We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad experience.”
Review of Grand Cemara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Cemara Hotel
Ranked #190 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Bekasi, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bad experience.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed here for business meeting for 3 days. The lobby looked fine and quite artsy but when you go up to your room, it will look rather like villa than a hotel, in a bad way. The ceiling is so short and the air feels stifled along the corridor. Also, this hotel has two lift for reaching different scale numbers of rooms divided which is very confusing and irritating. The foods were so-so either. I don't think I would hold any meeting here again. I picked this because it's near my office only.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    35
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
13
17
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
608 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A very decent hotel that is tucked away from Jakarta's street noise.

The surroundings with trees makes it looks even better.

Rooms are decent and cosy enough that makes the stay pleasurable.

Breakfast spread were rather limited

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Long M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

nice room for its price. clean and friendly staff. unfortunately i dont find fire escape in the 5th floor, a little bit scary in emergency case though.

The internet connection was extremely slow, hardly open my email. if you need a good internet connection in your room, this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This very nice hotel. You can reach this hotel from Gambir central station on foot or by taxi. Grand cemara also had a great cityscape view. You can enjoy cityscape from swimming pool in rooftop. Hotel staff very helpfull and kindly.

Room Tip: Swimming pool is on the 5th floor. You can access it fast from $th floor of course ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliepodja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here on our arrival to Indonesia because it is near to the train station (Gambir), the hotel is nice and the staff were helpful. We found it very noisy as it's right next to a busy junction, this may have just been because we were in the first room and had a window facing the junction. There is a tiny pool on the roof which seemed a little pointless. The free WiFi was limited to one device and lasted only 24 hours, when we were there for 2 nights, Being a couple with two phones and two tablets this caused a bit of an issue, paying for 3 extra connections would have cost more than the hotel room.

Room Tip: Try not to get the end room overloading the busy junction, is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrddaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I'm gonna start out with the negative because I'm just that kinda gal.
The spa is the worst. I had the spa sampler which included a pathetic excuse for a massage, then a painful facial. I should have hotfooted it out of there when I saw the state of the therapists skin, but I decided to have faith. Wrong. The products used are very poor quality, the therapist almost broke my nose pointlessly using pressure on the side of it with a sponge, no idea why she was doing that. My skin was totally ruined after it and I've never had so much acne. I went to the Face and Body Lab in Gandaria City and they did an excellent job of fixing it for a reasonable price. The spa sampler apparently includes a herbal bath which wasn't mentioned, but after enduring the facial I was just glad it was all over.
My toilet was broken for 3 days and despite phonecalls and telling the housekeepers, possibly due to a language barrier it wasn't fixed. Same with the shower drain being blocked, was like it for my entire week long stay.
The staff are very nice, but I wouldn't say friendly, quite shy and nervous. Again, probably due to their beginner/intermediate English. Understandable, but I didn't feel really comfortable.
Breakfast, very average. Maybe good for an Indonesian native's tastes, lots of deep fried meat etc, but for a vegetarian bule, not great.
The wifi doesn't work in most of the rooms, I had them move me to a new room to experience the very average internet connection. Don't expect to stream youtube or music its not going to happen.
Positives - pretty good location. A decent traffic jam to see every afternoon. Good view of the city from the 5th floor. Lots of malls nearby and good street food. Central to all the lame tourist attractions.
Clean room. Some of the building is modern.

Room Tip: Request room closer to wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeluu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stayed here for 3 or 4 times in different years. This hotel is well-situated in the heart of jakarta. Well don't expect too much from the facility, but the room is spacious and nice. But the bathroom is old and needs to be renovated. Well if you travel to jakarta and need to find a simple place to stay but near to the heart of jakarta? pick this hotel.

Breakfast? i always skip when i stay at this hotel. I just love the room but well i dislike the bathroom.

Room Tip: pick the suite one if im not mistaken. it's cheap and decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Cemara Hotel
Cemara Hotel
#191 of 464 in Jakarta
61 reviews
Menteng
Dreamtel Jakarta
Dreamtel Jakarta
#238 of 464 in Jakarta
78 reviews
Menteng
Hotel Cipta
Hotel Cipta
#302 of 464 in Jakarta
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Jakarta Arcadia
#124 of 464 in Jakarta
587 reviews
Menteng
Ibis Jakarta Tamarin
Ibis Jakarta Tamarin
#141 of 464 in Jakarta
453 reviews
Menteng
AONE Hotel
AONE Hotel
#147 of 464 in Jakarta
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cemara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cemara Hotel

Property: Grand Cemara Hotel
Address: Jln. Cemara 1, Jakarta 10350, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Menteng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Cemara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Cemara Hotel is strategically located at Central Jakarta, Indonesia. It offers specious and comfortable rooms with great service from our staff. Our Hotel is located near Central Business District (Jalan MH Thamrin and Jalan Kuningan), Shopping Center (Sarinah, Grand Indonesia, PLaza Indonesia, Jalan Sabang, Tanah abang, and many more) and Main Tourist Atraction (such as MONAS and Budaran HI). Only 45 minutes from Soekarno Hatta International Airport and 10 minutes Gambir Railway Central Station. In Room Facilities include fully air-conditioner, LED TV with cable channel, mini-bar,refigerator, coffee and tea making facility,complimentary daily newspaper, bathroom amenities, and Free Wifi. Hotel Facilities include 24 hour Coffee Shop and Room Service, Lounge,Healthy Spa and Massage, Swimming Pool, Laundry, Transportation, Free Vallet Service, Taxi Stand, Free Shutle Service to surrounding Shopping Area, Drug Store, and Free Wifi. Our Motto is "Feels Like Home", so every guest will enjoy a great hospitality from our staff. Our guest will be treated like family. Thank you and we wish have a plesant stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Cemara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cemara Hotel Jakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing