We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding but tired rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kartika Chandra Hotel
Ranked #250 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were invited to attend a wedding in Jakarta so decided to stay at the same hotel as the ceremony and duly flew in the day prior to the event. Firstly, they had no booking for us although we had our voucher to prove a room had been booked. Then we thought we would have lunch before looking at our surroundings and signed the chit with our room number written on it. Only a minute or two later, there was a knock at the door saying that we had to pay in cash as nothing could be charged to our room. So we paid up and started to unpack. The room itself was quite large and must have been great when the Hotel was first built but paint is scratched and the whole appearance looks tired and old now. The bed was comfortable and the shower was strong and hot so they were definite pluses. The next morning we went down to the wedding and found a beautiful flower filled room with plenty of seating and in which all comforts were attended. Then followed a lovely reception with many types of food on offer - Indian, Indonesian and Western included - and all well presented and in plentiful supply! So the lobby and wedding reception areas are terrific - they just need to renovate the rooms gradually to bring it up to modern standards.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and the view was of the lower roof top or the traffic of Jakarta. Maybe a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nera0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is a old one, but has spacious rooms, clean and cozy. I felt at home in the hotel, which is located at the downtown of Jakarta. I stated for one night and the most part of the following day. The authority permitted me late check out without any additional cost.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohammed H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

One sentence, G-E-T A-N U-P-G-R-A-D-E! I bet this hotel had its golden age back then, my parents said it was a prestigious hotel on its era. Why don't you bring those moments come alive? When you start little, I think it can be turn out to be great. You can start with the hairdryer or TV, maybe? They probably are older than me. Oh i found a mount of dirt behind the side tables and the bed lamps in my room were kind of shorted, it's quite annoying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gentur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

In Jakarta, I usually stay in Kartika Chandra. Conveniently located in Semagi. There is a bus from the airport that departs every hour to this exact location. The cost currently is only IDR 40,000 and look for the XTRAN bus company.

Planet Hollywood and XXI cinema is just next door, and on the other side is a location all in the same compound. Ever ready Blue Bird taxis available and circa IDR50,000 for travels to Grand Indonesia or Gaja Madah areas.

Rooms although ok, deserves an uplift. It is a pale shadow of what it used to be. No complaints on wifi, buffet breakfast, cable television, etc. Daily rate is reasonable too.

To be fair, place is rather popular with locals so tourists have to manage expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWNYsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I booked fairly last-minute, and was looking for a reasonably priced property in the center of Jakarta for a couple of nights. The reviews were not great, but the price was fine.
On arrival I found a hotel that has been upgrading and re-furbising rooms-- I was in a newly done room-- large, clean and smoke-free. The bed was comfortable and the staff was helpful whenever I needed anything.
If there was a downside, it was the location-- not a great deal in close walking distance 9except Cinema and Hard Rock) and the traffice was ugly when going by cab.
The strange thing-- no fault of the hotel, is that I had 2 separate taxi drivers who were not able to find the place-- and I KNOW this hotel has been here for a long time.
In general a property I would use again-- and reccommend for anyone with business in that area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Found stains and old wallpaper also 90's TV &hair drier. Cleaning service were good but they still left tiny dust on interior. Quite expensive for old hotel but the location really help for someone who does business purpose in Jakarta. Next to it a movie theatre XXI Planet Hollywod so you can immediately jump to the area for some happening movies :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnezenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This Hotel has been around for a long time. Everybody seemed to know and is aware of Kartika Chandra Hotel. One of the oldest hotels in Jakarta I suppose.

I had a short stay at the hotel and all I can say is the rate is affordable, the room is nice, and the location is very strategic (this is the biggest plus). The hotel is located in the city centre, so that you won't spend so much time to get to your destination (especially if you have to go to around Kuningan, Sudirman, and Senayan area as I did back then). Taxis are everywhere, so don't be afraid of not being able to get to your meeting points.

Wouldn't mind to go back there! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeriSuhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
favehotel Gatot Subroto
favehotel Gatot Subroto
#88 of 464 in Jakarta
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avissa Suites
Avissa Suites
#128 of 464 in Jakarta
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aryaduta Semanggi
Aryaduta Semanggi
#123 of 464 in Jakarta
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Puri Denpasar Hotel Jakarta
Puri Denpasar Hotel Jakarta
#227 of 464 in Jakarta
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Grand Citra
Somerset Grand Citra
#217 of 464 in Jakarta
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ayaka Suites
Ayaka Suites
#71 of 464 in Jakarta
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kartika Chandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kartika Chandra Hotel

Address: Kav 18-20 Jl. Jendral Gatot Subroto, Jakarta 12710, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Price Range: £46 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kartika Chandra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 35 minutes from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport, 4-star hotel in Jakarta, Kartika Chandra Hotel, is close to the central business district, embassies, shopping centres, Sea World and Jakarta History Museum. (Google Map) For your accommodation in Jakarta, Kartika Chandra Hotel offers 276 tastefully designed Rooms and Suites, from superior rooms to the penthouse suite. The F&B outlets at Kartika Chandra Hotel will tantalise your tastebuds, offering Indonesian cuisine, Chinese seafood and Teppanyaki. Keep these restaurants in Jakarta in mind when dining in Jakarta. The Kartika Chandra Business Centre features modern office facilities for all your business needs. This Jakarta hotel also has a swimming pool, massage, tennis court, shopping arcades, travel agents, drugstore and a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kartika Chandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing