We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs tweaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan
Ranked #2 of 472 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed there one night. Understand from speaking with the friendly staff I encountered who were all fluent in English that Ritz Carlton Mega Kuningan is positioned primarily as a business hotel (it appears to be popular with the Korean business crowd judging from the range of Korean dishes available at breakfast and in the room service menu.

Room size was fairly spacious and had usual amenities expected of a Ritz Carlton managed property. However for a hotel which is targeted at business travelers there should have been more thought in placement of the power points at the writing desk to make them more convenient. Also a brighter and more powerful desk lamp would have been helpful. As a general comment, the room could have done with more lights; for instance the generously sized walk- in closet only had one ceiling light - so the clothes rack and the room safe located in the shelf of drawers were always dim.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Odyssesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,670 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

My first stay at the Ritz-Carlton in Jakarta, 2 nights - and it was very impressive and friendly. The surrounding area is a mess, and perhaps not to safe to wander around by yourself. But the hotel was very secure with floor specific elevator access cards, and distinctive (from the many other very good hotels in Jakarta) - the lady porters who were strong enought to carry the heaviest bags, and the all lady staff in most of the hotel - always smiling, perfect English, always helpful without being intrusive.
Food was very good. Rooms were very good - a bit confusing to get to sometimes if you are far from the lift, but OK.
Certainly deserves a return visit.

Room Tip: Better if far from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for business. The hotel compares well with other Ritz properties in Asia and globally. Staff are warm, efficient and professional and the rooms are tidy, well appointed, and everything works. The location is hit and miss (centrally located, but there is nothing of note that is walking distance away) but I acknowledge that this is context of Jakarta, where even the locals don't tend to walk anywhere.

Security is tight out of necessity and after an initial adjustment, I stopped noticing it, although you have to factor security clearance into any travel time between meetings.

The hotel was fairly quiet in the evenings and at breakfast, and my sense is that serves mainly a business customer base.

I had colleagues staying at the Marriott nearby, and the Ritz is by far the better property in this area.

Room Tip: There are no real views to speak of, so choose a room that is either convenient for egress and entry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have written a review in 2012, now i would like to update again the service standard of Ritz Carlton Kuningan.
With my last 2 stays - over the past 2 weeks, their service standard has once again impressed me to the core.
The greetings from the moment i landed, into the airport pick up, reached the hotel, and they offered the check in straight in my room, they are all in smiles and greetings. Not to mention it was already close to 11pm.
Do not hesitate to communicate any request to them, i can assure their positive attitude & service standard is able to meet your expectation. Having to stay straight 5 days, i have tonnes of requests. Their attention was immediate from picking up/delivering laundry, sending extra bottles of minerals, etc. I could even take away free coffee after my breakfast.
Spa was nice too. Their gym equipments are new, and the fitness area is very spacious. I didnt have the time to use the jacuzzi, but the look of it is very impressive. Go try it.
Wonderful experience, once again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffietan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My first time to Jakarta, Indonesia and I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton and had Exec Lounge privileges. From the time I got picked up at the airport to the check-in, everyone involved in the process worked in synchronous and in the end I by-passed the front desk and went straight to my room to check-in, a first for me. Every one of the hotel staff was very friendly, professional, and wanted to help you in any way to make your stay an enjoyable and a memorable one. The room and facilities are beyond that of the average hotel, we are talking very upscale. The food in the Asia restaurant or in the Exec lounge is so delicious that you will gain weight during your stay, but no problem because the gym has the latest exercise equipment and trainers to help you lose the weight. Tourist that want to live in comfort, eat gourmet food and be pampered in a spa, this is the Hotel for you. People on business, the Exec lounge is a must for conducting business meetings and the atmosphere there is conducive for getting your work done. Ritz-Carlton sets the standard for other hotels to follow. Thank you to the wonderful staff, especially the Exec lounge team for making my hotel stay the best ever.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

From the moment you pull up the driveway the service is excellent. Your cases are taken through security, to the reception area where the greeting and check-in process is exceptional. I was fortunate to have a room upgrade, two kings, large open room, huge bathroom, spa bath, closet. The AC is efficient, cool and can be freezing……..which I enjoy. The wifi was immediate and fast.

The hotel is opulent, the service to die for.

Breakfast was outstanding. One of the widest selections of food I have experienced in all my hotel stays. Indian, Malay, Western, Chinese, Indonesian, Japanese……….amazing choices, cakes and pastries cooked before your eyes at the various stations.

I was greeted at breakfast by my name. There were a lot of guests, so not sure how they get this accurate, but made me feel great.

Love this hotel.

Didn't experience any ears I would improve. Check-out was efficient courteous. The lady reminded me that on leaving Jakarta I would need to pay tax and did I have the requisite currency. I didn't, so changed money immediately. What a life-saver.

I'd love to return and experience the opulence of a stay for pleasure versus business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a great business hotel in the new CBD of Jakarta. Ritz Carlton hospitality all the way.Good food, spa, big massive rooms with huge bath rooms...The biggest delux category rooms I have seen in this part of the world. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anu001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Raffles Jakarta
#1 of 472 in Jakarta
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tanah Abang
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
Shangri-La Hotel Jakarta
#16 of 472 in Jakarta
1,587 reviews
Menteng
Pullman Jakarta Indonesia
Menteng
Keraton at The Plaza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan

Address: Jl. DR Ide Anak Agung Gde Agung Kav. E.1.1 no. 1 | Mega Kuningan, Jakarta 12950, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jakarta
#2 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
#4 Business Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range: £91 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting a new standard of luxury in the Indonesian capital city, The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan is situated in an open area affording beautiful views. Located at the business district of Mega Kuningan, our Jakarta hotel is only 31 kilometers from Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. Sleek sophistication outside provides a way to warm elegance inside, where each guest room and suite offer an oasis of pampering and prestige. Accommodations are one of Jakarta's most spacious. The baths feature floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city. Luxury amenities such as fine linens, designer bath essentials and a 55-inch LED screen television enhance each stay. For dining options, TEMPUS, a hot spot hosting two different zones of Avanti an JADE for elegant karaoke. For meetings, conferences, weddings and social functions, The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan features 22 meeting rooms, 1600 square meter The Ritz-Carlton Grand Ballroom and 1000 square meter Grand Mutiara Ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Jakarta, Mega Kuningan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing