families with children, the little ones thrive in our special bedrooms with bunk beds and Cartoon Network on their own TV set. There is also a playground, tennis court and swimming pool for outdoor activities. Non-smoking floors are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristal Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing