We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's next to mall (they have food court...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
Ranked #35 of 453 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Borneo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's next to mall (they have food court...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

It's next to mall (they have food court and carrefour grocery store) I always stay here everytime I'm in jakarta. They have good breakfast (the salmon was great) and I was surprised that they also have some dim sum menu (shur pao, chicken feet,etc) the glass wall and door that needed room key to open it was nice, give more privacy and secure feelings. The superior room a little bit too small but the deluxe spacious enough,very clean,highly furnish,very modern, flat screen tv with great selections of channel (my son was feeling at home with the disney and cartoon network channel). I highly recommend this hotel

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    526
    234
    72
    31
See reviews for
290
143
113
474
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

I stayed here again 2 weeks ago. My first time was last year. It's a nice hotel with friendly & well-trained staff. I agree with all the positives the other reviewers have written about this place.

Both times, I arrived around 7 pm & with only 2 people at their front desk downstairs, they were longer-than-normal wait-times in the queue to get checked-in. Checking out the first time last year was a long wait (at noon), so this time I checked out on the 8th floor which was no hassle at at.

I will probably return again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

Having being a frequent visitor to Jakarta primarily for work near Soekarno-Hatta airport, it is refreshing to be able to spend a couple of weekends near the city where there is more to do.

Once you get past the hustle and bustle that defines Jakarta, you will find Novotel Mangga Dua,tp be a respectable, above average hotel located in the same bulding as Mangga Dua Square mall. On this stay, which is my third in the 12 months, they upgraded me to a deluxe room on the 5th floor.

While the room itself was very spacious and comfy, I believe that it must have been located above the mall's cinema as there were times I could faintly hear explosions or rumblings.

The hotel pool is big and well maintained, and shielded from the sun in the mornings and evenings.

Breakfast offered a variety of chinese, local and western food, with a bit of Japanese miso soup and Korean kimchi thrown in.

The mall is a bit bare, but has plenty of dubious DVDs if you are into that sort of thing. It also offers a wide variety of clothing and restaurants, which is convenient.

A Carrefour is also available in the basement of the mall, along with three money changers. I found the money change in the basement offered better rates.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyMatter_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Check in was a breeze and the front desk are helpful and friendly. Book the superior room and was given the executive floor superior (w/o the benefits). It's a pool view on the 9th Floor. Was very happy until I got to the room and notice that It's Pool view are blocked pool view as the windows are half blocked. From the 5th floor to the 8th floor, all windows are full heights from floor to ceiling window except the 9th Floor. A little upset but since we dun spend much time in the room we just ignore it. But room size are generous and furnishing is good. The bed is very comfortable. Bed quality is even better than my other stay at Akmani Hotel. Aircond is also good and the hotel pool is very huge! Breakfast was also quite good for a 4 star hotel. Overall very statisfied with hotel.
Location is good in a sense that it's next to the shopping complex. within 5 mins taxi ride to ITC Mangga Dua and Pasar Pagi. But the shops in Mangga Dua Sq closes at 7.00pm on a saturday. So when I was there at 7.30pm, almost 80% of the shops are closed. Most shops are not exciting as the clothes are very Pasar Malam quality. And the M2 Factory outlet has not nothing fantastic for me. Low to average quality. There's a Cinema within Mangga Dua Sq but last show at 8.30pm. Basically not much night activities. But we had a good massage at Lotus in Mangga Dua Sq. Only 30k for 90mins foot massage. That save my day! Had dinner at the duck king next to hotel and food was good. ITC and Pasar pagi only starts at about 11am. We were there at 10am and stalls are only about to open. Personally prefer Tanah Abang over ITC and Pasar Pagi. But it's about 20mins - 30mins away from Jakarta town but nearer to Airport than the town.
Well, even though I love the hotel very very much, still would prefer to stay in town.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suitejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

This was an excellent hotel. Good location if u would like to go for shopping. The customer service was great, they provide efficient service during check in. The security there was strict as they hav each security guard in every floor. I would like to recommend to all travellers and those who go there for business purpose

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaphneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

This hotel was chosen as a compromise – we were willing to forgo the luxury of big city-centre hotels but not the convenience of having proper facilities (lounge, spa, shopping mall). Location in Ancol is where you can see the more local part of town. Bit far from Kemang or even the city centre if there is any traffic at all, but then again nothing in Jakarta is really nearby.

Lobby is simple and functional, not particularly hot (to us Asians at least), and connects directly to the mall next door. Check-in was smooth with pleasant service, free upgraded room to the Executive Floor ( but ironically to one that was smaller than my original booking). Contrary to some other reviews, finding the room and taking the elevator up was not issue for us – perhaps we were lucky and got good rooms? Solid 3.5 star quality all round, slightly worn but perfectly clean parquet floor, firm but comfy enough bed, new looking bedroom. Cleanliness was ok, not spotless (e.g. some stray hair on floor, not pure white bath towels).

The pool looked big enough, there was a nice spa at reasonable prices, and an old-school lounge with not much atmosphere. The mall next door has severely limited dining options (the shabu shabu in the basement is quantity not quality) unless you live on J-Co doughnuts like me. But very nice experience buying cheap clothes, DVDs etc in a very local and old-school atmosphere.

Overall this is your bog standard tourist class hotel, which for the price is a very good deal. If you can live with the slightly longer distance to central Jakarta and Kemang, this is a great choice if not on a company budget. If on business, the bad traffic into town will probably render any savings you make useless, so go for the Shang/Ritz etc in that case.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePrivateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Sawah Besar
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
Le Grandeur Mangga Dua
#88 of 453 in Jakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
Swiss-Belhotel Mangga Besar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square

Property: Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square
Address: Jln. Gunung Sahari no. 1, Jakarta 14420, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Pademangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#32 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#34 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square is strategically located in the prominent Mangga Dua area, close to the coast - Ancol Dreamland, historical Old Batavia area, as well as to Jakarta International Expo in Kemayoran making it the One Stop Destination in North Jakarta. Novotel hotel is part of a large and modern shopping, entertainment, exhibition, wholesales as well as retail complex known as Mangga Dua Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square Hotel Jakarta
Novotel Hotel Jakarta
Novotel Hotel Mangga Dua
Novotel Mangga Dua
Jakarta Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing